Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

2A Princess Street, Tralee, Tralee, Kerry

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:

€€

19 reviews
3 stars - based on 19 reviews

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

Submit a review
Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

dyml22
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2015 (visited 17 August 2015)

Went here with my husband for a nice dinner while we had a night off from the kids. There were a few tables in the restaurant, I'd say about half full and the atmosphere was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They offer an excellent early bird menu although we ate Al LA carte. I had brie to start which was delicious. Hubby had the bruscetta which was tasty and a good size. I had sirloin steak then which was cooked perfectly and came with mash and mushrooms and then chips on the side. My only issue here was that the mash wasn't mentioned on the menu. I would have got salad instead of chips if I'd know there was mash! He got salmon tagliatelle which was delicious. We were too full for dessert. We had a bottle of wine plus an extra two glasses. All in for € 80. I'd been here a few years previously and was unimpressed which is why it took me so long to go back but after that feed I'll definitely be returning soon!

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

wiggles
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2015 (visited 10 July 2015)

Great options for coeliacs. We had an early bird meal so I had the minestrone for starters and then the aubergine lasagne with a glass of red wine for about 15euro which was very good value for what we got. The lasagne was very salty, which I quite liked but might be a bit too much for other diners. The staff were very friendly and authentically Italian.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

fayediggins
Kerry
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2014 (visited 4 January 2014)

Fabulous atmosphere very child friendly and delicious food

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

duncanbutlerowski37346116
Galway
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2014 (visited 3 February 2014)

We were passing through Tralee, had a few days off, saw this restaurant. Had lunch, we shared a pesto-pizza, some salad, chips and rounded it off with some tiramisu (my girlfriend usually doesn't like tiramisu but loved this one!) and chocolate fudge. The food was gorgeous, the pizza base was quality, decent portions, clearly homemade. Staff were very pleasant, everything very clean. Would highly recommend and this even gives us a good excuse to revisit Tralee soon.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

Laura1996
Kerry
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2013 (visited 6 January 2013)

service was slow but food was good. glad to say that they had a good selection of food (pastas mainly though) and the atmosphere was good with beautiful scenery ie. candles and music. tables are a bit cramped but that's depending on how many people are there and altogether it was alright but nothing to write home about

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

AuntyC
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2012 (visited 18 February 2012)

Service was appauling, no napkins or spoons on the table, timing was terrible we were left waiting 40mins for starters, no basket of bread while waiting either. Staff never came back to ask if everything was ok after recieving our mains, when we sent a below standard dish back to the kitchen we were confronted by staff member about why we didn't eat it and told that basically we were mad because the food was according to them "excillent" most unprofessional attitude when dealing with complaints and very expensive. we will most certainly not be returning.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

fudon
Kerry
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2011 (visited 29 October 2011)

Had a meal here on over the bank holiday weekend and the place was buzzing. We ate from the early bird menu which was great value . I had italian sausage as my starter and my partner had a cheese salad . Both were nice . Mains were Aubergine lasagne for me and a chicken risotto for the boss . Both of these were excellent in both taste and quantity .We finished with a coffee and an expresso which were not charged for due to a slight delay in service. As there were only two waitresses working service slowed up during the night eand by the time we left was really slow . Good tasty food but really great value .

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

Bikedo
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2010 (visited 23 October 2010)

A lovely little restuarant to get a decent bowl of pasta & a glass of wine. Efficient service.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

padzo
Louth
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2010 (visited 6 August 2010)

We choose Il Pomo Doro on a whim while in Tralee for a weekend and grabbed the only table left on what was a busy Friday night. The place was full of a mixture of family diners and a party. The intial impression wasn't great from the table mats which were falling apart but the waitress was friendly and seated us quickly. The food itself was really good, with plenty of it. I had a Spagetti Bolognese which I would have liked to be a little bit more flavoursome but my partner's tortellini was excellent. The bill was reasonable too and overall it was a nice experience and well recommended.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

mollyl
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

The menu advertised here is slightly different to what I ordered from. Visited here during a weekend away. Were very lucky to get the last table in the place as it was packed. Despite this the service was great and the food was very very good. This is only the second Italian in Ireland I have eaten in that serves authentic food that doesn't taste like its come out of a microwave. Could definitely understand why the place was so packed.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

athenaireland
Kerry
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th September 2009 (visited 20 July 2009)

i was sorely disappointed when my partner and i came here for dinner. his starter of scrambled eggs and prawns was burnt and tasted bland. for my main i ordered a rare sirlion and what i got was closer to frying steak with excess fat on it. what i will say is that the meat was cooked as i asked, but it was a far cry from the sirloin the menu promised. my partner ordered the pork medallions with a honey and mustard sauce, which was unedible. the sauce would have been better suited to pancakes it was that sweet, with no hint of mustard anywhere. overall, everything was substandard and certainly not what i call value for money.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

daveyk
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th June 2009 (visited 30 May 2009)

I was pleasenty surprised on my first visit to this restaurant. I had heard mixed reviews. I walked in off the street on a saturday night and worringly enough the place was half empty. However, we were hungry. The starters here are large. We shared bruschetta and it was tasty. The other starters i saw on other tables were also big enough to share which improves the value of the restaruant. The deep fried brie looked like a brick but was devoured by the lady at the table nearby despite its size. My girlfriend had a vegetarion pasta option and enjoyed it. I had Chicken in white wine cream sauce with fetuccine. The problem was there was no sauce that could be seen or tasted and this was a serious letdown as it was without flavour. We also chose a great bottle of wine from the Alba region in Italy which was also great value for the quality. All in all a decent italian. Service is good but the restaurant lacks in atmosphere. It will not win awards but due to the lack of quality alternatives in the town i would be happy to return here.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

Sarah27

17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2009 (visited 13 May 2009)

There is only one word for this restaurant - Awful, the food and service are terrible. I ordered a pasta dish with Pesto and there was no pesto in it. Out of 4 dishes one main course was eatable the rest we left, We did say this to the waitress and were told that as the manager was not there she could not give us a discount off the bill!!!!! I will not be returning to this restaurant.

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

Nosus
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd April 2009 (visited 21 January 2009)

I have eaten in this restaurant quite often. It can be a little hit and miss but generally, you pay for what you get! It is not too expensive and the quality of the food is quite good. I normally go for the Caesar salad and the Carbonara with fettucini! The odd time, I have enjoyed the risotto which is very good! They used to have the most gorgeous desert made from mascarpone with mixed bery compote, which was just gorgeous. Unfortunately this has not been on the menu on my last number of occasions there. Service is usually very good and especially so, when the owners are working there to keep an eye on everything!

Il Pomo Doro Restaurant

BillyBowser
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 16 April 2009)

Doesn’t what it says on the tin... Three things (i)There’s a miscommunication between the person who wrote the menu and the kitchen (the brother Grim wrote the menu, they should be done for trade descriptions act) (ii) the A big miscommunication between the waiting staff and the kitchen, ( they got our order so wrong, I was waiting for over half a hour for my correct order, I asked straight from the menu nothing changes and I got a child portion with no chicken !!). (iii) The food was very bland, and no offer to make amends for long wait, first ever I never left a tip in a restaurant. Don’t go, if don’t want to stress or disappointed.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4694 ]