Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

Main Street, Maynooth, Kildare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Casual Dining

Price Range:

€€

113 reviews
4 stars - based on 113 reviews

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

Submit a review
Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

lmckeon_ie
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 13th November 2017 (visited 10 November 2017)

Unfortunately, everyone in my group of 6 were not impressed with the food. Soup was not hot enough, Risotto was lacking in taste. Chunky chips served with the fish were hard. Staff were friendly, hence I did not complain on the night but will not be returning. Overall disappointed.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

clondalkin201241143786
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 07th May 2017 (visited 6 May 2017)

Wonderful atmosphere! Dark woods, candlit bar - very cosy. Fantastic burgers. Other menu items available but the teal skill of the chef is in the burgers. Sadly we ordered fillet steak, mediocre. Rissotto, cheap rice, tastless, but not everyone can cook Rissotto, ribs served cold, chips not cooked. Food menu very similar to TGI Fridays but with more elegant decor and more expensive. Staff attentive and helpful.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

Euroking
Kildare
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th February 2017 (visited 10 December 2016)

Went here first time in December. Went with my wife, my cousin and her husband. It was a Saturday night just before Christmas. It was very noisy and crowded. We were upstairs in the middle of tables of very loud and excited women. Possibly on their Christmas Night Out with their co-workers. The food was expensive for what we got. Very difficult to have a quite chat and catch up.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

mfarrell1034759889
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 21st February 2016 (visited 14 February 2016)

My husband and I were very disappointed with the food.We did not like anything on the set menu so we went for the A La Carte. The chicken we got was very small and the potatoes were nearly cold

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

sallynoo
Kildare
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 02nd January 2016 (visited 21 November 2015)

I visited the Avenue with my family it was part of a birthday celebration and we had booked a section of the restaurant. Everything went well until we were leaving and I had paid my bill with my credit card as i was opening the door the manager called out that not everyone had paid. The family returned and spoke with him pointing out the member of staff who took their money at the till. People who paid by cash were refused a receipt the manager explained that a party over twelve were not issued receipts if paying by cash. We broke down the bill and it showed that they had all paid for their meal. All the guests gave generous tips to staff. The manager stated that some people ordered coffee which wasn't paid for this was explained by the waitress offering coffee when some guests refused the offer the waitress stated it was free so a four people accepted coffee. When this was put to the waitress at the till they agreed this was the case. What was supposed to be a wonderful family celebration was ruined. We were very upset over the encounter in front of a packed restaurant. The following day I went back to the restaurant and spoke to the manager explaining to him that myself and my sister had been overcharged on our credit cards. He admitted on the night the waitress were confused as the restaurant was packed. At no point did he apologise or offer a refund for overcharging us. At no point during the discussion could he justify his comments of the night and each time we went over the menu charges could he prove we did not pay.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

freakyfoodie
Kildare
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 01st February 2015 (visited 30 January 2015)

Excellent meal and service. If anything the portions were a little too generous! Early bird for EUR 30 excellent value. Will return.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

foodaddict2014
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th November 2014 (visited 17 November 2014)

Nice food but a bit pricey if early bird is not available. Also service was slow for a Monday night. Would still return though

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

jakodo45884805
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th August 2014 (visited 25 July 2014)

Avenue is one of my favorite restaurants in Maynooth. The menu is short but for me that's a major advantage over those with too many options. Restaurants with large menus have to be drawing on the freezer for many of your choices. With fewer options one hopes the food is all fresh. A small criticism, I would like to see the small menu change more frequently and I might use this restaurant more often. Food is always fantastic. Good selection of wines at very reasonable prices. Overall, never disappointed.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

susmccann

12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th August 2014 (visited 4 August 2014)

Lovely buzzy restaurant. Shared the wings-lovely. I had the duck with noodles, my husband had the lamb shank, both very good. No room for desert. One glass of wine and one beer, bill came to €66. Would return

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

aidanj
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 29th June 2014 (visited 24 June 2014)

We booked the Avenue for a family dinner, looking for casual dining with 3 children and 5 adults. We were put in a small room to ourselves, which was great, with only one problem.As there were no soft furnishings of any kind, it was really noisy even with just our own party in there. Add to that that the same song played on a loop for at least half and hour before we asked them to change it!. But thats really a minor quibble. We were in time for the early bird so we all took advantage of that. The food was great, we had wings to share along side the starters, deep fried brie, caesar salad, etc. everyone was happy! The wings are good! The mains were really tasty, smoked haddock and chips being voted the best choice. The burgers were good but very heavy handed with the chips! No-one had dessert as all were well fed and happy. Would recommend as a casual,friendly and well priced restaurant. We'll be back for a go at the evening menu which looked inviting.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

willows14
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 09th June 2014 (visited 8 June 2014)

2nd time to eat here. We had a table booked for 6:30pm. Chicken wings were gorgeous as always. I had the cod special with lentils which was tasty but a few more lentils would have been nice. My boyfriend had the bacon and cheddar cheese burger - no cheese on it. Loads of chips with his meal. Service was very slow, one waiter walked around looking at tables but never clearing. We sat for at least 10 mins with our empty starter plates in front of us. The hostess was amazing, she was sitting people, clearing tables, bringing food, very efficient!! We will return but our expectations have slipped a little.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

shelma
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2014 (visited 15 April 2014)

My partner and I opted for an early dinner here so availed of the early bird option. The Avenues chicken wings are to die for but don't feature on the early bird menu. We got a large serving of the wings and decided on a main+dessert from the early bird menu! Really great value on the early bird menu but i thought the main choices were very limited. I went for the pasta arrabiata with chorizo. Although it was tasty I found it could have contained a bit more pasta. My partner opted for the burger and found it delicious. Desserts were profiteroles and sticky toffee pudding. He was happy with his profiteroles and I can say the sticky toffee pudding was amazing! A great restaurant all round. Maybe a little more space between the tables would make the atmosphere better. At times we felt we were part of the next tables conversations!!

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

Michelleoneill05

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2014 (visited 3 March 2014)

We were on holidays from England and our friends in Ireland recommended this restaurant.We were not disappointed as the food was excellent and I would recommended the linguine ( we had the early bird).The waitress was very helpful when we asked some advice about the dessert Our friends who live locally will go back and so will we when we Come back to Ireland.

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

willows14
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 24th February 2014 (visited 14 February 2014)

We had a throughly enjoyable Valentine's Dinner, Lots of space and the food was fresh and delicious. The chicken wings as a shared starter are a must. The sticky toffee pudding and the upside-down cheesecake were divine!! Planning a return trip already!!!

Avenue Cafe & Restaurant

paulliptor67004429
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2014 (visited 18 February 2014)

Don't have the Nachos. Was looking forward to them but for the price.....you get a bag of shop bought nachos with small amount of gucamole, salsa and cream and god only knows what he cheese was. It looked like it was poured out of a bottle and certainly didn't taste like anything normal.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5598 ]