MacNean House & Restaurant

Main Street, Blacklion, Cavan

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
International

Price Range:

€€€€

38 reviews
5 stars - based on 38 reviews

MacNean House & Restaurant

Submit a review
MacNean House & Restaurant

aideenc
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2011 (visited 25 September 2011)

This was fantastic. It's more than just about the food, it's the entire experience from start to finish. Staff are so nice and professional. Food is amazing but that's only half the joy of McNeans. It's such a relaxed atmosphere from the minute you step through the door. We had the 6 course dinner menu and we tried everything and the entire group of 5 had only good things to say. I'm almost afraid to go back as I don't want to destroy the memory!

MacNean House & Restaurant

Foodie100
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2011 (visited 22 September 2011)

As a committed foodie I have eaten in great restaurants all over the world, from Asia to the USA and most of Europe. It is therefore a very real pleasure to say that the best meal (as an overall experience) I have had was here last Thursday night in Neven Maguires restaurant in Co Cavan. Myself and my wife booked the overnight accomodation package and the Prestige menu for dinner. The rooms are lovely, bright and airy, the staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the food and the food itself is absolutely wonderful. Its a rare occasion when you can say that you cannot fault a single thing. The following morning we were again stunned by the quality of the breakfast and even more delighted when Neven popped out of the kitchen to say hello. Truly a memorable experience and one which we will enjoy again in the near future.

MacNean House & Restaurant

Sproket
Wicklow
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th May 2011 (visited 22 May 2011)

Amazing from start to finish everything and more than I expected of a visit which I had been looking forward to since booking it 5 months beforehand ! My boyfriend and I opted for the dinner menu and together with the food, attention to detail, the wine selection on offer and service it was all excellent. There was a quirky thing where one of the waitress on pouring the wine always seemed to give me more than my boyfriend, which was a little odd but who am I to complain !! I could not recommend MacNean House enough and will look forward to my next visit. It is expensive but worth it in every way, finished off by the chef and owner coming out to greet as many as he could after service. Incidentally we were staying the night and the breakfast the next morning was wonderful with more top class excellent quality food. Of which the restaurant also makes a huge effort to keep to local produce which is to be commended. Nothing but 5 stars all round

MacNean House & Restaurant

dubai
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2011 (visited 18 February 2011)

There were four of us for dinner and I can honestly say from the time we arrived to the time we left , the service and atmosphere was superb.We all had the €70 meal which for 5 courses was excellent value.The presentation was fab , my symphony of fish nearly too good to eat! The steak was selected by my three companions and I was offered a taste which melted in the mouth.Desert came as a trio of pina colada flavors and with some complimentary hand made chocolates served with our coffees, we all four were more than impressed with the meal.We all loved everything and would definitely go back!

MacNean House & Restaurant

waldobarnford
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 12 December 2010)

If you looking to dip you toe into the fine dining experience without the hoighty toighty song and dance then check out MacNean House. We were greeted warmly and ushered into a Georgian style lounge. Well, if the Georgian's had went a bit loopy on the absinthe while choosing the decor. We had a disabled person with us and while he was well catered for the manager tended to speak to the crowd rather than the person in the wheel chair when asking about his needs. While the restaurant was busy the atmosphere was not intrusive and we were comfortable at all times. We choose the tasting menu to see the skills of the folks in the kitchen. I wouldn't describe this as "confusing" like another reviewer did. Instead I found the experience to be perfectly timed and the dishes to be complimentary but different enough to succeed in our goal of seeing what the chef could do. Having said that I wasn't overwhelmed and given everything I've heard I would have expected top notch food. I believe that €85 was a perfectly reasonable price for the experience and would certainly go again.

MacNean House & Restaurant

SEfoodie
Waterford
76 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2010 (visited 18 June 2010)

I'm going to rock the boat a little here I'm afraid. Visited MacNeans with huge expectations,but came away with mixed feelings. On the positive side, the atmosphere, service, settings etc. were all very pleasant, and it is truly a tribute to the mans energy that the place is rocking, hard to get a reservation. But ... We had the tasting menu, because foodie here wanted to see all the skills and processes. In the end, it was a bit incoherent. I think seven main plates, each with maybe two or three discrete elements so the overall impact was confusing. No single taste had the time or space to properly impact. Plus, and this was self-inflicted, we each had the "other option", so as we tasted most of each others plates, that was maybe 30 tastes! I've had big tasting menu's before (the old Coq Hardi in Dublin is a particular memory here, a real treat for Leaving Cert. results!) so I know what to expect, MacNeans is too fragmented. It needs unifying themes, so you can have various meats/fish etc. but maybe all pulling together better. Another thing I would suggest is that they leave the menu so diners can refer to it, there is so much going on that it would be helpful to have a reference point! There is no doubt at all that the kitchen can produce outstanding gear, but they need the confidence to let things stand for themselves. It feels like they are killing themselves for a Michelin star, they would maybe do better to focus and let the star come by itself. If I were to go again I would definitely go for the standard dinner menu. The prices are very high too, 85 a head plus wine or 125 with matching wines. So, do the dinner menu, and encourage MacNeans to relax and not strain so hard, you'll enjoy it.

MacNean House & Restaurant

AisL
Kildare
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2010 (visited 19 June 2010)

My fiance and I visited McNeans on Saturday night. We decided to go for the whole package so we booked into the guest accomodation and chose the prestige menu €85 + the accompanying wines which was €125 per person. The accomadation on a bed and breakfast basis was €140. Overall everything was fantastic. The food was sublime. The service friendly, professional, non intrusive and perfectly helpful and conversational when we wanted. Each courses was as good and better than the last - an amuse bouche of a fennel veloute had such intense flavour it can only be described as having an amazing sense of umami. I wont go into every course but some of the most memorable elements include - katafi prawn, pork belly confit, the quail fois gras mousse, turbot with beef cheek, loin of lamb (herb crust divine) the peach tiramisu and the petit four platters at the end. All truly sumptuous, and amazingly beautiful. The accompanying wines included a selection of five - a champage to start followed by a chardonnay, a sauvingnon blanc, a cabernet sauvignon and a dessert wine. Although the selection was fantastic i dont think i would feel compelled to do this again. I felt it a little over priced. The accomodation was fine - a fancy b n b to be fair. The rooms are designed in an unpretentious, simple country manner. I thought a couple of little touches would have been nice for the cost which was not overly cheap - perhaps some nice toileteries, a robe. Moving on to breakfast - amazing again !!!! A buffet of cereal, fruit salad, home baked breads and pastries, freshly squeezed juices, homemade jams and preserves, cheese and meats platter but most impressive, was the selection of home made yoghurts. Fantastic. From the menu we ordered Nevins special porridge and the I had the apricots. The porridge was sensational. To follow a full cooked breakfast and eggs benedict with smoked salmon. All truly superb. Thanks you to Nevin and his team for a wonderful experience.

MacNean House & Restaurant

AngusY
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st June 2010 (visited 28 May 2010)

This was our first visit to McNeans and we were really looking forward to something special having received many recommendations. Initially everything was excellent, great amuse bouche, superb starters of scallops and prawns. The only negative was the length of time it took to take an order on being seated, but the room was completely full. McNeans has an excellent and well priced wine list including some really good wines by the glass, which is refreshing. The mains were a different story, my beef was excellent but my better half's turbot was quite overcooked and we sent it back. There are some lovely touches in the restaurant especially the delightful bellek tableware. The most disappointing thing is the service which is not a match to the standard of food. This really needs to be improved. Desserts were another disappointment the sorbet and ice cream on both assiettes, one chocolate and one raspberry, had melted by the time they were were served. They should not have been let out of the kitchen. Some aspects of this meal were excellent and some were poor. We would have expected much more consistency especially on service.

MacNean House & Restaurant

Sky13
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th May 2010 (visited 28 May 2010)

What can I say? In years I have wanted to visit MacNean's so about two months ago I called to see when I could. We got a date of the 11th June 10, however this week I realised I had another engagement on that date that I could not get out off, so called to see when they could take me instead and I was lucky enough to get a cancellation for last night. Well from the moment we arrived we were treated like we were the most important people in the room. We were greated by Nevin's wife who is very charming and accomodating. We had a drink in the bar area which is small but very cosy, we decided to go with the dinner menu at €70 per person, I had the Rabbit to start followed by the Passion fruit jelly, then the beef dish followed by the rasberry dessert, my husband had the sea scollops, followed by the soup, then lamb and finally the Rhubarb dessert. The whole experience was fantastic. Initially we were presented with a veloute which was packed with flavour, then we given a variety of bread, so fresh. Then came our starters, follwed by our Mains. We then were given a pre-dessert and finally our dessert. With our coffees were were given petite desserts. The evening was capped off for me personally when I got to meet Nevin as I was leaving and had the opportunity to have a photograph with him. Both himself and his wife came across as very honest hardworking people with a real passion, they thanked us for visiting which you knew they meant, The only thing I could quibble to my husband to on the way home was when could we go again!

MacNean House & Restaurant

scorpybanner
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd April 2010 (visited 11 April 2010)

What a birthday treat from my husband!! I am so not surprised that we had to wait over 4 months for dinner and overnight stay here. I will not go into detail how fabulous this whole experiences was, all I'll say is you'll have to try it yourself!! Everything from the food to the staff was excellent, there is as much detail given to breakfast as there is to dinner. €70 each for dinner may sound alot at first but with 7 scrumpious courses it is quite reasonable. What I loved is that there is nothing pretentious about the place or the staff. And the 5 star chef himself Neven is nearly always there himself, as he was this night too. If I had a last supper then this is where it would be...

MacNean House & Restaurant

Emilyob
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2010 (visited 13 February 2010)

What a fantastic experience from the warm welcome at the halldoor on our arrival to our send off the next morning everything was excellent. We has the tasting menue with wine I really enjoyed the crab ravoli with the thai sauce. Each of us had our favourite course. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast to set us up for the day. When we were leaving they asked my sister and me for our first names the next thing Nevin appeared with signed copies of his new book. He asked us how we had got on the night before and how the rooms were. We had no complaints.It is so nice to meet someone who actually cares how you enjoyed their restaurant and you feel even after a few minutes that he really loves what he does.

MacNean House & Restaurant

food_4_thought
Meath
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2010 (visited 3 September 2008)

Its a while since I ate here but only registered on menu pages recently. This is a gem of a restaurant. I am a big fan of the chef, and left utterly satisfied. I had the tasting menu and must say every dish was executed brilliantly. I would happily recommend anyone go here, for a special occasion. We stayed in house and had the most amazing breakfast ever the following morning. Unlike other celebrity chef restaurants there was a very personal feel to the visit as we were waved goodbye by the chef himself. We even got a signed copy of his book, as a gift!! Definitely worth going here

MacNean House & Restaurant

eagle
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2009 (visited 21 November 2009)

This sure is the experience of a lifetime. Its set in a lovely little village, close to the border. The restaurant has a very old feeling, the seating area/ lounge is quaint and ol-fashioned. The food is served is several courses. We opted for the €70 menu, which was about 7 courses, with wine extra. Staff are excellent, they point out the main ingredients and explain the dishes as they arrive. This wasn't just dinner, this was an experience!!!

MacNean House & Restaurant

HeebyGeeby
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2009 (visited 29 August 2009)

If I could only eat in one restaurant in Ireland, this would be it. The service is fantastic, the perfect balance between homely, welcoming and professional. For what's on offer, it's great value, our pre dinner drinks cost less than we'd pay in our local pub. Each course had obviously received thought and care in the preparation, none of our party of four could find anything to fault any of the many courses. The lamb plate was heaven. Neven popped out of the kitchen to thank us when we eventually left after our four hour dinner, he clearly cares about what he does. The only problem for me is the long drive from Dublin but certainly Dublin restaurateurs have a lot to learn from Mr Maguire and his staff. No idea why it has no Michelin star, but it couldn't improve the food so it doesn't matter to me.

MacNean House & Restaurant

foodman
Galway
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2009 (visited 7 October 2009)

A very pleasurable dining experience and well worth the wait. The quality of what we had was on a par with the very best I have eaten. The atmosphere is relaxed, staff friendly and the cooking very assured. Without doubt deserving of a michelin star. A delightful way to finish the meal was to personally get to thank the genius who created and cooked this wonderful treat. Great value, Great place. A must for food lovers.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4670 ]