Ambala restaurant

11 Upper Camden Street, Dublin 2, Camden Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Indian

Price Range:

€€

63 reviews
4 stars - based on 63 reviews
Ambala

LT
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 22nd March 2014 (visited 15 March 2014)

Lovely place with authentic food. Went with the kids. We tried a number of 'new' foods which is always risky. Kids enjoyed the Dosa best and looks gorgeous too. Hubby and I both had the ginger tea which we love.

Ambala

ciara.fennell
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2014 (visited 16 March 2014)

We really enjoyed our meal here. Took our 3 year old daughter with us and the staff were so friendly to her, she really enjoyed her chicken and rice and they even offered seconds if she wanted more. Gave her a lollipop when she was leaving aswell. She loved being made a fuss of :) We decided to try the Chatkara (Street food) starters, my husband got the Pani Puri and I got the Papdi Chaat. Both were served cold and both delicious! I had the chicken karahi for mains, sauce was beautiful and creamy with a mild spice. My husband got the Karara on the bone which was both chicken and lamb and he really enjoyed it. For dessert we shared the Halwa. The waiter very kindly explained the different choices of halwa by bringing me to the counter of the cafe and showing me each one. We will definitely return and might even get some of the desserts to take away!

Ambala

alex.cronin
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th March 2014 (visited 14 March 2014)

Positives; Very friendly, excellent food, great value for money. Negative: Service was slow because there was a lot of takeaway orders to the kitchen. I would definitely go back, and on the current 50% discount offer it is amazing value. We were 4 people and used used 2 x 4 person vouchers (each voucher was €48 worth of food and drinks for €24). The real cost as €12 pp + €2 pp tip and was awesome :)

Ambala

dmeehan74
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2014 (visited 7 March 2014)

Great value meal, delicious food, only negative is that it's not byob, staff were very attentive and friendly.

Ambala

patrick.wogan
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2014 (visited 1 March 2014)

Was Suprised that rice was was extra and not included in voucher deal.

Ambala

alannolan99
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2014 (visited 2 March 2014)

A very enjoyable meal in a very relaxed atmosphere.

Ambala

lara.fitzgibbon1
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2014 (visited 28 February 2014)

Food was really nice, although the meat in our curries came on the bone which was a bit of a surprise. The service was good, really friendly staff who made sure we had everything we needed from the moment we sat down. The only thing I found a bit off putting was the atmosphere. There was a TV on the wall next to us so I found the background music of TV ads a bit strange. But altogether the people were lovely and the food was really nice.

Ambala

Lolam5_2013
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2014 (visited 16 February 2014)

Visited here on a Sunday afternoon with a voucher and have to say i was more than pleasantly surprised. The place itself is more of a cafe than a restaurant but the seating area down the back is cosy and well laid out. The staff were some of the nicest i have ever come across, very polite and chatty. They couldn't have done more for us, even offering us extra rice on the house if we wanted it. I had the lamb samosa which was mouth watering, the meat was fresh and had a lovely kick to it. For my main i had Makhani with lamb, it was one of the nicest dishes i have ever had at an Indian. I was still full from it later that night! My boyfriend had the aloo tiki for starters and the chicken bhuna, both of which he raved about! We had rice and a garlic naan which was just gorgeous. There was a sharing desert included in our deal, our waiter kindly offered to show my boyfriend the deserts and explain what each one was. In the end we had pistachio fudge (which was warm!? Such a nice surprise!) and halwa with cups of tea. Overall it was one of the best dining experiences Ive had in Dublin, i will definitely be returning!

Ambala

info
Louth
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2014 (visited 22 February 2014)

over all not bad, on the down side its a little small an cramped and the service was ok, not brilliant, but up side the food was great and good value for money

Ambala

emeremz
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd February 2014 (visited 21 February 2014)

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant on a rainy Friday evening with the menu pages voucher. It was just UNREAL!! From start to finish, wow such a lovely experience! The cafe is what you expect, a cafe, but if you choose to dine in there is a nice area down the back separate to where they do the takeaway, nice atmosphere and cool Indian music in the background! The food was just beautiful! So fresh and tasty and by far the best Indian I've had in this country yet (and I've tried a few!) The service was fantastic, the owner (I believe he is the owner anyway) served us and he was just so pleasant , friendly and helpful with the menu. I'm allergic to nuts so he was quick to advise me of what he recommended, really recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a nice restaurant experience with authentic Indian food!!

Ambala

FoodLover
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2014 (visited 19 February 2014)

I ate here yesterday evening in a group of 4 people using the manupages voucher. It is very much a cafe, not a restaurant. However, the staff were lovely and very attentive, giving recommendations to a few of us who were overwhelmed by the extensive menu. When the food arrived there were no complaints from any of us, all very high standard dishes (starters and mains). Our only issue was we had to pay extra for our rice/naan, they weren't included on the voucher, which seems a bit ridiculous. Still, we all agreed we would return.

Ambala

aoiferahman
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2014 (visited 18 December 2013)

This place is great value! Portions are huge, and we struggled to finish our food. We had a voucher going, but will definitely go back without one, as their menu is very cheap! Not a place where you sit around over a meal, more of an in-and-out, but that suited us as we were there for lunch. They also have a fabulous selection of Asian and Irish deserts and cakes - we took some home as we were too stuffed to eat them there. They have a lot of different foods, and even though I would eat a lot of Asian food, there was a lot of things there that I had never heard of. It's not a place for a romantic dinner, but would definitely recommend it for lunch or a more casual evening.

Ambala

uncle.arthur

41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

Used Menupages for Saturday lunch in Ambala. The food was delicious and very moderately priced. Starters of Pani Puri a little disappointing but Samosa Chaat was very good. Lamb Karahi and Chicken Biryani for mains, both wonderful and spiced as requested. Finished with the best Masala Tea ever. Superb service from our helpful, friendly, attentive waiter who got the balance just right. Toilets impressively clean. Had passed this restaurant frequently without realising it was a little gem. Now we know, we will definitely be returning. It SOOO deserves our custom. Well done, Ambala :-)

Ambala

c1raldo
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 28th January 2014 (visited 17 January 2014)

Having recently bought a menupages voucher for a 2 course meal for two, my partner & I decided to avail of it on a Friday evening after work. As we are deaf, we requested a reservation via the menupages website at extremely short notice (at 4pm for a 6pm booking) and much to our satisfaction it was quickly confirmed so kudos for that. From the outside, Ambala looks like more of a cake shop than anything but after entering, we were taken to the back of the shop where there was a dining area. It was quiet enough considering it was 6pm and the staff were very attentive. For my starter I had the Shami Kebab. It wasn't the most prettiest of dishes but it was nice enough. For my main dish I had Karara on the bone Spice Lovers (chicken) with rice and nann bread as side dishes. It was nothing to write home about. It satisfied the appetite and at 19e for the two of us, it was great value. But ff you're looking for an evening with atmopshere or looking to impress then Ambala isn't going to tick that box.

Ambala

Westdogg
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2014 (visited 31 December 2013)

Myself and my partner went here on New Year's eve with another couple. The place was quiet, although it was only half 6 so quite early for most people to be out. Staff were v friendly and attentive. We had a voucher and the waiter kindly allowed us to pick items not contained within the voucher. I had the waterballs which were delicious. I fact, everyone's food was delicious. And very reasonably priced. Decor is more like a cafe then a restaurant but the food more than makes up for this. One other thing worth mentioning is that the owner is Muslim, therefore they do not serve alcohol, not can you BYO. This was not a major issue for us but it is something to note. Great food, good service and great value. Will definitely go again.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4910 ]