Prego restaurant

18 Henry Street, Kenmare, Kerry

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:

€€

9 reviews
4 stars - based on 9 reviews
Prego

davidmc5585
Dublin
74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2011 (visited 12 September 2011)

I had dinner here on Monday night. It was quite busy. Very cosy restaurant and a bit dark but nice. To start I ahd bruschetta which was delicious as was my main,I had spaghetti with mussels. It was very good. The spaghetti was in a very creamy white wine sauce and there were plenty of mussels. Wine is good value too.

Prego

davsmart
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2011 (visited 1 August 2011)

This has to be one of the best Italian restaurants that I've had the pleasure of eating in. The staff were lovely and very efficient. The food was second to none, I had meatballs that were a taste of Italy. My son had a proper calzone pizza and it was amazing, stuffed with a mixture of tasty meats. They offer a takeaway pizza service too and there was a constant flow for people queueing for this, obviously a good sign too. The only negative thing and it's quite a small thing is that the place is tiny and the people waiting for takeaway and those waiting to be seated are very close to those who are eating. In fairness this really only affects the people at the two tables inside the door and we were at one of these. Well done nevertheless Prego.

Prego

Fodderfiend
Cork
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2011 (visited 2 July 2011)

Having been to Prego before about a year ago and having raved about it to friends we were very disappointed to find it had disimproved so much. Staff were busy and it was neigh on impossible to get their attention - managed to get water refill when finished meal as forgot to bring to tale with meal. Pizza base was so thin it could have been a wrap and the place, whilst remodelled since last visit was cramped and dark rather than atmospheric. They were extremely busy but taking time to greet and check with diners if they had got their order is a minimum expectation. Many other great restaurants in Kenmare offering reasonable early deals – much better option for the money.

Prego

Macrel2904
Cork
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2011 (visited 12 February 2011)

This is very casual dining. We were a group of 7 adults & 2 toddlers. This suited perfect for an early evening meal. Staff could not have been more helpful. Great selection of pizza especially & very good value. You will be spoiled fo choice. Tables were a little too close together. I would definitely make a return visit.

Prego

babyg1
Kerry
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2010 (visited 22 October 2010)

The food here is very traditional. I had the ravioli for starters and the spicy sausage risotto for the main. Both of these dishes were delicious and the portions were huge, i couldn't finish the risotto. The inside of the restaurant was very dark and a bit cramped. The staff were extremely pleasant throughout the night and the prices are very reasonable. I will return some night in the near future.

Prego

alottafood
Louth
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

A group of us ate here on a busy Saturday night. The restaurant had a small number of large bookings but things still moved very smoothly. The food was top class, Calzone pizza for main was excellent. Also tasted the rositto and carbonara, again but excellent, The tiramsu for dessert was amongst the best I've ever tried (have tried a lot). The restaurant does lack a bit of atmopshere, can't put my finger on why but it seemed a bit dead. The staff are nice and very efficient, but lack a bit of personality. Nothing wrong, but missing that something extra. Very good value for money and overall would highly recommend this restaurant

Prego

cathymomo
Cork
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 04th January 2010 (visited 3 January 2010)

A group of us spent New Years in Kenmare. We went to Pregos yesterday morning for a full Irish Breakfast. All came up under €10, and was delicious. Each plate had 2 sausages, 2 rashers, half a tomato, little mushrooms, a fired egg, and endless amounts of toast tea and coffee. Atmosphere was lovely and the service was top notch. Was here last year also for a group meal, and from what I recall, that was delicious too.

Prego

sky00
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2009 (visited 1 August 2009)

We had reserved and waited to be seated. There seemed to be confusion about who would seat us and the girl doing so seemed busy and so she sat people who arrived after us before us.. we were seated then and orders were swiftly taken. Starters were very tasty as were the mains (lasagne)- very filling and good size portion. Reasonable price and good food. Service could improve though. Will be back though.

Prego

Silver Fox
Waterford
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th June 2009 (visited 2 June 2009)

Don't bother. We brought in our 2 kids for an early dinner whilst on hols in kenmare. I had the risotto with " spicy sausage " which was awful, and clearly par-cooked, as it was served less than 10 minuites after ordering. Arborio risotto rice takes a minimum of 18 minuites to cook... My wife's pasta dish obviously got the same treatment, and was utterly bland. Even the kids turned their noses up at their dinner - remarkable! Our white wine was way to warm, although the waitress in her favour, offered to keep it in the fridge. Really very poor, and a real pity, as the location is great, and there is a terrific garden area to the rear that is going to ruin, but under the right management could clean up in the summer months.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4484 ]