Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Crowleys Quay, Kinsale, Kinsale, Cork

View on Map

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€

60 reviews
4 stars - based on 60 reviews

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Submit a review
Fishy Fishy Restaurant

janielcat
Meath
104 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2011 (visited 24 April 2011)

I knew we would have a wait as it was Easter Sunday. I wish I'd chosen one of the many other Restaurants in Kinsale as there is so many to choose from.I'm sure their food would have been just as nice with just as efficient group of staff at a fraction of the price. The food was good, the staff were very professional but the pricing is disappointing. The decor is very nice but not done by a professional (I hope) e.g wallpaper doesn't match up. I won't be going back. I felt Ripped off and that this Restaurant is living on it's TV Fame.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

AlCuisine
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2011 (visited 25 February 2011)

Dinner for two on a rainy Friday night was very enjoyable experience, it is now great that you can book a table here as previously you couldn't & you never could anticipate how long might have to wait or how busy it was. Very glad we went back. Barely in the door and the staff attended to us, sat us down, took our coats, handed us menus & outlined the specials so was very impressed. Was disappointed that there wasn't greater variety of starters available, compared to the main courses especially as most of the starters were just smaller portions of main courses available which restricted your choice. Having said that, the crab claws & the mussels were both fantastic to start, very simple but great flavour. We both ordered specials for the maincourse, both were very well seasoned & cooked perfectly. Both were served on a creamed mash & with green salads which were crisp & fresh but it may have been nice to offer steamed vegetables as an option. We followed with desert, a coffee and a liquer but unfortunately had to ask staff a number of times to bring this. All in all, the food was really great, I think the service could be more consistent if the same member served you for the evening and we felt price was ok, the specials both cost 23.95 and while tasting great, it is a bit pricey for what they were. We will consider going back.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Toulouse
Kildare
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2010 (visited 31 August 2010)

Maybe I build these kinds of places up in my head too much but after my recent visit to Fishy Fishy I left feeling rather disappointed by the whole experience. We had a table booked for 7pm on a Tuesday evening and the place was jammed. We stood waiting to be seated for a couple of minutes while staff whizzed around us. Finally a waiter muttered that someone would be with us soon and eventually we got our table right beside the waiters station downstairs. The dining room up-stairs seems a bit less chaotic so if it's a romantic meal you're after then request it when you book. We were served some nice bread to nibble on while we perused our menus. It came with a lovely hummus and also butter that clearly hadn't seen a fridge anytime in the recent past. We were also served a jug of warm tap-water with no ice. Just little things but really you're paying enough to eat here so they shouldn't be overlooked. As we were on holiday for a week and eating out every night I can say that no other restaurant forgot to chill the butter or ice the water. We ordered the chilli seafood salad and scampi to start and the crab crumble and haddock tempura and chips for mains. My partner nipped to the toilet and just as he rejoined me our starters were placed on the table! My salad was delicious but my partner got 8 scampi for the grand price of €13.50. They were good but not that good. Mains again were out very quickly, too quickly! My haddock tempura was fine, as good as I've had it in Japanese restaurants and my partner was happy with his crumble. We finished eating exactly 40 minutes after we arrived and it had become clear to us that Fishy Fishy is an exercise in turning tables as fast as possible. We don't normally have dessert but to try to keep the night going we ordered tiramisu, sticky toffee pudding and a couple of coffees. Total bill including 2 drinks but not including service came to €99.50. Service was brisk but aloof and I can't say that I'd return.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

maireide
Tipperary
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th August 2010 (visited 28 August 2010)

This was my first visit to this restaurant and I was so taken with its delightful seafood that I went back for more. It had a reputation for being expensive but it isn't at all. I got their warm chilli mixed seafood salad and for €15.95 it was such a fine, substantial meal and included potato wedges. The taste and flavours were so mouth-watering and tangy. I also added a summer berry trifle and its home-made taste was so refreshing...and again not expensive at €5.95. It is a very, very busy place and expect a bit of a wait before securing a table. But rest assured you won't mind the length of the wait as the food you will be presented with is like no other - pure, fresh from the sea, Simply Delicious!

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Lab7782
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2010 (visited 20 August 2010)

After deciding to visit Kinsale for the weekend a friend advised me to try this place and we were not disappointed. My partner and I both had the seafood chowder to start it was simply delicious. For main I had battered haddock and chips, the batter so was light, a classic dish done perfectly. My partner had the fish pie which was to die for. Great bottle of house Sauvignon as well. Would recommend to anyone - it was delightful.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Kate
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th August 2010 (visited 22 July 2010)

The food in Fishy Fishy is amazing. I had a monkfish dish which I am still raving about nearly a month later!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant as somewhere to go as a treat but I find it too expensive to be a place I would visit regularly

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

foodcravings
Cork
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2010 (visited 3 May 2010)

One of the best seafood restaurants I know! We enjoyed a beautiful meal in a lovely atmosphere with excellent and efficient service. The restaurant was very busy as it was a bank holiday weekend, we did not have a booking but after a worthwhile wait of about 25mins we were assigned a table. The seafood chowder was delicious, served with lovely fresh bread. The fish pie was equally delicious, an excellent flavour of a variety of fresh fish. Considering the quality of the food I thought it was very good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful, offering excellent service. This was my second visit. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic seafood restaurant.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

rare please
Waterford
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd June 2010 (visited 28 May 2010)

Went here for dinner - a party of four and had a great meal. The atmosphere at Fishy Fishy is very up-beat.. and not pretentious in any way. Lots of original artwork line the restaurant walls and we sat up stairs. For starters we shared breaded scampi, and a crab crumble. Both were very tasty. Mains consisted of trout, scallops, hake and monkfish... all were perfectly cooked and presented. Deserts were fab also.. don't miss the pavlova. A nice bottle of vino, a couple of coffees and a bill for four came to €177. Not bad for a great evening.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

prioritygirl
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2010 (visited 1 May 2010)

Went there on a Sunday. The place was busy with a nice atmosphere. I got the fish pie which was delicious, and my friends shared a plate of smoked salmon and oysters. They were very happy with it. Service was fab, they even told us that an other fishy fishy bistro style is 5 min from there. Can't wait to try this one...

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

ahch84
Limerick
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

Always wanted to go there after being constantly talked about among my friends. One day got an opportunity, & felt really worth it. Located opposite the Kinsale River, couldn't get a better view when you got a seating upstairs. Although my friends & I have to queue a bit to get seated (we did not make a reservation beforehand), but the wait is totally worth it. The staff are really friendly, & its hard to make a choice with all the tempting menus available. Finally, I settled down with seafood chowder & pasta. The food take a while to be served, but we didn't really mind cause we were enjoying the view. We were expecting a small portion seeing the restaurant is quite exclusive, but couldn't be more wrong when the food had arrived. The portion is enormous and very filling. We were full by the time main course is finished. The price is expensive, but I say its worth every cent. In conclusion, FIshy Fishy restaurant deserved every awards that they got. I will definitely go there again, wanting for more.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

foodieann
Cork
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th May 2010 (visited 25 May 2010)

4 Friends went for a girly lunch today before the childrens Exams start and the stress levels go up. Fishy Fishy was the choice, I have eaten here before but wanted to sample it again as it has a Big reputation. We all had something different, John Dory, Scampi, Monkfish and Cod, all were lovely but firstly there was not a huge amount on plate other than Fish, secondly it is quite expensive. All were happy with their desserts and mine, Classic Creme Brulee was very very good. The day was a lovely sunny day and eating outside was great. It is only when I had left that I realised what it has going for it, an extensive Fish Menu. I nearly always choose Fish when eating out and this selection is a treat. Do I think it deserves the way people rave about it - no but for its selection alone I would visit from time to time.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

Dotty Doo
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2010 (visited 12 February 2010)

Fishy Fishy is one of my favorite restaurants in Cork. I had an excellent meal there recently, I had the seafood chowder followed by the cod. Both were excellent. The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful. Overall an excellent dining experience.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

duilimbia
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th February 2010 (visited 12 February 2010)

This was my first visit here and it turned out to be an excellent dining experience. The reception was welcoming and efficient; the atmosphere was very pleasant, the dining area being open and spacious, with decor that emphasises the "Fishy" nature of the establishment. The staff were attentive and very helpful. The menu offered a good choice of fish dishes, and the wine-list was first-rate. The food itself was superb; a delicious chowder, followed (for me) by Sea-Trout and (for my wife) warm chicken salad. Both were prepared to perfection, were served at the proper temperature, and the helpings were generous. The post-prandial tea was the best I've had in a restaurant for as long as I can remember. Definitely a place to return to!

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

amcol18
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2010 (visited 27 December 2009)

We have visited Kinsale a number of times but this visit was only the second time we had eaten there. We are from the east of england but my husband is working in whitegate for six months and we like to eat out at lest once a week. We have worked and eatern all over the world and I can say that this restaurant was up there with many of the best. The crab claws are excellent. The decor is modern and the staff very friendly. We will definately be visiting Fishy Fishy on a regular basis.

Fishy Fishy Restaurant

cheezypuf

55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2009 (visited 5 December 2009)

As part of a group of about 8 we at dinner at Fishy fishy. The food was excellent. I had seafood chowder and crab claws. Both were very enjoyable, but the highlight of the evening seemed to be the crab crumble. The food, décor and service were all very impressive. It was good value too and is highly recommended.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4779 ]