Ashe's Bar restaurant

Main Street, Dingle, Kerry

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€€

20 reviews
4 stars - based on 20 reviews

Ashe's Bar

Submit a review
Ashe's Bar

aronaele
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2012 (visited 3 June 2012)

Enjoyed first night so much we returned the following evening for dinner as well! Great food and lovely atmosphere - loved the old back room, like the old parlour in every house years ago! Fish chowder to die for! Very friendly staff, thanks Siobhan! Great value and would highly recommend this pub/restaurant - we'll be back!

Ashe's Bar

jb37
Dublin
55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th March 2012 (visited 17 February 2012)

Not the best looking interior but nice food. I had the pollock and it was really good. Cooked very well. Dessert was average. the atmosphere is ok and staff are fine. Overall I would recommend on the basis of the lovely main course I had.

Ashe's Bar

LuckyMe63
Meath
63 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2011 (visited 14 September 2011)

Although officially a pub, this is more of a restaurant. There are several menu options including set menu and a la carte. Food was good, portions sizes average. Only complaint was the bread we were given was stale and when we mentioned it were told I was baked that morning. Overall average rating

Ashe's Bar

tincan
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2011 (visited 19 March 2011)

Stopped off in Dingle on a tour of the peninsula and fancied seafood for lunch. Checked a number of menus and fancied Ashes because other menus were offering mussels in curry sauce etc. The mussels we ordered came with plenty of brown bread and butter and there were plenty of mussels too. They were cooked in a wine and cream sauce/soup and were really tasty. Service was spot on and the price was about what 'd expect to pay anywhere. We finished off with really good coffees and headed back out in the rain

Ashe's Bar

CaitrionaW
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th June 2010 (visited 25 June 2010)

I've eaten here a few times and I would agree that their chowder is really good. Your best bet here is to eat from the early bird menu which is very good value. The beef and guinness stew is very filling. The brown bread is noteworthy.

Ashe's Bar

Sproket
Wicklow
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2010 (visited 11 June 2010)

I was here on Friday night, late enough there was not a huge crowd in the resturant but the layout is such that it did not matter as it is made up of different rooms. I had the scollops to start which were excellent, I had them with the garlic and herb butter from the main course which did not present a problem for the staff to do which is always a good sign. For my main couse I had lamb shank and this was also excellent. My boyfriend had chowder which he was very happy with - after the weekend it was the best chowder and he had in Dingle. His main was the steak which was cooked perfectly. It was expensive overall, resturants in Dingle do not seem to be offering the good value available in other parts of the country and this resturant was no exceptino to that saying this the food was excellent as was the wine. From a weekend stay in Dingle this was the best of 3 night dining out.

Ashe's Bar

soonas
Kildare
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2010 (visited 2 January 2010)

This was our second visit to the restaurant. It has the cosy athmosphere of a typical old-style Dingle pub. It specialises in local produce and the superb ingredients were imaginatively and perfectly cooked. The a la carte is not cheap but is good value given the qulaity of ingredients. There is good value to be had on the early bird menu. Booking ahead is recommended

Ashe's Bar

aoife57
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2010 (visited 30 December 2009)

Amazing food here. We were not sure if it was a pub or restaurant but we went in and were delighted. I had pollock in tempura batter and it was so good. He had salmon in tarragon cream sauce and it was incredible. The chips are so good too. It wasn't cheap but we really enjoyed it!

Ashe's Bar

tykerb
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2010 (visited 1 January 2010)

New Years day feast. Six of us landed into Ashes on New Years day; expecting much, due to the great reviews. We ordered off the very reasonable set menu (2 course for €21). The atmosphere was a bit mired by ropey choice of guitar music in the background, but a request to change the music was welcomed by the knowing smile of the waitress! Service was fine; reasuringly slow, so that the food was definitely freshly prepared, and well worth waiting for. Mussels were devine, but non-fish choices were not up to the same standard, but not bad either. Wine selection was pleasingly varied and value orientated. Overall, a pleasant food experience in an unfussy location.

Ashe's Bar

linoge

7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2009 (visited 24 April 2009)

ashes bar lookes like the livingroom of your granny in the 70's, quit cosy and welcoming. service was very slow to start with , my husband and i had no expectations and no clue of what was to come. Oh my god what a fantastic food. cooked so well, portions so generous, food so fresh. we were stunned and happy. We are dubliners and and forgot what acutal GOOD service generousity and quality taste like. Now we know. If we are in Kerry again we will definitly go back to ashes.

Ashe's Bar

dubcritic
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2009 (visited 9 May 2009)

This restaurant has a warm cosy atmosphere, and the food was exceptional. The starters were both delicious - with the Prawns in particular being delicious. We had the fish and chips (which I thought seemed a waste when ordering - but turned out to be the best fish and chips I've ever eaten) and Beef and Guinness stew for main course - and again the stew was mind-blowing. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Dingle

Ashe's Bar

BillyBowser
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 6 March 2009)

fish and chip were to die for ... A1

Ashe's Bar

Ouija Board
Wicklow
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2009 (visited 23 February 2009)

On our tour around the Dingle peninsula Ashes looked like the place to have lunch and we were so right. Very decent fish, fresh and cooked to my liking. Quick service but possibly could something be done to the furniture's. Well worth a visit.

Ashe's Bar

mull
Cork
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2009 (visited 10 April 2009)

first port of call in dingle,it was highly recomended by the hotel,and we were not dissapointed,although the restaurant looks a bit old fashioned,the food is not,some of the best seafood we've had in a while,the chowder was the amazing and the squid salad was cooked to perfection,i had slow braised lamb,which fell apart and tasted beautiful,my wife had the scallops with bacon and she tought it was so fresh,we had chocolate brownie for desert,i can still taste it,the service was very friendly and its great value for money i will return soon

Ashe's Bar

COUNTRYMAN
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2009 (visited 4 April 2009)

IF YOU LIKE SEAFOOD DONT BOTHER COMING HERE ,me and my wife were very disappointed with the seafood chowder she thinks it was seafood, anyway ,atmosphere a few wannabie yupees but overall we did not enjoy our meal , disappointed with the waitress we had to ask for our bill 4 times and she wasnt even busy !!!!

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6317 ]