Picaderos Restaurant

Desmond House, Main Street, Maynooth, Kildare

View on Map

Cuisine:
Spanish

Price Range:


37 reviews
4 stars - based on 37 reviews

Picaderos Restaurant

Submit a review
Picaderos Restaurant

john254
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 04th May 2019 (visited 27 April 2019)

my wife and I went to piccaderos for our wedding anniversary, to say the food was excellent would be an understatement, the staff are all very professional and helpful, would recommend this establishment very highly, and will be back.

Picaderos Restaurant

niamhf.morris

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2014 (visited 12 December 2014)

We had a really enjoyable night in Picaderos. The staff were friendly and helpful with the menus and the food was delicious. There's a huge variety,and you can mix and match between the Tapas menu and the A la Carte,which is great.booking ahead is a must. Definitely will visit again.

Picaderos Restaurant

tastyali
Kildare
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2014 (visited 5 September 2014)

Went for a girls night out....an infusion of tapas followed. Prawns, chicken skewers, patatas, paella, meatballs, chorizo, nachos, cheese and meat plate not forgetting the bread and olives everything was yummy. Service was slow, but the place was hopping and the wine was good so all forgiven. Dessert was a mix of alcohol coffees and those Spanish donuts and dipping chocolate...highly recommend the brandy coffee that needs to be stirred before drinking.

Picaderos Restaurant

fabjo78
Kildare
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 21st July 2014 (visited 20 July 2014)

This is a lovely place, great atmosphere and staff. The food is very good but unfortunately my steak was a bit over although my partner's was perfect. The calamari is better that Ive had in Spain and the deep fried brie was excellent. I had churros for dessert, they were a bit greasy but they came with a lovely ice cream.

Picaderos Restaurant

jemmaphillips123

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st June 2014 (visited 21 June 2014)

The service was absolutely shocking today. 4 o clock on a saturday afternoon and waited over twenty minutes to be served then were given red wine when we ordered white. My partner also ordered cider and that was completely forgotten about. Our starters came out ten minutes apart from each other which made no sense. Then when we wanted to pay our bill it took so long to get any attention from the staff that we walked upto the bar to pay the bill. Then the waiter asked who appeared to be some sort of senior staff to take care of our bill. She looked at the waiter and said yes but never aknowledged us. She then turned around and carried on messing on the computer or till for a good ten minutes so we got fed up and got another waiter to sort our bill for us Shocking behaviour. awful terrible service and it wasnt even busy so no reason for it. never going back.

Picaderos Restaurant

fine-diner
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2014 (visited 28 April 2014)

Went back her again last night, love this place and its relaxed atmosphere, as was not disappointed. Everything they have is delightful, so its always difficult to choose, so we orders a bottle of Viña Garria Tempranillo, and then went for the Mixed Mexican Tapas Platter to start off while we decided what to have next, it was all fabulous, the only thing was that there was just one taco despite it being a platter for two, so we had to try to split it. We then ordered more tapas, Patatas Bravas, Jamón ‘Croquettas’ with garlic Aioli dip,Chorizo (it was a massive portion), Prawns al Ajillo, all scrumptious, we decided to go for dessert instead of more tapas, and the Churros con Chocolate came recommended, my friend had them they were divine, I decided to be good and went for the Sorbet 43 as a refreshing option, it also had fresh strawberries, it was also quite a large portion, but was devoured. The service as always was second to none, and you did not feel they were in a rush to get you to leave which is always nice, you could sit back and chat in comfort over a second bottle of wine. Cant wait to go back again.

Picaderos Restaurant

foodiefun
Kildare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2013 (visited 8 November 2013)

i had booked a table for 5 and mentioned that we may like to avail of the early bird menu which online mentioned that it finished at 7pm, we booked the table for 6.45. I got a call to confirm the booking, confirm we can have the early bird menu (apparently it finishes @ 6.45 but was told they will still offer it) and was told they needed the table back by 9pm. which was fine. the first of our party got there by 6.45 and we were all there by 7. we were not allowed to order of the early bird, which was disappointing but fine, there was plenty other choices. the food was brilliant and the paella, really good, but wow, where we rushed through our meal. we were still eating our starters when they wanted to clear and pretty much the same for our main courses. I understand the restaurant is busy and its great to see that as the food is great, but we don't just eat out for the food... its supposed to be the whole dining experience.... isn't it?? we were asked to leave at 9.10pm as they really needed the table back... even though there were at least another 3/4 tables available!! disappointed that we were treated as if we were on a conveyor belt!!

Picaderos Restaurant

fozzieisit
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 14 October 2013)

3 of us had the early bird, such a great variety provided for each course. really tasty food, best fish and chips i've tasted. very reasonably priced. nice warm decor. will be back!

Picaderos Restaurant

Nicholson
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2013 (visited 27 July 2013)

Brilliant. Pros: Great atmosphere, great service (when they are not too busy). One of my favorite restaurants and definitely the best offering in Maynooth. Food is beautiful. Go for the tapas, they are amazing. Cons: The place can get very warm, probably because of the proximity of the kitchen and watch out the drink is a bit overly expensive so the costs can quickly rack up.

Picaderos Restaurant

eamondiver

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2013 (visited 20 September 2013)

Excelent meal, though i would have liked a bigger portion of french frys. ( I love french frys) :)

Picaderos Restaurant

Snaggle9
Meath
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2013 (visited 11 September 2013)

Just had lunch at Picaderos with 5 friends from work... They'd never been there before but had heard me recommending it many times... They all loved it - the food, service (thank you) and the wonderful warm ambiance. All are planning a return visit!

Picaderos Restaurant

chillaxer
Kildare
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd August 2013 (visited 3 August 2013)

Atmosphere on a Saturday night is great with live Spanish style guitar music played by musician regularly. Place was very busy ( and quite loud) and you definitely need to book well in advance. Great selection of tapas but we ate from the a la carte menu. The fisherman style soup was delicious, loads in it. Husband had the chicken wings and he enjoyed them but would have liked more! For main I had the paella Valenciana, loved it, hubby went for the Pollo Lanzarote which he thought was only ok . If your going to a restaurant like this I think you are mad if you dont try the authentic spanish /argentinean fare. Ate here before and tried some of the tapas but thought they were bit expensive for the portion size. Staff are very friendly and I would recommend this restaurant for lovely night out if a little on expensive side .

Picaderos Restaurant

ashortt
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2013 (visited 8 August 2013)

I met my friends here last night --- very nice place, great atmosphere, staff really nice and attentive --- but it was too hot - it was uncomfortably warm and stuffy. I ordered steak medium and it was over-cooked but i was still happy with my meal and so were my friends. I would return but would ask to sit outside (weather permitting).

Picaderos Restaurant

clairembrowne
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2013 (visited 28 July 2013)

Always enjoy eating here, great menu with loads of choice, decent wine list too. Had Spanish meatballs, very tasty, and churros which were delicious... Will definitely be back.

Picaderos Restaurant

redfred
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th June 2013 (visited 8 June 2013)

Best restaurant in Maynooth. Ticks all the boxes, great atmosphere, delicious food and good service. Went for the early bird with my family, to celebrate our Dad's 70th Birthday. Everyone agreed it was a lovely meal and would highly recommend it. Try the churros with chocolate sauce for dessert. I have had lovely meals here with groups of friends also, the menu has great variety for food tastes and the wallet. Always a good atmosphere. Going again next Saturday!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4667 ]