Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel restaurant

Killashee, Naas, Kildare

View on Map

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


16 reviews
3 stars - based on 16 reviews

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

Submit a review
Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

striderswoe
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 16th June 2015 (visited 15 May 2015)

It has come on a good bit since we at here last (two years ago) but I was very satisfied with my fish and chips and my companions laksa was made well and true to form. Onwards and upwards for this place.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

MsFoodie
Kildare
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2013 (visited 10 November 2013)

Went here as a family, 2 adults, 3 children. Firstly, portions are far too small. Children's meals were a ridiculous price! For example, €6.50 for half a pizza! That was literally all the child got, half a pizza. No drink, no salad or fries or ice-cream. He was, not surprisingly, still hungry after eating it! There were 2 "vegetarian" options on the menu and both included parmesan cheese, which is one of the few non-vegetarian cheeses. Any chef would of course know this. Overall, food was bland, service was slow. Would not eat here again. Especially since we spent a fortune but still had to go home and cook after eating here!

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

MsFoodie
Kildare
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2013 (visited 10 November 2013)

Went here as a family, 2 adults, 3 children. Firstly, portions are far too small. Children's meals were a ridiculous price! For example, €6.50 for half a pizza! That was literally all the child got, half a pizza. No drink, no salad or fries or ice-cream. He was, not surprisingly, still hungry after eating it! There were 2 "vegetarian" options on the menu and both included parmesan cheese, which is one of the few non-vegetarian cheeses. Any chef would of course know this. Overall, food was bland, service was slow. Would not eat here again. Especially since we spent a fortune but still had to go home and cook after eating here!

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

Rwade
Kildare
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 19th March 2013 (visited 13 March 2013)

We had a wonderful lunch last Wednesday for my daughters confirmation. The little room off the bar was absolutely perfect for our group, as my sister in law was anxious about eating out with her toddlers. Our food was all excellent, and our service was perfect. We had such a lovely afternoon, everyone was so impressed. Especially thanks to John who didnt even flinch when we arrived with extra unexpected guests, even though the bar was packed at the time. We look forward to our next visit and wont hesitate to highly recommend Kilashee for our next event

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

paddy mac
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th December 2012 (visited 23 December 2012)

Went to the bar on arrival with my friend and ordered two drinks which arrived very quickly.. We asked for a food menu and also if we could have a different table when eating. The waitress was helpful and sought out a table which had two different chairs at different heights. We asked if one of the chairs could be changed and a young man arranged a replacement..we ordered food and it arrived and was placed on the table and the waiter said enjoy your meal.. One problem we had no cutlery the table had not even been setup..Cutlery soon arrived and the food was nearly cold but tasted flavoursome.The bar area was very busy but our plates were cleared by staff and after about twenty minutes a waiter appeared and ask if we would like dessert..APple pie was ordered and arrived and again no cutlery. Again we caught the eye of a staff member who got cutlery. Clearly there is a lack of management here, which is surprising in a four star establishment. We were told the manager was too busy at the time to talk to us about our complaint.. Previous visits here had been a pleasant experience, but I will avoid here if I can in the future.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

dinewithme
Kildare
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2010 (visited 4 August 2010)

We had our wedding rehersal in a local church and decided to book here for the bridal party and our parents (10 of us in total). We arrived and there was no table ready for us and they seemingly had no record of our booking, I booked it early in the afternoon on the same day. The waitress made a half assed attempt to try find somewhere to seat us and in the end we pulled tables together ourselves, all of which were dirty, considering the place was not busy we found this odd as there was plent of staff on. Overall the service was appalling from start to finish and for the first time in a long long time we didn't tip. We asked 3 times where was the wine we ordered on arrival. We were embarrased as we were paying for the meal for the group. The food wasn't too bad at all so their kitchen must be alot more efficient than their floor staff.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

Windaleen
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2010 (visited 22 June 2010)

I really like Jacks. I eat here quite regulary. I have to say I love the lunch time menu. Last time I visited I had the soup, the monkfish and the scones with cream and jam. All was deli Afternoon tea is a particular favorite of mine! yum! Unlike some of the other reviewers I actually like the mish-mash of designs used in Jacks Bar. Its quite fun and funky and the big oversized chairs are quite comfy. The only qualm I have is that the service could be slightly better. The staff are lovely but they can be quite slow (maybe the place is a bit understaffed?!?!)

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

nmjk22
Kildare
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 24th August 2010 (visited 21 August 2010)

We visited Jack's for lunch. When you walk in first you notice how dark the whole area is. The decor looks like its been thrown together from leftovers from previous hotels. A bit of day light might have been nice. The food was average. Nothing to rave about. We had the chicken curry which was bland as was the pasta. The pasta was suposed to have chicken but it was hard to find. It was also greasy for some reason. The service was quite slow even though it wasn't that busy. The waiters were polite and helpful once you got there attention but it didn't seem to be managed well. The food was a bit pricey for what you get. It seemed like we were paying for the lavish decor.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

Bluenose07
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2010 (visited 7 July 2010)

I'm a regular at Jacks bar & Dining for lunch. The place is magnificent from the minute you walk in for its uniqueness and warmth. Staff is very friendly and service fast. Great atmosphere and most importantly, food is lovely and trust me, you’ll be well full walking out of the place. Def worth a visit at least once and I guarantee you will be back.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

Sausagefest
Kildare
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2010 (visited 28 May 2010)

Jack's bar has a lovely atmosphere and lovely outside area which is a nice place to sit on a warm day. My work colleagues and I had a lunch deal of soup and a panini which was very tasty and proved to be a very filling combination. The bar was very busy at the time but this didn't affect our service.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

junniper
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2010 (visited 8 April 2010)

This is without doubt the worst meal I have ever eaten. We stayed here recently & our package included a 3-course meal, unfortunately! My sister had Caesar salad with Chicken & there was about 6 thick slices of chicken, it was main meal size & totally overwhelming as a starter. I had the Bruschetta & the bread was drizzled with oil but then the tomato & red onion (absolutely no garlic) was sitting in a pool of oil on the side of the plate & garnished with a big bunch of rocket. For mains we both ordered fillet steak. Now I will say the meat looked gorgeous, well cooked & tender but it smelled & tasted sour. Neither of us could eat it. The waiter agreed he could get a sour smell but when he came back from the kitchen, unsurprisingly, the chef said there was nothing wrong with either of the fillets! We got pasta dishes instead. Both pastas were completely overcooked & flat. There was supposed to be chicken in my dish, but obviously the chef had used up all the chicken in the caesar salad! Both pasta dishes were bland & garnished with another big bunch of rocket & no parmasen. Lemon Meringue pie was was soso & served with ice-cream! I had profiteroles which were supposed to be religieuse or vice versa, the menu wasn't clear what exactly they were supposed to be. Either way they were awful. The smaller profiterole was fine but the larger one was overcooked & dry, the cream was overbeaten & lumpy. It was served with a small amount of chocolate sauce in a ramekin & again, with ice-cream. The waiter we had was very nice but not on the ball. I had mentioned I would order a bottle of wine after a cocktail & he never came back despite looking at the empty cocktail glass. Even when I did get the wine list from him, he still didn't come back to take the order. When he did serve us he was charming. Needless to say we do not recommend the restaurant & will never be back.

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

suzannec
Kildare
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2010 (visited 3 March 2010)

Have been to Jack's three times now and it's a really pleasant place to dine in. Really nice toasties,coffees, and yummy scones! The surroundings are beautiful and the interior is so tastefully designed! Staff are most acomodating and friendly. Excellent value too, I will be back for more...

Jacks Bar & Dining Area @ Killashee House Hotel

yumi3
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th March 2010 (visited 28 March 2010)

I had Sunday lunch here yesterday and it was fantastic! I had the chicken supreme and it was beautiful. The rest of the table had a club sandwich, fish and chips, thai green curry and duck, all plates were clena at teh end! Really nice food. Deserts were gorgeous especially the crepes. Service fast and organised eventhough the place was packed! Will definately return!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4874 ]