Dragon Palace restaurant

Main Street, Ashbourne, Meath

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cheap Eats

Price Range:


15 reviews
4 stars - based on 15 reviews

Dragon Palace

Submit a review
Dragon Palace

Ralphmurray8056013419
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2014 (visited 16 August 2014)

Excellent food,service and value for money,we had the early bird menu,couldn't fault anything,child friendly too always a bonus,it was so good we went back again.highly recommend

Dragon Palace

Gronkjaers left boot
Meath
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2013 (visited 6 March 2013)

the decor inside was a bit bland but the waiter was very pleasant. Strangely we were the only customers dining in the place for most of our meal until another couple came in towards the end of our meal, maybe that's normal for a Wed night in recessionary Ireland. The food was ok, there's better and worse out there but I did like the fact that the waiter filled the wine glass almost to the top, just the way i like it :).

Dragon Palace

Owleretta
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2011 (visited 24 April 2011)

On our journey back from the race course our taxi driver recommended Dragon Palace as a good place for dinner - and he was right. We had a main course with rice / chips on the side and a bottle of wine for €50 and given the quality of the food it was great value. Sometimes when eating out the rest of your night can be a wash out due to feeling over full from too much rich food, no problem on this occasion we were both able to venture out for more drinks later on! We both had curry (chicken and vegetable) and the sauce was especially good. I have to also give a special mention to the waiter, extremely friendly without being too over the top and he made the meal all the more enjoyable!

Dragon Palace

DPB
Meath
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2011 (visited 8 April 2011)

I was at a family dinner on Friday. When I arrived the family were in a bar across from the Dragon Palace. The waiter said I should go over to them. I said I was ok and sat down. He metiond a further four times that I should go over to the bar, even though I expressed I was happy to wait and was not drinking. The restaurant was empty for the whole evening. The good atmosphere was only created by the people I was with. The food was tasty but nothing special. I don't think I would go again as there are better Chinese restaurants in the area.

Dragon Palace

hungry dog
Meath
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2010 (visited 10 July 2010)

Was here all the time. There no place else can get the best early bird. 4course meal just for 18.00euro.

Dragon Palace

aisieof
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2010 (visited 19 June 2010)

I visited the Dragon Palace again this Sunday to celebrate Fathers Day and a family birthday. I have been many times over the years. Once again I really enjoyed it. Of all the restaurants I have ever been to it is the only one that gives you such a relaxed feeling. You know what to expect there, the food is extremely tasty ( I recommend the chicken hot pot) and it is good value, the service is professional but has a personal touch, the staff make such an effort to remember you and are family friendly and you always walk away feeling calm and full! Some restaurants might have better decor and fancy touches to the food but if you want a restaurant that gives you a break away from the cooker and distraction from other stresses then you wont be let down.

Dragon Palace

alimurph
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2010 (visited 24 December 2009)

I've eaten in the Dragon Palace several times and it always reminds me of the restaurant in 'Sex in the City' when Carrie is convinced that Big is trying to hide her. Similar to this restaurant, the Dragon Palace doesn't have much atmosphere and the decor is outdated, but the food is always good and the service impeccable. I've yet to eat in this restaurant where it is even half full but I always go back as I'm sure I will get good Chinese food at good prices. If you're less concerned with surroundings than you are of getting a good meal with good service, then the Dragon Palace is the place for you. Don't be put off by the dismal walk up the stairs and concentrate on the good smell wafting from the kitchens.

Dragon Palace

Countryripple

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th December 2009 (visited 12 December 2009)

Had heard some mixed reviews about this restaurant. But decided to check it out for ourselves. The place has a very dated feel to it with regard to the decor etc. The night we visited, it was busy enough with large groups probably on christmas parties. I had the pring rolls and szechwan, while my other half had ribs and chicken curry. The service was good, as it usually is in any chinese. The food was not exactly top class, but it was very nice for what we were paying for it. Overall I would probably visit again, but it would not be top of my list for chinese cusine.

Dragon Palace

greatfood
Meath
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2009 (visited 27 February 2009)

Not fine dining obviously, but still a favourite of mine. The sweet and sour chicken is nice and sweet, just the way I like it, but I'd give the curry dishes a miss. Singapore noodles are very good, and the chicken balls, although small, are delicious. Great place to fill up at the end of a night out.

Dragon Palace

frenchcoffee
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2009 (visited 2 February 2009)

I don't agree with foodbin, in one review theres a husband and in the other is a boyfriend?? I would question if this person is a real punter. Anyway my partner and myself are regular patron's of The Dragon Palace in Ashbourne and we have always received an exceptional welcome there from day one. I suppose just to say we couldn't say enough good things about all the staff there. We always leave happy, what more can we say and what more could you ask for. Here are some words that apply, Super, Fab, Wonderful, Great Value, Amazing Food, Early Bird Specials, Family's Really Are Welcome and are Really Looked After!!! We hope you enjoy this restaurant as much as we have.

Dragon Palace

foodbin
Meath
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2008 (visited 19 September 2008)

I agree with the previous reviewer-I was expecting something great based on the reviews here. Instead it was very average. The chicken was not of great quality, my friend was very disappointed in her szcheuan (sp?) sauce as it was not at all spicey. I ordered prawns with cashew nuts, the prawns were big and plentiful but the sauce was completely flavourless and too thick. The menu is long and confusing with many dishes that sound similar but with no additional explanation as to how they differ.Anyway, this place is very average, I wont be back.

Dragon Palace

Nona

17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2008 (visited 6 April 2008)

Have been eating here for years. Have never had a bad experience. Cheap and Cheerfu. Food is always good.

Dragon Palace

Sangar

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2008 (visited 27 April 2008)

We took our two kids and met another couple with a baby for an early Sunday evening dinner. Staff are wonderful and really great with the kids. Food is excellent with a good choice and it was all very very reasonable. Only minor problem was a shortage of proper beer, with only that awful Budweiser available (Not the normal situation here, I hasten to add). A great spot, though the surroundings are good, rather than great.

Dragon Palace

aismul
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2012 (visited 24 February 2012)

Hadn't been here in years so decided to try it again. Menu hasn't changed much since it first opened. However, the food served is very nice and we all enjoyed our choices. Very friendly waiter who was super attentive (perhaps as we were the only people in the place) The decor/music is still very much what it was 10 years ago. But the food is what's important and you won't be disappointed at the price. I will happily return.

Dragon Palace

rommell

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2008 (visited 2 January 2008)

My husband and I have been eating here for the last 8 years and highly recommend the Dragon Palace to anyone. The staff are brilliant, food brilliant. Good for parties and great for people with children. Well worth 5 stars.

Copyright © 2017 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.3851 ]