juju restaurant

The Johnstown Inn, Johnstown, Naas, Kildare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

23 reviews
4 stars - based on 23 reviews
juju

honest diner
Dublin
81 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2012 (visited 7 October 2012)

stopped off for sunday lunch. decent selection. service efficient. food was decent. had calamari and duck for starter and mains. calamari were ok. half duck obviously came apart in oven and smaller piece was overdone and larger piece was cooked better. came with nice smooth mash potato, roast veg and deleicious 5 spice style glaze. had meringue for dessert which was also ok. this is nice place and i will return. only real complaint was that staff at the bar were constantly make loud noise by banging cutlery around.

juju

miss.alocin
Meath
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th April 2012 (visited 11 February 2012)

dined here with my sister and friend today, we had a selection of dishes and shared everything.....salt and pepper calamari, portobello mushrooms, gambas pil pil, ale battered onion rings, fries and garlic bread. Everything was really delicious and service was prompt and friendly. We also had some of their excellent beers including the brooklyn local 1 which while very tasty is extremely strong, we wobbled home with our appetite for food and beer totally sadisfied.

juju

Toulouse
Kildare
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th August 2011 (visited 19 August 2011)

We called in here for a bite to eat on a Friday evening at 7pm. I'm not sure what I was expecting. I had previously recommended this place to my parents following some good reviews on here and they had a lovely meal. The restaurant section seems to be closed and so we ate in the bar as we were told it was the same menu. The menu is pretty short but there seems to be something for everyone. There's also an impressive array of beers to be sampled. We ordered our food and were given 2 small slices of red pepper bread between us to nibble on. To be honest they could have kept it, the bread was so underdone it was practically still dough. It was pretty much empty in the bar but started to get busier as we got our starters of Caeser Salad and Pork Ribs. The ribs weren't really ribs but thick slices of Pork Belly but tasty nonetheless. The BBQ sauce that went with them was dressed up Hoisin but again very tasty. My salad was a disaster. Large whole leaves of Romaine and slices of tough chicken made for difficult eating as it was served in a tiny bowl that made cutting anything impossible and most of it ended up on the table. I gave up after about 10 minutes but did say it to my waitress as she took my 3/4 full bowl away. The main courses of sirloin steak and fish and chips were much much better. The steak was perfectly cooked and was the fish and everything that came with them was delicious. When we went to pay the bill they'd knocked my salad off it which I thought was a nice touch. Friendly service and great mains were the highlights and we'll be back to try eating here again.

juju

upsheflew
Kildare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2011 (visited 4 April 2011)

I visited Juju for lunch with my girlfriend f. I had heard decent reviews about the place so I was looking forward to it. The restaurant was full but had a very quiet atmosphere. The menu was pretty basic although it was fairly cheap.I chose the chicken wings for starerst which were ok and then I had the lasange for mains. All I can say is that it was the worst lasange i've ever had. I would be amazed if it wasnt microwaved. There was little or no meat in it and the sauce was simply horrible. The chips were soggy and the garlic bread wasnt much better.

juju

smallgut
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2010 (visited 7 June 2010)

I was here with 4 friends yesterday. We were here after shopping. All of us were so hungery at that moment. So the first time we saw juju we went in. Food was good, I think I would say the same words even though I was not hungery. I ordered the Spring Rolls as starter, and Prawn Brochettes for main. And we shared two bottles of wine to go with the meal. And the service was also great, I will be back if I get the chance.

juju

nicolac7
Kildare
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2010 (visited 22 May 2010)

went to JuJu after seeing them on menupages, went with my fiance and parents. the decor was really tasteful and there was a quite relaxed atmosphere. the staff were polite and friendly. we were made aware of the impressive and great value offers when there were given out. We were given a complimentary pre starter while we were waiting which was not very long anyhow. all courses were delicious and the portions were a perfect size. w all got steak and pepper sauce which melted in the mouth and I got the hazelnut meringue with icecream for dessert which was light and tasty, it was actually the nicest dessert I have got out as they are usually so heavy after dinner. All 4 of us were very impressed with this new find and will definitely be back again! great food, service and value for money....

juju

heywood100
Kildare
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2010 (visited 15 April 2010)

I decided to bring our little team (8 people in total) out for dinner and chose Ju-Ju was is was the #2 restaurant in the Naas area pre munuepages.ie This is my review. *Food: 5 out of 5 *Service: 5 out of 5 *Value: 5.5 out of 5 *Atmosphere: 4.5 out of 5 *Overall: 5 out of 5 We all went for the €20 set menu for 3 courses. You can see the menu from their website. There was complimentary “Russian bread”. Yummie doughnut style stuff. Everyone in the party had a starter and the entire 8 plates were cleaned. Two of us wanted to swap starters and deserts. This was no problem to our professional, helpful, and not request was an issue waitress. All bar one of the party chose the 6 oz sirloin steak. While these sounded small they were anything but. I believe they were 8 or 9 oz and more then sufficient. The “fat chips” were sublime. The dauphines potatoes just as good. And lots of them. We all went for deserts and again every plate was cleaned. 2 “foodies” in the group said the Baked NY style cheese cake was the best ever eaten and a semi-professional confectioner in the party said the hazelnut meringue was “absolutely divine”. While we were there a bit early want there was not many others in the restaurant when I returned home I told my wife I have found a new favourite restaurant. This is a fantastic place. The best combination of food, value, service, and attitude I have ever seen, anywhere! I have eaten at all the Michilin star restaurants in Dublin, some abroad, and lots of other high-end / expensive places. Ju-Ju out shines then "pound for pound" by a country mile!!! Can’t wait to return. Bravo!

juju

beaker1977
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2010 (visited 15 January 2010)

Nice reasonably-priced restaurant with friendly and attentive staff. The food was very good but the portions are arguably too generous! Having said that, I'm looking forward to a return visit.

juju

leelaaloo
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st December 2009 (visited 19 December 2009)

from the other reviews sounds like I was in a different place. The restaurant is lovely but the food was a big letdown.had spring rolls to start and you'd get nicer frozen ones,actually one of us thought they were from aldi! sea bass that was on the men was not available so had sea bream instead which was basically fried and a bit of lettuce on the plate. The hollandaise sauce was like a lemon sauce.Thankfully it was on the side.One of us had steak and that was nice but no fillet steak available in a steakhouse?? the pepper sauce for that was full of whole peppercorns and again we couldn't eat that either. The dauphinoise potatoes were very dry with little or no creamy garlic sauce on them. The profiteroles were ok but again tesco own brand are nicer and the cheesecake was like a curd or something.lovely wine and lovely place but defo would not visit ever again.

juju

Ana Marie
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th November 2009 (visited 7 October 2009)

I was there just once so far,but I am extremely satisfied. Me and my husband love wines and waitress recommend us New Zealand Sauvingnon Blanc.It was the best choice and taste delicious with fish and prawns.That was gorgeus!!! Even, we live about 1h away we looking forward to come back. Atmosphere is great,stuff are so friendly,helpfull and know everything about served food,what is very important.

juju

Bandia Bia
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2009 (visited 24 November 2009)

It was my innaugeral visit and I was extremely impressed. The rib eye steak was cooked to perfection, the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The service was slightly over zealous with the waitress standing beside the table as we read the menu (on two separate occasions), the third time I had to specifically ask for 5 minutes! However, an extremely enjoyable experience, and looking forward to my next visit.

juju

Karen G
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2009 (visited 12 September 2009)

Wow!!! This restaurant is fantastic. the staff were so friendly and efficient. The food was excellent. we had Spring Rolls & Garlic mushrooms to start,both were excellent. we both had the Chicken and Salmon dish for main course which was fantastic. Everything was piping hot and obviously prepared with great passion. For dessert we had the hazelnut meringue,again excellent. We will definitely return. We actually thought we should pay more for the food & service received...

juju

janeywane
Kildare
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2009 (visited 29 August 2009)

We got to try this new Johnstown restraurantnt with my brother in law & his wife. the food was excellent -chef a bit too handy with the salt! the service was friendly helpful and interesting.. Starters were varied, excellent spring rolls,and soup , main dishes were also very good, lamb shank melt-in- the-mouth as was the steak, fish a bit 'ordinaire'. only the men managed a sweet, New York cheese cake which they pronounced very good. The coffee was the best i have had out for a long time. Not sure we go for the new shiny decor it lacks the homely olde worlde feel of the previous restraurant, But we will go again

juju

im starvin
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2009 (visited 10 August 2009)

I have been coming here for some time and love the atmosphere and what they have done with the place. The staff are always courteous and efficient and the food is always well cooked and very tasty. I will continue to bring my colleagues here as long as they dont change too much, if it aint broke, dont fix it!

juju

bremur
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd August 2009 (visited 8 July 2009)

it was a most enjoyable experience the food athmosphere and service were excellent.cant wait to go back

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5730 ]