The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar restaurant

6 Rose Inn Street, Kilkenny City, Kilkenny

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Wine Bar

Price Range:


14 reviews
4 stars - based on 14 reviews

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

Submit a review
The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

johnnyomahony
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2016 (visited 6 February 2016)

brought a large group of friends here (16) for dinner. brilliant service, excellent tapas, efficient accommodating staff, a great evening all round

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

lindseyaryan
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 26th January 2016 (visited 22 January 2016)

Not a very large menu & can work out a little pricey. Overall the food was good but not brilliant. It was an enjoyable meal, decent wine (but again quite pricey). Thankful we had it booked as many patrons were turned away without reservations on the night. Id go again but wouldn't rave about it to friends

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

orla

35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th August 2014 (visited 23 August 2014)

Gorgeous food, had the chicken and chorizo salad and the calamari and shared the bravas- tasted the meatballs in ragu which were so tasty too! Lovely atmosphere and nice pleasant staff too! Great work guys!

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

johnsonian
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2013 (visited 9 November 2013)

Went here for dinner on Sunday. They had a special on all day which was 5 tapas, two deserts and a bottle of wine for under €50. The tapas menu was great and there was a lot of choice. The service was great too and will definitely be back.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

bear72
Wicklow
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2012 (visited 13 September 2012)

went here with my partner on Thursday evening about 6. As you walk in it's lovely and nice and cosy. we were given a sit right at the back as we were told that the front part was booked with a party. there were about 5 tables closer up free, so we asked to move up a little, and away from the speaker that had guns and roses blasting out. We were waiting about ten minutes before a staff member came over, we ordered a bottle of wine,she was pleasent and polite but I had to ask about the early bird offers. We ordered 5 tapas between us. unfortuntaly they were quite bland, the sauce over the patata bravas was tastless, however the omelette with peppers was nice, the chorizo in red wine inmy partners opinion didn't work, and the 8 mini crostini's were way overpriced at €10.50 The staff were nice, and the wine was good, but overall it was a let down.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

katie007
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2012 (visited 1 September 2012)

Absolutely LOVED this place. Went for dinner on Saturday night and the place had a great buzz about it. Fab wine and food and the staff were lovely and friendly. My only complaint would be that the cheese board is a bit overpirced at 15 euro - have had bigger and better for less... in saying that it still tasted great. Would definitely go back when in Kilkenny again.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

PaulaNoelle
Kilkenny
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th July 2012 (visited 20 July 2012)

LOVE this place! Always a great night out.This was our third visit. Arrived in Friday night to a great atmosphere - again! The place was full. Great wine! Great food! Friendly staff! Chilled music! All ingredients for the prefect night out. Always a favourite for my husband & I. Definitely looking forward to another night out when we can get a babysitter ;o)

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

dinewithme
Kildare
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2012 (visited 3 November 2011)

Probably the most authentic tapas I've had outside of Spain. Generally what you are given in Ireland is basically a selction of starters that can be seen in any restaurant, ie Goats Cheese Crostini, Chicken Satay etc. What we got here was in a different class altogether. The food, although fantastic, was quite expensive, averaged about €6 per tapas and almost €12 for a simple but fantastic cheeseboard. The service was brisk and friendly.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

AlCuisine
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2011 (visited 18 August 2011)

The location, decoration and lighting all give this restuarant an excellent atmosphere, on arrival the staff were equally welcoming and help. We ordered approx 16 Tapas dishes between the group and the food was beautifully presented, really rustic, all very fresh and the generous portions made the meal excellent value for money. The venison, and charcuterie plates were particularly good, the calamari was over cooked however and it wasn't served with any sauce or dip so it was very dry, equally unseasoned was the whitebait which was also quite dry and without flavour. Overall however the food was very good and i would recommend it. Perhaps it was because it was busy, but the service was especially poor, the food wasn't long coming out but we had to wait for drinks, no salt or pepper was provided on tables and it was impossible to get the staff's attention. We also had a min 50 min wait trying to order coffees or deserts at which stage it was late so we decided not to bother. If this was improved it would make the entire experience very enjoyable.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

sizzler90
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th March 2011 (visited 26 February 2011)

It was my first visit here and I have to say I really really enjoyed it! The cheese board is a must try, really good selection, if a little pricey! Had the paté with the melba toast too-it was delicious, and a really fair sized portion. Only thing is they need an early bird menu of some sort as I would be more inlclined to go more often. Overall I would recommend to a friend.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

natalie
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th February 2011 (visited 11 December 2010)

Very tasty tapas of varying proportions. The cheeseboard is excellent!

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

johnfanta
Kilkenny
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th June 2010 (visited 26 May 2010)

I love going to the Grapevine as a treat every couple of months. The decor is great and suits the size of the premises. We haven't been disappointed with out wine selection yet and I usually go for a single selection of a mixed cheese board which is a little pricey @13 but there plenty on it. At times there is a queue for the Toilets. I have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Its not really a restaurant but a tapas bar. Would recommend it to anyone

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

tucker
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2010 (visited 30 January 2010)

Food was delicious, typical tapas menu, wine was excellent and so was the service. Would definelty return in the near future. Friendly staff.

The Grapevine Cafe Wine & Tapas Bar

Toulouse
Kildare
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th January 2010 (visited 16 January 2010)

We had a quiet lunch here on a Saturday afternoon. It's a really nice comfy spot to sit, relax and listen to some good music. The service was excellent and the guy who took our orders was nice and friendly and seems to be in his element dealing with customers. For the afternoon there is a smaller Tapas and Crepe menu and then there's a larger Tapas menu in the evening. However one of the dishes we really wanted was on the evening menu and we were accommodated without any fuss. Our lunch consisted of a greek salad, whitebait, calamari and chorizo, potato and green chilli. All dishes were amazing, really fresh and well cooked. We were given a basket of beautiful bread to mop up the juices. All this and a pint of Coke came to €26. We're not local to Kilkenny but we'll definitely be back for lunch here.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5874 ]