Barberstown Castle restaurant

Straffan, Straffan, Kildare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€€€

11 reviews
4 stars - based on 11 reviews

Barberstown Castle

Submit a review
Barberstown Castle

garbhan
Dublin
70 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 05th October 2014 (visited 5 October 2014)

This was my first time visiting Barberstown Castle but it will not be my last. We ate in the Tea Rooms. The room is beautiful and although very gracious not at all stuffy. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. We shared a portion of crispy tiger prawns which were cooked perfectly, crispy on the outside as stated with a melt in the mouth interior. A tempura battered cod served with twice (or maybe three) times fried chips was delicious. The batter was light and crispy. I ordered the croque monsieur which was a huge let down. Although the overall flavour was good, it was made with bog standard sliced pan which was quite chewy and didn't do justice to the filling. If it had been made with better quality bread I would have had no complaints.

Barberstown Castle

mebo43
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2014 (visited 9 March 2014)

First time in Barberstown castle, met with a warm and simley reception and had a wonderful meal. There were alot of French wines on menu, would prefer more of a wider choice. Food was excellent. Only comment would be on special of the day beef stroganoff wasn't great. We will be back again, nice to have somewhere so pleasant with great staff and service. Beautiful artwork on walls and hopefully we can have a tour of the castle next time. Thanks Barberstown.

Barberstown Castle

Minimoocher
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2013 (visited 23 September 2013)

I have been here plenty of times with my mother, i love the food and the atmosphere, it was an unusually hot day on Monday and i found the heat in the tea room unbearable, they could do with some air conditioning or fans on days like this, after the main we ate our deserts outside in the sunshine and fresh air which was lovely, service was wonderful as usual. Toilets were spotless which is always a plus... As an artist though and art lover i was a bit bewildered by the choice of art work in reception and near the toilets almost childlike.. i didn't get it! :D , But will be back for sure i really love this place!

Barberstown Castle

Elizabeth Tory
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2010 (visited 30 March 2010)

This venue is atmosphere-high - very pleasant, comfortable in an ornate neo-Victorian way. Its atmosphere is one of the plusses, in fact. On a culinary level I think some courses are over-sauced, over-flavoured, with too many contrasting, clashing styles at work. Desserts have deteriorated over the years. On a value level? Not sure it's all it's cracked up to be. I tend to feel we pay for atmosphere but at the expense of doing justice to the undoubtedly fine ingredients of cooking. Less of the ladies-who-lunch appeal in the middle of the day, and more emphasis on a less frilly style of presentation may be what's called for in these Tiger-Dead times!

Barberstown Castle

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2010 (visited 28 November 2009)

My fiancee and I ate here before our wedding in Barberstown Castle, so that we could get an idea of what our guests and us were in for at the reception. Our meal and the setting surpassed all expectations, and was the best dining experience I have had. Before dinner, we were invited to wait in the bar, a relaxed understated fire-lit room which set the tone for the evening. Dinner was then served in an intimate dining room. I started with the duck terrine, and this was delicious. I then had the roast beef, which was tender, was accompanied by traditional potatoes and vegitables. I had creme brulee for desert and this was very good. Service throughout was excellant and finances permitting, we wouldn't hesitate to go back for a special occassion.

Barberstown Castle

sportshooter
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th October 2009 (visited 6 October 2009)

Dined there with a customer who was staying at the hotel. The food was simply excellent, and even though we were not in the tower room the atmosphere was warm, friendly and not remotely stuffy. The service friendly and prompt. A very good dining experience over all.

Barberstown Castle

killerqeen
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2009 (visited 2 October 2009)

I had dinner in Barberstown Castle last Friday and it was fantastic. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We arrived just at 8pm for an 8pm sitting and we were asked did we want to have a drink at the bar which we did. Then while at the bar they gave us our menu's to mull over then took our orders. We were having a debate over the wine and the bar man came and gave us a tasting of a few bottles which was great. We were then seated in the restaurant and our food arrived shortly afterwards. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice and every table had people seated whic was great. It wouldn't be the kind of place were I would go on a wild dinner party but for a couple to have a relaxing meal it was fantastic. The food was also top class so very tasty. I would highly recommend Barberstown and would deffo go back again.

Barberstown Castle

CatONei11
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th July 2009 (visited 4 July 2009)

I had lunch here with 2 girlfriends, after a pampering morning of massage! Big comfy couches a the piano man playing quietly in the background meant that we didn't want to leave. I had oysters to start with and one of the girls had the soup which was white asparagus soup. There was lots of brown bread served with both dishes, which was delicious. For our mains, I had the smoked salmon open sandwich. It was gorgeous, well presented and lots of thick, delicious salmon and side salad. Lots of bread bread too. One of the girls had smoked chicken salad and the other had the roast chicken open sandwich. Both were delicious and really big portions too. We shared a cheesecake desert and a freshly cooked brownie for afters. Yum yum yum! We had 2 rounds of tea and sparkling water. The bill was almost €90, which is pretty steep for lunch consisting of sandwichs and salad but it was delicious and the place is gorgeous.

Barberstown Castle

McTavish
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2009 (visited 8 March 2009)

Had afternoon tea here with a friend. It consisted of individual salmon, ham and cucumber sandwiches which were nice but not exceptional. Then came a selection of cream cakes, and scones with jam and clotted cream. I must say the scones were delicious. During all this there was a piano player belting away in the corner, it was so loud that we had to move to a quieter spot to enable us to have a conversation. We asked for a second pot of tea and when we checked our bill discovered that we were charged an extra €7.50euro for this. Surely when you pay for afternoon tea an extra pot of tea should be included. This brought the bill to over €50 euro. On principle I would not return here because of this. Many places top up tea and coffee as a goodwill deed.

Barberstown Castle

Mickey121
Kildare
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 16th February 2009 (visited 14 February 2009)

Valentines day was spent here and it was a treat. For the afternoon we had a small tea of scones and mocha coffees which were as good as you would find them normally. Dinner that night was brilliant. A tasting menu for starters was prepared for Valentines which was quite appetising and well worth it with a choice of main meals. Desert was selection of chocolate treats which the missus and I loved. A glass of sparkling wine to start the evening off and a good selection of wines to choose from for dinner. The service was excellent & we never left waiting and all were very polite. An enjoyable place to spend Valentines.

Barberstown Castle

ri_ra
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 13th July 2008 (visited 11 July 2008)

Ate in the 'tea rooms'. When I looked at the menu it looked great. Great selection and the open sandwiches read really nice. However, we ordered 2, the beef and the salmon. Nothing to write home about at all. Very dear and not very nice. Will not be going back based on my experience here.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4526 ]