Strand Tavern restaurant

Duncannon, New Ross, Wexford

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:


5 reviews
4 stars - based on 5 reviews

Strand Tavern

Submit a review
Strand Tavern

ianbmcvey

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2014 (visited 1 October 2014)

Visited the Strand Tavern with 2 colleagues, the special menu was excellent: starter was Scallops with Beetroot and Fennel The Scallops were cooked beautifully and the Beetroot and fennel bed was gorgeous the roasted pumpkin seeds made this extra special. the main was Medallions of Monkfish with a Thai green curry sauce with Sweet potato Puree After the excellent starter i had high hopes for the Main and it did not disappoint, just enough sauce to give the monkfish a curry hit whilst the fish was still tasty, well cooked and very well presented. an excellent meal well elevated above Pub food. Will be back

Strand Tavern

Pod
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 09th May 2011 (visited 2 April 2011)

Have visited Duncannon a few times and each time have eaten in The Stand Tavern. Owners and staff are lovely and you are always made feel like a local. Food is fantastic. Last time we were there, they had an offer 3 course meal for 2 people with bottle of wine for €60. Huge portions so you certainly won’t go hungry

Strand Tavern

blaa
Waterford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st November 2010 (visited 17 October 2010)

Really like the food in the Strand.Fresh fish..have had monkfish, hake, plaice, cod, chowder and the seafood platter during the summer is devine. Really good meat dishes too, again have had roast beef, lamb, pork etc. Ciabattas are huge & excellent value. Presentation is amazing, and big portions, top marks to the chef. It's nice to have food cooked to order. Staff are friendly & dont rush service. Prices have come down, makes it even better value. Looking out on the beach from the front windows, one could be tempted to go for a walk after dinner! I do think the food is of much better quality and quantity than the other pubs in surrounding areas we have tried. Will be back.

Strand Tavern

Oskar
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2010 (visited 15 January 2010)

We've been here a few times and have found it to be warm and welcoming with good quality food. Unfussy and no frills but consistent in quality - pub has better atmosphere than restaurant area. Service is very good, really friendly. Food standard is great if a little dear for the surroundings...? We like it and will be back.

Strand Tavern

wannabe
Wexford
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2009 (visited 17 May 2009)

We ate here late on a Sunday afternoon unfortunately the only tables left were under the giant TV screen and taking into account it is a pub - please turn off the telly when the sports are over. The food on the other hand was good quality pub food, tender beef, large childrens portions which would satisify two smaller children with one portion, well presented desserts but what were raisins doing in my rhubarb and apple crumble? even if they were fine plump juicy ones. Also a mention for the barman, very efficient and friendly with time for a chat, overall just the thing after coming off the beach on a Sunday evening.

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5674 ]