The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge restaurant

The Brooklodge Hotel, Macreddin Village, Aughrim, Wicklow

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€€

27 reviews
4 stars - based on 27 reviews

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Submit a review
The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

honest diner
Dublin
81 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2013 (visited 5 November 2013)

went here for dinner and was very much looking forward to it. the food was very nice. we had the wood pigeon & scallops for starters, chicken and hake for mains and 3 unknown flavoured sorbets and rice pudding for dessert. sorbets are listed as unknown because we were not told what they were before or after or informed that there was an array of options between ice cream and sorbets for this course as we heard another waitress outline to a nearby table when we were finished. overall the experience was let down a bit by inconsistent service from the waiting staff. food arrived in good time but waiting staff didn't explain some of the dishes , we poured our own wine for the night when our empty glasses were over looked for a period. on one occasion my companion was away from the table when a course arrived, the waitress picked up the napkin and rather than refold as it as would be the norm she looked around for somewhere to discard it and even appeared to be considering putting it on their seat but settled for placing it still unfolded at the side of the table. I would return for the food which was good value for money but the service could definitely improve.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

fluther
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2012 (visited 3 August 2012)

I'm at a loss as to why I just didn't go for 5 stars because this place was up there with Adare Manor for foodies. My Girlfriend and I went here as a treat and I really cannot fault it. It's a little hard to find and a good 45 mins from Dublin but well worth it. The food was out of this world and the total bill came to 144 notes (we had a bottle of sparkling water and just one glass of wine) Left 170 inc tip because the service really was that good. I'd eat there as often as I could if I was able to afford it.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Paulo
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2012 (visited 7 April 2012)

Had dinner here with my husband and two children. The food was out of this world. All organic and it was easy to taste the difference. The restaurant itself is decadent - the nicest I have ever been in. I had the hake and the children had chicken on a bed of pasta. The hubby wanted the same as the children and they kindly obliged and gave him an adult portion. The only downfall is the price. It is really steep. Especially if you are bringing children. The wine is very pricey too at over 8.50 per glass and thats the cheapest. We didn't get starters or mains so 3 pasta dishes and the hake with a couple of glasses of wine came to almost € 170. Cannot fault the food or the service but there was a bit of a sting in the tail when we got the bill. Great for a treat though.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

dolci
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2012 (visited 8 April 2012)

Exquisite is probably the best word to describe the food here. I had brie on polenta for starters, hubby had smoked salmon which was the most tender smoked salmon I ever tasted. My monkfish main with lentils was excellent, but I was slightly jealous of hubby's garlic roasted chicken as this was simply mouth-watering. However I can't even remember what hubby's dessert was as my banana-bread honeycomb Baked Alaska topped it all off for me: I'm not a dessert person but this swayed me completely... Staff was extremely professional and friendly as well. Can't fault this restaurant on anything, apart maybe on price as it is really quite expensive, including their wines. Although with all food being organic and considering it is cooked to perfection, it is really worth it...

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

biffoal
Laois
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2012 (visited 12 November 2011)

best dining experience i have had in a long time from start to finish

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

jfanning
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th December 2010 (visited 19 November 2010)

Amazing! The duck was cooked to perfection, the salad and it's the dressing were delicious. The staff are very warm and make u feel so relaxed. I can't wait to go back.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Aughrimeater2
Wicklow
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2010 (visited 28 August 2010)

A wedding anniversary dinner.. A drink each before the meal cost 15 euro, small table in a fairly full house on a Saturday night. A fixed price €65 per head, but what we had was very tasty, but two soups out of 5 starters limited the choice. Main meal was fine but not memorable. Service was far to fast we where in fed and out in 70mins!. A lovely chocolate dessert was presented as a complementary anniversary gift. The cheese board was extra with a nice port and was my highlight. At nearly 200euo including bottle of wine, was overpriced. However the €65 per head price hasn’t gone up in several years.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

jhedderman
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2010 (visited 6 June 2010)

One of the nicest dining experiences I've had in a long time.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

dcollins
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2010 (visited 15 May 2010)

We stayed in the Brooklodge hotel and dined in the Strawberry Tree on Saturday night. The food was outstanding and very good value for a 4-course meal. They overdo the emphasis on the organic nature of the ingredients, but the dishes were excellent and the ingredients clearly very fresh, I had the pork belly and loin for the main course and it was one of the best dishes I've ever had! The desserts were also excellent. I would return to the restaurent, but not the hotel.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

allhailhomer
Dublin
92 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd September 2009 (visited 21 September 2009)

Stayed the night at BrookLodge for a work function and dined here. The menu is expensive but it is a four course dinner and I felt it was well worth it as every course was well prepared and incredibly fresh and tasty. The service was friendly and efficient and the wine selection was excellent. The hotel surroundings are so secluded and peaceful. I would highly recommend staying the night to enjoy the great food, wine and relaxation.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

HappyGillmor
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2009 (visited 14 May 2009)

Had a nice meal and the food was very good however I was expecting it to be tastier as everything was organic. I felt that the food was over flavoured and this did not allow the real flavours to come out. My wife had hake with flavoured rice but the flavours completely overwhelmed the fish. I had the duck which was very good. I would give it another go.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

D6smurf
Wicklow
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 5 April 2009)

I thought the food was good here, I love their philosophy of all organic. The wine was excellent and I the cheese board with the trip to the cheese cellar was great fun BUT my god the restaurant decor is awful. It has a low black ceiling made of reflective marble which reflects the navy/black/blue swirly carpet, dark velvet walls and black place settings. The whole thing needs to lighten up-both menu and decoration.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

carloweater
Wexford
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2009 (visited 4 April 2009)

I ate here on Sat 4th with a group of 5 friends. I have eaten here many times over the last 3 years and the meal was always one of the hightlights of our stay in Brooklodge.Unfortunatley I think the restaurant has gone down hill while it's prices have of course gone up hill. The menu is set at a price of €65 & the wines average €30 - €40 a bottle which is pretty expensive for what you get. I would have expected fillet steak on the menu but alas only sirloin (an additional €6). You would really want to be a fish lover to enjoy a meal here. Unfortunately, I am not so I had an unusual starter 'poached egg on asparagus drizzled with lemon juice' which was almost palatable. For main course 2 of us had the baked chicken breast on sliced aubergines which was basic to say the least. 2 of my goup had the 'pollock on mixed veg base' which one barely touched and the other ate to save drawing attention to her full plate of food when the waitress came over. Another friend had the duck which she really enjoyed. The desserts were nice and as most of our group had picked through the mains, we devoured the pecan tart and ice cream selection. Overall I think this restaurant has lost it's WOW factor. The menu needs to loose it's poetic discriptions & return to it's roots. 3 or 4 years ago this was a fantastic place to eat but sadly I won't be wasting my money here again.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

whatdiet
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2009 (visited 10 March 2009)

Was expecting to be 'wowed', but very disappointed. Dining room (as hotel) very empty, and for Eur65, expect a lot more from the food. Organic wines very pleasant for 30 euros.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Johnson
Wicklow
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 3 March 2009)

We visited here for my parents wedding anniversary, but it was overall a disappointing experience. At €65 for the set meal, we expected a great dining experience, but sadly did not get it. The food is greatly overpriced, adn is not up to the standard of other restaurants in the wicklow area. The wine is extremely overpriced - we bought a red for €39, which cost me €6 in france at christmas time! The service was slightly abrupt. Overall, it is organic, but the value does not shine through - you will get better value and quality elsewhere.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4626 ]