Castle Murray House restaurant

St. Johns Point, Dunkineely, Killybegs, Donegal

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€

6 reviews
4 stars - based on 6 reviews

Castle Murray House

Submit a review
Castle Murray House

Bacchus

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd April 2018 (visited 31 March 2018)

This place is special. Family run, arguably the best dining views in Ireland, peaceful, romantic and relaxed and Peter works wonders with locally available produce. The best scallops I’ve ever tasted, bar none. Just don’t expect a predictable menu-a bonus in my view- and don’t expect a cheap evening out. The honesty bar is a wonderful intimate touch if you’d like to linger. Recommend you stay and enjoy their excellent home smoked mackerel for breakfast (if it’s on!). Applause.

Castle Murray House

adoohan7107944
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2015 (visited 10 August 2015)

Food lovely. Service very poor considering price. Aisling our waitress knew nothing about the food. Made so many mistakes it was comical. The waiter was not knowledgeable on wine.

Castle Murray House

charliesnaps
Donegal
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2014 (visited 12 July 2014)

We had a celebratory meal here. The service was excellent, we were taken care off as soon as we arrived. We both had the monkfish and prawns for starter which didn't disappoint. I had chicken for the mains and my partner had the steak. The views from the hotel across the bay were lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel as although busy on a Saturday night, the courses were not rushed and we were allowed to enjoy the experience. We are both looking forward to returning very soon.

Castle Murray House

BECL
Meath
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2010 (visited 22 July 2010)

Castlemurray house hotel and restaurant is nestled in the dramatic coastline of southwest Donegal just outside Dunkineely The hotel is charming with spectacular views across the bay. I dined alone for lunch in the cosy bar area and noted the friendliness of the waitresses serving other diners as I perused the fish themed lunch menu. On entering the restaurant one is greeted by a tank of lobsters awaiting their destiny with a pot of boiling water. Unfortunately lobster wasn't on the lunch menu so I opted for the chowder followed by a crab spring roll with smoked paprika dressing and salad. The chowder was terrific. Thick, flavoursome, creamy and full of fish, although a few plump mussels or bigger chunks of fish would have really made it stand out. The crab spring roll was a little disapointing. I feel that crab meat looses it's delicate taste and goes mushy when deepfried in the springroll. The accompanying salad was a bit unrefined and the paprika dressing was tastless. A good americano finished off my lunch Overall my lunch was tasty and good value and I will be back to try the dinner menu and condem a lobster to it's fate.

Castle Murray House

Neadyk

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2010 (visited 31 August 2009)

A hidden gem. My husband took me here for my birthday last year. The setting is beautiful and secluded. We stayed in the hotel for three nights and ate there on two evenings. The food is superb in particular their prawn/monkfish in garlic butter starter! Their fish is very fresh (Killybegs is the next town) and the french cuisine is fantastic. The breakfast is also a belt opener and set us up for the day driving around beautiful Donegal. I highly recommend this hotel/restaurant and will be planning my next birthday visit very soon.

Castle Murray House

Sharong
Dublin
78 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2010 (visited 5 June 2009)

My husband and I enjoyed another gorgeous meal in Castlemurray. Our first visit was at a wedding last summer. We were there on the first Friday of the month and so availed of the French menu which they do. 4 courses plus a glass of wine for 39.50 is excellent value for the gorgeous food. The menu offered lots of lovely choices. I had Foie Gras to start, the work to prepare this dish must have been huge, the foie gras was set mid centre in jelly and was fantastic. Monkfish main was also beautiful and a really large portion. Fresh veg and a beautiful gratin accompany the mains. Desserts of frozen strawberry mousse and raspberry tart were really good. Can't wait to go again!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4506 ]