Market Lane restaurant

5/6 Oliver Plunkett Street, Cork City, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

82 reviews
4 stars - based on 82 reviews

Market Lane

Submit a review
Market Lane

Chas
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2011 (visited 9 April 2011)

I just don't get the gushy reviews about this place. Maybe fine for a tenner lunch and perhaps that's where our expectations should have been pegged. Lovely room, nice buzz, friendly staff downstairs and at the bar where we settled in for a short wait and a few glasses of wine..... all went downhill on being moved upstairs though! Yes, I could try rationalize that the place was having a bad night and swamped with big parties but frankly the food was average to poor. Starters of a crab/smoked salmon cake and prawns were overpowered by the oil they'd been cooked in and utterly devoid of any seafood taste - this is Cork after all, the seafood should be good, right? Mains comprised an uber-trendy ham hock (slow cooked in 20 minutes!) and free range sausages - potentially great choices but both disappointing. The ham hock was stringy and not meltingly My companion can't even recall waht it came with so unmemorable were the accompaniments) while the sausages had been overdone and came on a heap of bland calcannon and (get this!) an alleged vegetable terrine which consisted of more mushed vegetables wrapped in rather tough unappetising leaves, not to mention an insipid mustard sauce not unlike something from a packet. Service upstairs was perhaps a bit too nervously attentive and didn't add to the experience. On the whole a poor meal and not cheap either - we won't be back.

Market Lane

jalapenohead
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2011 (visited 31 March 2011)

Came here and availed of their ten euro lunch deal. I had the chicken and tomato soup with a cheese and chutney sandwich. Both were delicious as was the side salad that came with it. For dessert they offered tea and a little chocolate pot which was to die for. The offer includes a 'half sandwich' which at first may sound small but I was completely full by the time I finished. Staff were really friendly and very professional. Will be back

Market Lane

CorkBilly
Cork
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th March 2011 (visited 11 March 2011)

MARKET LANE Market Lane is always a good bet when you’re in town and wondering where to go for lunch. I was in the area on Friday and called in and enjoyed it. Quite a range of prices on the menu. For instance, the mains go from €10.95 to €16.95. I went for the Spaghetti with pan fried tiger prawns, marinated salmon, roast vine tomatoes, cream and parmesan (€16.95). A beautiful well balanced and colourful bowlful and I was very happy with it. The other main dish ordered was Pan Fried Hake fillet with broccoli, bok choi, peppers, sautéed potatoes and a walnut and lime pesto (€16.95). Quite a plateful and, aside from the fact that the broccoli piece was pretty much on the hard side (house style here), a really gorgeous and very satisfying mid-day meal for the hungry person across from me! Desserts all cost €6.25. I should perhaps have selected the mini-chocolate cup at two euro but greedily picked the Chocolate and Bailey’s Tart with hazelnut biscuit base with cream, of course. The whole thing, including the crispy base, was really gorgeous. The other dessert, Orange and Vanilla bread and butter pudding, was huge, even looked big as it was carried across the floor. Probably too much for just one person but it was very very tasty. Two coffees (no wine!) brought the total to about €51.00. Market Lane, by the way, have recently taken over the Cafe/Restaurant/Bar at Blackrock Castle. They do lunch seven days a week and evening meals on Friday and Saturday. That venue is now on my list!

Market Lane

eileenoh
Cork
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2011 (visited 2 March 2011)

This is one of the best restaurants in Cork. It has it all - great food, service and a lovely atmosphere and prices which are hard to beat. I was here on a Wedneday night and it was full with a few large groups. They also do a really nice kids menu.

Market Lane

helenam
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2011 (visited 18 January 2011)

This is the second time that I have been here. I was so impressed the first time, that I had to go back to make sure that it was for real. The fact that we had to wait for a table on a Tuesday night in January was a good sign of it's very positive reputation. We were not waiting long however (which was good, the smell was so tempting, I may have sat at someone else's table and started eating from their plates!). The menu is not that extensive but there is a great choice from what is there. On this occasion, I tried the spaghetti with prawns and marinated salmon - absolutely delicious although some of the prawns seemed to be a little overcooked. My friend tried the game pie which was a complete triumph. The meat was very succulent and the mash on top was creamy and tasty. The service is impeccable, I saw our waitress with a map directing some of our fellow diners to the best pubs for after dinner entertainment. I always appreciate staff who will go above and beyond to make sure that a visitors experience continues even after they've left the restaurant. Could not recommend this place more highly.

Market Lane

meow
Cork
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st January 2011 (visited 28 December 2010)

Really enjoyable! The cod with the buttered leeks was so creamy and delicious then for afters i had the banoffi pie- very sweet and filling really liked my night out with the girls here!

Market Lane

seanchailleach
Cork
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2010 (visited 8 December 2010)

Busy, friendly restaurant, excellent value. Service was wonderful, looked after by our waitress and waiter. No complaints here! We had the confit of duck starter and the prawns both get a 10/10. Duck was served on a bed of rocket was beautiful moist and tickled my taste buds. 6 large prawns were served on a bed of noodles which to my niece were WOW!! I had the quiche special, a little rich for my taste but presentation made up for this. Roast chicken with roasted veg and mash were delightful for E and she was delighted with her choice. I passed on dessert and I was very nicely mellow but herself had a strawberry, meringue glory which in her words was THE BEST EVER!! definitely worth a visit and a return highly recommended. Total for two under €55 - supberb!!!

Market Lane

hungrylill
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2010 (visited 6 November 2010)

Tasty food, great selection and excellent value for money, friendly staff, its a firm favourite

Market Lane

rmcc
Cork
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2010 (visited 21 October 2010)

Good atmosphere, really like the location and the food is tasty. The only criticism is that the menu is a bit limited and hasn't changed in a while. Service can be slow if you are in a large group as I experienced on a previous visit but I really hope they branch out a bit and add a few extras to the menu, especially at lunch!

Market Lane

moorheas
Meath
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2010 (visited 22 October 2010)

This was my second time here, the first was with a group of 4 for dinner and cocktails, both were delicious! I came here for a second time for lunch and it didn't disappoint, great service, lovely atmosphere and the food was great! For €10 we had a bowl of french onion soup (which was gorgeous) half a cheese ploughmans (which was enormous) a little chocolate dessert and a choice of tea or coffee. I was very impressed with this and our waiter was very friendly. I would definitely go back!

Market Lane

aidee001
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2010 (visited 26 September 2010)

4 of us went to the Market Lane yesterday evening after the mini marathon and we were not disappointed. Very busy - always a good sign - seated really quickly. Fab menu - something to suit all. I had the tiger prawns and the baked cod.....divine! We were all very happy with our choices and plates returned empty!! Everything so fresh, and excellent value - 4 starter/4mains & 2 Bottles of vino for under 160 - thats brill!!! highly recommend this restaurant.

Market Lane

masala_thosai
Cork
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2010 (visited 3 September 2010)

Went here for dinner with a friend on a friday night. Quite a busy place, had to wait a while at the bar to be seated. They have a cocktail menu, so decided to sip some long island iced tea while waiting. Nice interior and you get a view of the kitchen.The tables though are placed too close together. Shared a large portion warm ginger and soy chicken salad for starter, tasted great, definitely recommend it. For main course decided to have warm seafood salad. Main course was a bit slow to arrive, and the monk fish was missing from my seafood dish. Alerted the waiter and a separate portion on monk fish came soon enough to be added to my main course. Tasted delicious. Shared a warm chocolate brownie for dessert, tasted so good. Very satisfied apart from sitting to close to other customers and the small blip with the main course.

Market Lane

Tat the Chef
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2010 (visited 21 August 2010)

Loved this place! Atmosphere is very nice, service is good, and food is simply fabulous. Had an onion soup for the starter, and still can't forget it - it was fgood! Definetely recommend this place:)

Market Lane

cathymomo
Cork
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 11th August 2010 (visited 3 August 2010)

7 of us went here for a work meal last week. Atmosphere was fab, staff couldn't have been friendlier or more efficient. My meal was: Starters: n/a Main: - Rib eye steak with garlic mayo sauce and potato & bacon gratin. This was divine! Perfect portion size for me, and everything complimented each other Dessert: -Chocolate Fudge Brownie with ice-crea For this my eyes were bigger than my stomach. As I had finished my entire mains as it was so nice, I thought that the brownie would be small like in most places. It was huge. Delicious but huge so couldn't finish it. A chocolate-lovers must though. Will return here soon for sure.

Market Lane

Neadi
Tipperary
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2010 (visited 14 July 2010)

Atmosphere was fun and lively. The food was very tasty, while the service was a little curt. Would recommend though, so much so that I bought a present of a voucher for my parents to go.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4992 ]