Hanged Man's restaurant

Milltown, Newbridge, Kildare, Newbridge

View on Map

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

26 reviews
4 stars - based on 26 reviews
Enjoy your meal overlooking the Grand Canal and then rest for a while and soak up the ambience in their old style Country pub & Restaurant, complete with stone fireplace, black cauldrons and surrounded by scores of fairy lights and candles -- A Night to Remember.

OPENING HOURS

Mon5:00pm - 9:00pm
Tue5:00pm - 9:00pm
Wed5:00pm - 9:00pm
Thu5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sat5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sun12:00pm - 9:00pm

CAPACITY
60 people

CUISINES
European, Irish

FACILITIES

Wheelchair Accessible Will cater for children Full Bar, Beer, Wine, Spirits Parking available Accept major credit cards Coeliac options available Veggie options available Will accept party bookings Separate function room available Seafood available

Hanged Man's reviews

menu points Submit a review
Hanged Man's

gwhite39563980
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 19th August 2017 (visited 19 August 2017 )

Was in the hangedmans this evening food superb ,best in Kildare ,always feels like a special occassion

Hanged Man's

DeeGlee
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 02nd June 2017 (visited 1 June 2017 )

The manager of this restaurant is the rudest man I have ever met. I was very disappointed as I had heard good reviews, the food was nice but the manager humiliated my daughter by shouting at her to take her foot off a foot stool in the bar. When I took issue over his manner he shouted at me! Customers deserve to be treated with respect. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I work with the public and have never encountered such rudeness

Hanged Man's

aoifeodwyer
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2016 (visited 20 May 2016 )

Most beautiful setting and great service. The steak is super

Hanged Man's

ciarandonovan
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 11th July 2016 (visited 10 July 2016 )

Never being so appalled or embarrassed in all our lives, the way myself and my fiancée were dealt with is this establishment was atrocious to say the least. As we reside in Co. Kildare we decided yesterday afternoon to try “The Hangedmans” for some Sunday afternoon food, as we have never tried it before, so I called ahead to find out where they open for food and was it carvery or menu, to which the gentleman replied, yes of course we are open, and we are serving from the menu, so we arrived to a fairly empty carpark, parked the car and proceeded to the pub/restaurant, we walked in through the bar and seen a sign for “restaurant”, there was nobody front of house, so we presumed we could just take a seat at one of the many empty tables and wait to be served. What happened next is still boiling my blood tenfold Manager approaches us at our table, and says in a very rude manner, have you got reservations? To which I reply, we don’t, I didn’t think I needed one, we’ve not being here before, his reply was sorry we are fully booked, as surprised as I was at that giving there was 10 or more empty tables, My fiancée then asked if we could eat in the bar instead, (as we had seen passing through that customers were also eating in the bar) which again had plenty of empty seats, the reply from the manager was “the kitchen can’t cope with anymore orders” and were asked to leave This is an absolute disgusting way to treat your customers, and would love to know the real reason we were refused service from your establishment, because it was not because you were full, that was clearly not the case, I drove by your place again an hour later and your carpark was still half empty. Why was I not asked on the phone when I called you 20 mins before I arrived, had I a reservation? Why was I not told you were “TOO BUSY” on the phone Was it because I was wearing a football Jersey I wonder ? Did you not like the look of me perhaps? Was it because we did not wait to be seated? (which we were not aware we had too) I have never being so appalled in all my life at this level of ignorance by your manager, and I want to know to know the real reason I was refused service?

Hanged Man's

jod759195111809
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 10th December 2015 (visited 21 November 2015 )

" What can I say ?" To find Better Food at these prices and a Host that makes you feel that you are at home every time you arrive.... it WILL BE a long search. 5 Stars

Hanged Man's

sheena.orourke7428901205
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2015 (visited 20 December 2014 )

Every time i have eaten here it never dissapoints. The best restaurant in Co. Kildare. Pat keep doing what you are doing. Rathangan regular.

Hanged Man's

lisadonlon

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st April 2014 (visited 31 March 2014 )

Excellent meal. Service was great and extremely friendly. I found portion sizes to be spot on but we were prompted to ask for me if needed which to my mind is the best policy. Nothing worse than seeing half full plates of food go back to a kitchen! I will be back!

Hanged Man's

collector01
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2014 (visited 6 December 2013 )

Have eaten there four times and always felt it was overpriced but thought the food was pretty good. Last meal in Feb was OK but latest was very poor. Portion's very small with one serving of veg for four people and tiny!! portion of mash on plate. Truly sorry but will not visit again.

Hanged Man's

cakegirl
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2013 (visited 25 August 2013 )

Yet another fabulous meal, Prawns and Black Pudding to start followed by Monkfish and a fillet steak! Think I've said all than can be said about this place before..consistently good food! You cant argue with that! Definitely one of my favorite restaurants, already looking forward to my next meal!

Hanged Man's

cakegirl
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2013 (visited 26 March 2013 )

My boyfriend brought me here recently for my birthday..its been a while since we've been but do tend to go on special occasions...and it never disappoints. The flexi bird is just a brilliant idea...basically an early bird all night sun-thurs and until about 7 fri and saturday. I would have to say that the food is up there with some of the nicest restaurants in Dublin and its just secretly tucked away outside Milltown, Kildare. On this occasion to start we had king Prawns in Filo with Spinach and the Potato skins...both were amazing, if not just a little on the large side considering we still had mains to come. Fillet steak and Chicken Supreme...again nothing to fault here either..just amazingly good food. The one thing we always say is the lack of a dessert menu, although the trio is lovely,sometimes it would be nice to have a choice. No matter what day of the week or time you come here..there will always be someone else in the restaurant...in these recessionary times and in such a remote location, i think this is just a testament to the establishment and what how its customers rate it. Outside the flexi-bird the menu can be a tad on the expensive side....but if there is one thing that this restaurant has, its consistency...I've yet to have a meal that didn't live up to my expectations!

Hanged Man's

Lolly2012
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd January 2012 (visited 22 January 2012 )

Don't know how the Hanged Man's Inn claims to be a family friendly restaurant when it does not even have a highchair

Hanged Man's

biffoal
Laois
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th October 2011 (visited 24 September 2011 )

cant fault it food and service top class will return

Hanged Man's

jester279
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2011 (visited 17 August 2011 )

We went in here on twice and both times where simply great. Food, service and atmosphere is excellent. It is really good value for money as the portion sizes are really big. I had the regular burger which was really big and my girlfriend had the steak which was just tasty and well prepared. Presentation of the food is excellent. It won't break the bank either to have a nice meal here. Full Marks

Hanged Man's

folate
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 04th August 2011 (visited 1 August 2011 )

Last June after a successful dinner at the Hanged Man we promised to come back again and have another go at it. We brought two friends with us this time, and mostly our experience was again very positive. The ambience - friendly old-fashioned pub, top-class service, a friendly waiter who knew exactly what he was talking about and didn’t waffle, a nice atmospheric dining room – it all was most agreeable. The house red wine by the glass was delicious. The chowder, grilled cheese, crispy duck – all also delicious. Funnily, the only gripe was the same as last time. My wife’s steak had a lot of unchewable stuff in it, left at the end in a little pile on the side of her plate. She was the only one of the four of us not thoroughly enamoured with our meal. On our last visit, I had steak and it also was grisly. Bad luck? Or perhaps they should give a little attention to their steak supplier. I should mention that the value for money was outstanding. From Monday to Thursday there is an Early Bird all night. My two courses off the a la carte (chowder and duck), listed as costing €33, cost me just €25.

Hanged Man's

DarkSideOfTheMoon
Kildare
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th March 2011 (visited 27 March 2011 )

Arrived here, 15 minutes after the early bird finished, and TBH, the prices are a bit on the heavy side. BUT, the food was divine. I had the chowder for starters, and it was lovely - and LOTS of seafood in it - and all accompanied by their home made brown bread, which is divine. They made a pasta dish for our 4yo Daughter. I had the sirloin and the OH had the medallions. Both were cooked to perfection. On completion of our meals, I asked about where the brown bread could be bought, and was told, they are thinking about starting to sell it but then came back with a loaf wrapped up for, and no charge. Overall, the meal was simply delicious, and we will deffinatly be back.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.7629 ]