O'Neills The Point restaurant

Renard Point, Caherciveen, Kerry

View on Map

Cuisine:

Price Range:

€€

8 reviews
5 stars - based on 8 reviews

O'Neills The Point

Submit a review
O'Neills The Point

Worldtraveller
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th August 2015 (visited 31 July 2015)

We ate here after a long drive from Dublin the Friday of the August bank holiday weekend, as we knew the place doesn't normally take bookings and we weren't sure what time we'd arrive. We were lucky to arrive during a lull, as apparently it had been hectic earlier in the evening, but people were then heading into Cahersiveen for the music festival. We therefore managed to get a table after only about 10 minutes and had a drink while looking over the menu while waiting. The menu is all seafood, but with plenty of choice. Nothing fancy but good, well cooked food and plenty of it. Pity there were no dessert options but maybe that was just as well! Service was friendly and efficient and the welcome was warm.

O'Neills The Point

milly3333
Cork
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2014 (visited 4 June 2014)

Great little Gem to visit. Service did get a little forgotten about once the place got busy but then we didn't need anything. Seafood was lovely and fresh not much done to it as it should be. Lovely atmosphere to the pub/restaurant would have loved to stay, will defiantly go back

O'Neills The Point

VagabondSue
Kerry
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th June 2014 (visited 31 May 2014)

This is a fantastic restaurant for seafood. I loved my meal, I loved meeting the other happy people at other tables, and I loved the owners. I felt the pricing was out of line for what we got. The salmon was wonderful - but it's farm raised and expensive. The serving size is not what it used to be - It's easy to see photos on sites like Instagram and the like. The guys nearbye had the lobster and they raved about it. I heard them splitting up their bill (lots of pints) and there dinner was 60 euros each. That's high in my book. I would recommend it for a special night but was hoping it would be my regular seafood spot. It's a bit dear for that.

O'Neills The Point

islandlil
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2011 (visited 30 December 2010)

I have eaten here many a time and I always love it. It offers great fresh fish at a fair price and simply but lovingly cooked. Most mains are under €25. I usually get the hot and cold selection which includes spuds, salad, fresh lightly battered squid, pan fried hake, prawns, crab meat and some smoked salmon and usually some smoked mackeral or fresh salmon too-divinee! The place is usually v busy as the locals favour it too so be prepared to wait when you arrive as you can't book ahead-so don't arrive starving and be ready to have a drink at the bar though if you arrive just before 6 it can be quicker. They don't take credit or laser cards so prepare for this too! It's def worth a visit if you are in south kerry.

O'Neills The Point

BlueFinnTuna
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th December 2010 (visited 2 October 2010)

Best fish in Ireland. My parents are from Kerry and I love nothing more than dinner in the Point. The fish is amazing, so fresh and tasty. Never in all my time have I gotten a bad meal and I enjoy nothing more than bringing friends down to show them how fish should be cooked. Simple hearty food. A lovely cosy family run restaurant.

O'Neills The Point

Gizziegoo
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2010 (visited 17 August 2010)

This is an unexpected gem of a pub/restaurant that looks out onto Renard point bay. The atmosphere is cosy and friendly and it's well known to the locals so you need to get there on the dot of 6pm in the evening or you'll have to wait for a table. My parents are from Kerry and every time we come to visit we insist on eating here. The service is fast and friendly, it has to be becuase they are usually very busy. I have never been dissappointed with the food - the fish is always unbelievably fresh, having been caught that morning and brought into the pier about ten yards away from the pub. I always have the same thing, crab claws in a rosemary and chilli flavoured oil to start and then the hot fish platter, which is made up of hot smoked salmon, calimari, hake, and a smoked salmon mousse. My partner has the calimari and the battered hake. The main courses are around €20 but the portion sizes are huge and don't forget to get an Irish coffee to round off the meal - if its a nice day you can take the coffee's outside and look out over the bay while you're drinking them. Pure Pleasure!

O'Neills The Point

Emmetontour
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 24th September 2009 (visited 22 September 2009)

A fantastic location with a really cosy feel. We got a lovely seat by the window and were able to watch the lights twinkling in the distance. The crab claws pil-pil, either for starter or main course are fabulous. You have to try them. We also had the lightly battered hake, which was delicious. Pint of Guinness €3.90 which is reasonable and a decent half bottle of Marc. de Caceras for under a tenner. The food is very good but about 10% overpriced. Starters for a tenner and mains for mid twenties are prices from the halcyon days of the Tiger! Service was very friendly and helpful but slow. Revisit? Definetely. Recommend? Absolutely.

O'Neills The Point

travel
Wexford
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2009 (visited 25 July 2009)

Visited O'Neills on Saturday 25th July. Called in at about 6pm to see what was on offer, lovely cosy pub, menu looked good, so we said we would return at 8pm for dinner. Despite the downpour of rain and the location of this pub we arrived to find the place packed, we met our hostess and asked for a table quiet understanding we would have a wait for a while, we got a seat at the counter, had a drink while we waited. The hostess organises the tables and takes the orders, she then has a number of waitresses who bring the food and see to any other requests you might have. Very efficient service, the food was excellent. We will defiantly be back. Later we spoke to the cook, this couple run an excellent business, No reservations taken, but everyone that comes in for food will get fed.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4491 ]