Market Lane restaurant

5/6 Oliver Plunkett Street, Cork City, Cork

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

82 reviews
4 stars - based on 82 reviews

Market Lane

Submit a review
Market Lane

Liam.moynihan12278872
Cork
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2015 (visited 26 September 2015)

Love this place,great buzz all the time and hard to get a table so I eat at counter.Had the steak and was very good.Would like something better to go with this,eg mushrooms or another veg.Alot of people could not get in on this Saturday night,so lucky was I.

Market Lane

missjayne7325054117
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th November 2014 (visited 14 November 2014)

Had a group booking for a hens party ..food was fabulous....we had the group menu....excellent value for money.....try the lamb salad! Awesome. Service was excellent, very attentive, friendly and nothing was too much trouble! Would recommend!

Market Lane

K O\'Dwyer
Tipperary
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th October 2014 (visited 9 August 2014)

We had a great night, lovely food, busy restaurant but good service with a smile.

Market Lane

niamhs45612650146
Cork
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd October 2014 (visited 29 September 2014)

Visited with a large group on Monday for the early bird menu. The meal was fantastic value for the quality of food and service. The entire group was really happy with the great choice on the menu as everyone could find something they would like. We all had something different with a few soups to start and pate then for mains the ham hock was really good and generous and those that had chicken and a lamb salad equally left pleased .There were empty plates all around and no complaints . The portions were great also to ensure everyone had enough but the plates werent overfull. I would highly recommend a visit here for any occasion as

Market Lane

dcpcrowley

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th December 2013 (visited 8 December 2013)

A bit disapointed in the main course menu choice, two people had the cod in batter and chips and when we received them the cod was pretty bland and the chips were soggy and limp. As the menu did not suit our table it don't necessarily mean it won't suit others.

Market Lane

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st November 2013 (visited 15 November 2013)

Dined with a friend who goes here regularly when in Cork. When we arrived we were told it would be a few minutes before our table would be ready. This afforded us a chance to sit at the bar and get a drink. Within no time at all the extremely pleasant and professional owner showed us to our table. I observed during our meal that she kept a very strict eye on the flow of service in the restaurant. The staff worked very well and kept a good eye on tables and anticipated diners needs very well. Our waitress was excellent at her job friendly, smiling and engaging in conversation with diners. Foodwise was excellent in taste and portion size. I chose an onion soup starter followed by a fillet steak whilst my friend had a vegetarian main followed by a banana desert. The atmosphere was electric in this vibrant eatery. This is definitely the place to go in Cork it has it every way.

Market Lane

rubyrubester
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2012 (visited 28 October 2012)

Buzzing atmosphere for a Sunday! Nice comfortable setting. Good food and the staff are so attentive! A very positive experience! It's nice to be able to see into the kitchen also!

Market Lane

April Showers
Cork
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2012 (visited 30 September 2012)

Had Sunday lunch,with the family yesterday, what a wonderful place. The menu is extensive and varied. The staff are friendly and attentive. I needed to make a slight change to the dish I had chosen as I preferred not eat one of the ingredients, the chef had no problem with it. The place was very busy which is a good thing, but the service was quick and our water was continuously topped up. You can't make a reservation for less than six persons, but you can enjoy a pre lunch drink at their bar while you wait. Well worth the visit, will be back again.

Market Lane

clock19
Cork
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2012 (visited 24 April 2012)

the atmosphere in this resturant is so wonderful and the service is briliant .the staff are so helpful and all was there to make sure you are ok.this resturant is one of the best in cork in my opinion , i would of given 5 for the rating for everything but i all was mark a slight bit lower because i all was think there is room for improvment.the food is jsut so tasty every tme i go there .last time i had spice monkfish with lovely potatoes and vegatables.i would recommened this to any one that loves really good food.you will just keep going back for more of there amazing menu.

Market Lane

healthyfoodie28
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd April 2012 (visited 1 April 2012)

Ended up here by chance for Sunday lunch and what a nice experience it was..... Excellent service, delicious food, great atmosphere, very child friendly, and great value (we got the offer of starter/main/dessert and tea/coffee for €20). Would love to go back!

Market Lane

cdunne1
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th February 2012 (visited 9 February 2012)

After much dithering, Mum and I dined here last night and my! were we glad!! I had a deliciously creamy veg and chicken soup to start whilst Mum had the duck confoit which she conceded as salty, though the freshness of the rocket salad nicely balanced out the flavours. For mains I had the tangine, which I had had a craving for all day. My only complaint (if even) was that there were not enough roasted veggies in it, aubergine and big juicy tomatoes would not go amiss in this dish that could do with a little more spice (but I am particularly fond of spice so don't let that put you off). Mum had prawn and salmon spagetti which actually had seafood in it unlike so many other places that fob you off with one or two. She really enjoyed it and whatever tomatoey sauce it was enveloped in was yummy. We took our time for dessert seeing as we were fit to explode, but were not rushed by any means by the staff who were were and attentive all throughout the night. We eventually caved and had a banoffi pie of sorts (dark chocie and bananas on a hazelnut biscuit base). Twas a unique and I suppose modern take on an old classic and went down a treat too. All in all a very enjoyable evening, good company, good food, good wine (kind of) and good service/. Next time I'm in Cork I'll definitely being paying a visit!

Market Lane

bolus49
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2012 (visited 29 December 2011)

Great service, awful food, I had a beef salad for main course, couldn't cut the beef it was so tough.

Market Lane

ponky
Cork
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2011 (visited 24 June 2011)

Market Lane is a lovely place, very nice relaxed atmosphere and I like the decor. The tables are a little cramped at times thought because it is a popular place. The do a great value lunch deal of soup of the day, there is a choice of 2, and have a sandwich, coffee and a min chocolate pot which is totally delicious. It was a chicken curry soup the last day I was there and it was unusual but great! Great value early bird menu too, I can recomment the chargrilled chicken. Lovely staff, good value, and tasty food.

Market Lane

l.m2009
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2011 (visited 10 June 2011)

We visited Market Lane for our anniversary. The food was lovely, we had duck and prawns for starters and it was fantastic. Loved the main courses also, monkfish and beef wellington. The restaurant was packed, the staff were all very nice and attentive. The bar cocktails were lovely. Will be back!

Market Lane

noirin
Cork
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2011 (visited 6 May 2011)

First impressions of this restaurant were not good. When we got there the lady pointed a table out to us in the far corner and told us to seat ourselves. She was pretty rude actually. But the waitress we had was great and totally made up for it. There were a few items on the menu that weren't available which was a bit annoying (set menu) but waitress recommended lots of different things instead which was great. The food was delicious and seems good value for money as well. A lot of the ingredients were locally sourced too. Only thing that annoyed me (other than the entrance) was that many of the meals were the same for lunch as they were for dinner but there were some real price differences between the same meals at different times.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4685 ]