El Vino restaurant

U11 East Village, Douglas, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Spanish

Price Range:

€€

38 reviews
4 stars - based on 38 reviews

El Vino

Submit a review
El Vino

Chaniannie
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2010 (visited 13 December 2009)

Went here for a special occasion and really loved it Relaxed over a very nice bottle of wine. Service was very fast however when we would have perhaps preferred more time to chat, however there was no rush for us to vacate our table after we had finished. In fact we ended up ordering a second round of food we stayed so long!!

El Vino

newman180
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th December 2009 (visited 18 November 2009)

wonderful experience and great value would recomed it

El Vino

mightyrucks09
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th December 2009 (visited 4 December 2009)

i had my first meal in el vino today, very nice food , and very relaxed atmosphere , look forward to coming back another time, when i can try dessert !

El Vino

Stfinbarrs
Cork
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2009 (visited 13 November 2009)

We had an excellent night here, the tapas options are super and the portions are huge, The atmosphere was great as the place was really buzzing. The staff were also excellent, great evening, well recommend to all

El Vino

ali26
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2009 (visited 16 September 2009)

Excellent tapas and wine. Really nice relaxed atmosphere and could stay for hours. HIghly recommended. One of the best restaurants in Douglas.

El Vino

mjos
Waterford
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th August 2009 (visited 6 August 2009)

i went for dinner here with my mum and auntie a couple weeks ago and i cant wait to go back. the food was superb. but a starter would nearly do for your whole meal as the portions were so big. at first glance i was dreading it. it looks small and cramped and thought it would be uncomfortable and squashed. i was very wrong.it was nicely intimate and the staff made sure not to pass in a way that youd have to move. they were pleasant and helpful.we had intended going elsewhere for drinks but the atmosphere was so good we ended up having three bottles of wine and even another round after that. superb!!!!!

El Vino

rare please
Waterford
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2009 (visited 6 June 2009)

Great atmosphere & always busy. El vino is a great place to meet uip with friends to have a glass of wine, share tapas and enjoy the cosy surroundings. I've been there for lunch and dinner, and have been happy with my food choices both times. For a restaurant that's named El vino though, I thought that there would be a better selection of wine, but all in all its a great haunt to enjoy an evening. Good enough value too...

El Vino

ellie2009
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2009 (visited 24 July 2009)

I have eaten in El Vino in Douglas so many times it became my second home.I love it so much the food and the staff are so great.I have heard they opened in town also so I went there with two of my friends on Friday evening.This is really nice place I must say but I think I will stick with El Vino in Douglas.The food is more tasty for me over there.But I come back sometimes when im around town for later on drink cause the staff and atmosphere are enjoyable.

El Vino

Colm murphy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2009 (visited 10 June 2009)

I can't beleive the coment above I had to write this. I eat here at least 4 times a month and i have to say i have never had bad service or wittnessed it here, The food is lovely and they have a great reasonable priced wine list the staff are second to none. If you wish to have five star flapping then i suggest that you have to go to some of the more stuffier over priced restaurants but as far as this restarant goes they are top notch. Keep up the good work sweeties.

El Vino

al7600
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2009 (visited 10 May 2009)

This was one place I was looking forward to eating, I had heard good things about the food and atmosphere and I love tapas. However the reality of my experience was quite the opposite. Firstly the waitress had n record of our booking, it had been put for a Wednesday? The night we were eating there was a Sunday, I had booked it the previous Wednesday. After clearing up that headache begrudgingly the waitress continued to treat us like an inconveince, was quite rude and all together extremely disrespectful. The hole experience made me extremely upset but I never have the confidence to complain so instead I rang to complain a few days later and was given the same treatment. I will never be returning to this place and in an area of so much better restaurants I cannot believe they have no interest in customer service

El Vino

Lechuga
Cork
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2009 (visited 8 May 2009)

As it is busy at lunch time, it can be quite noisey whey it is full. Great food! Excellent chips! Desserts are delicious! I had the brie and bacon panini followed by banoffi pie, all V good!

El Vino

thero2503
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2009 (visited 13 March 2009)

I went for a dinner here early one friday evening and i thought the food and service was great. I liked the mis-matched furniture, but i think it doesnt really work in a place so small. I have no complaints about this place, and would definately eat here again and recommend to friends.

El Vino

laurihyde
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2009 (visited 7 March 2009)

I went there for an evening meal! I felt welcome and the atmosphere was inviting. Overall couldnt see a flaw:)

El Vino

MALLIKY
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th February 2009 (visited 11 February 2009)

I have been hearing great things about this little eatery and have to say how true they all are. I called in there and the place was buzzing. The athmosphere was the first thing to hit me it was electric There was 6 in my party and we had a about 14 items from the menu between us and each one was nicer than the last. We are all greedy so we polished the lot off but could not move as we were so full and satisfied it was heaven. The wine list is out of this world with some little gems on it and all so reasonably priced. I will definetly be back and will tell the world what a great place this is.

El Vino

pwurple
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th February 2009 (visited 9 January 2009)

This is a confused place. Not a bar, kindof a restaurant. Patatas bravas? Not remotely bravas. I'm not sure how this place can call itself a tapas place, the food only resembles tapas in name. The heat-free chilli sauce on this dish was sweet! Like a bizaar thai dish. We made a reservation for 6 people, and were seated at what appeared to be a table for 4, with two more chairs stuck on the end. We wanted to order maybe 2 tapas each, and share them... not the way it works in this 'tapas' place. There is absolutely no way the food would actually fit on the table. The waitress looked at us really oddly when we tried to order two things each, and advised us not to. And if you order wine as well as water, there is no way it will fit on the table either. It's ludicrously laid out. The chairs are like armchairs, so they take up far too much room. They should just put in high tables and stools surely? There doesn't appear to be any bar you can go to and sit either.. so I've no idea how it is either a wine bar, or a tapas bar... with no bar! The prices were ludicrous for what you get. We've been to spain , and are used to going into bars, getting 3/4 tapas for maybe 2 or 3 euro each. Now, I was expecting maybe double the prices, but there are tapas in this place for 11.95. Cheapest thing on the menu is bruchetta for 6 euro. Come on now. It's toast with tomatoes on top, seriously. Various oddballs on the tapas menu include lasagne, and a cajun wrap. We had a fairly uncomfortable time overall here, and won't be back. Cramped place, bad food, feeling utterly ripped off, and a stressed out waitress.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4897 ]