Half Door Restaurant

John Street, Dingle, Dingle, Kerry

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

8 reviews
4 stars - based on 8 reviews

Half Door Restaurant

Submit a review
Half Door Restaurant

kevinpaulcross54524695
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 23rd May 2017 (visited 23 May 2016)

Absolutely fantastic fish restaurant, I've dined here a number of times, I always have the crab to start and lobster as main course, sticky toffee pudding for dessert, amazing amazing food, the best of any restaurant I've eaten at home or abroad, put this restaurant on your bucket list as one of the places to visit before you die, it's HEAVEN...

Half Door Restaurant

mannrachain
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 01st March 2016 (visited 19 February 2016)

The Half Door Restaurant came highly recommended to us so my husband and I decided to dine there We were seated right inside the door so that every time the door opened we were nearly blown away Every person that entered or left the restaurant passed too close to our table The maître di / owner spent the entire time we were there speaking to the diners at one particular table The conversation was loud and if you're going there for a romantic meal forget it The food was good but I expected the experience to be better The seating is too close

Half Door Restaurant

NicolaT
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2011 (visited 17 September 2011)

This may be one of the most expensive restaurants in Dingle but goodness it was worth it. They do have a set 3 course menu for €40 however I went for the a la carte (mains range between €26 - €35) and I'm glad I did, there was no way I could have eaten more. I ordered the baked fillet of plaice, lovely large portion of fish, cooked beautifully, while my dining partner ordered a different fish fillet special with basil pesto - similarly praised. Desserts were ordered and consumed and I was assured that this was the best chocolate brownie my partner had ever tasted. One of the best meals I have had in a restaurant in Ireland. The service was excellent, our main waiter was charming and was always keeping out an eye to make sure we had what we needed. The only criticism I would have is that it's quite a small restaurant so the tables are close together. It was fine the night I was there and the design of the place means that you don't particularly feel intruded on however, I could imagine that if there was even a somewhat loud table in the same room (there are two rooms) as you it would be very distracting.

Half Door Restaurant

yummy2010
Cork
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2011 (visited 5 March 2011)

Fabulous Food in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Ate here on Saturday night as a party of 3 people. The place was buzzing. We availed of the 3 course set menu for €40 which was excellent value for the quality of the food we received. The crab gratin was delicious. The wine list is extensive but we still managed to find a nice white for €20. Its obvious that the owners are on site as the attention to detail is excellent. I especially loved the little tapa we received when we first arrived to eat whilst perusing the menus. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Half Door Restaurant

mcginncf
Wicklow
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2009 (visited 25 July 2009)

This restaurant is a mark-up on most in Dingle and is well deserved. The preparation and varied range of excellent seafood dishes are to die for. This is premium quality, as is their vintage wine-cellar; you must know your wines before selecting from a range that costs anything from €50 to €300 a bottle. Alternatively, there is regular wine list in the €20/€30 bracket which could accompany the set dinner menu at €40. Then there is the a-la-carte selection all of which, from what we saw coming from the kitchen were fabulous looking meals, particularly the lobster & crab thermidor dishes. There’s also a near full-bar too, with pints of lager and bottled beers available. It’s an old building, still retaining the original panelled wood ceilings which all seems well able to absorb the noise levels affording privacy at your table, in what is quite a squash to get a full house seated. But perhaps the toilets were suffering from lack of a modern upgrade though; there was a definite blockage somewhere but thank goodness not a niff present in the dining areas. My wife had the seafood chowder which was full of lovely lumps of various fish pieces in a pinkish sauce while I had the confit of duck in rhubarb & ginger, but I couldn’t detect the ginger bit. For mains, she had the blackened fillet of salmon couscous and I the char grilled Angus fillet with red wine sauce, the sauce coming in a little pot for dipping the fillet pieces, an absolute heaven of beef excellence. We shared a chocolate dessert. At this stage, we knew we were in a special place which only cost with wine about €120. It’s called the Half Door and you’re in for treat.

Half Door Restaurant

COUNTRYMAN
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2009 (visited 2 April 2009)

did not like my seafood platter poor and very much overpriced ,my wifes rack of lamb arrived out cut into chops this is not a rack , and the tables are practically on top of each other poor if you are wanting a romantic night out ..................

Half Door Restaurant

countrygurl
Cork
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2009 (visited 1 January 2009)

This is a great seafood restaurant with a fabulously unstuffy atmosphere. I have eaten here several times and it has always been really good. The blackened salmon and seafood platter are devine. The service can be a little slow when busy but is very friendly. It can be a bit expensive but the quality is very good. The early bird menu is great value.

Half Door Restaurant

deenikar
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2009 (visited 13 March 2009)

amazing seafood, get the seafood platter (you need to order it in advance). best seafood restaurant ever!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4684 ]