Lohans restaurant

232-234 Salthill Upper, Salthill, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

24 reviews
4 stars - based on 24 reviews
Lohans

kiki10
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th October 2013 (visited 17 September 2013)

The service was what really made this place. It has a great homily atmosphere and the waitresses were so lovely, food let it down though, got the Caesar salad and it was swimming in dressing.

Lohans

ohmary
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2011 (visited 14 November 2011)

Very disappointing meal. Ordered the vegetable soup. I got cream of veg soup. I am a bit health conscience so i didnt eat it.Got charged for it anyway. The prawns and chicken skewers where clearly frozen then stuck under a grill. Onion rings were just pure greese. All around not good food or dining experience.

Lohans

Missy1986
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2011 (visited 15 July 2011)

I visited Lohans with my little sister and my aunt last week. My aunt and I thought ours was ok but unfortunatey my 8 year old sister didn't enjoy her chicken goujons and chips from the kids menu. They brought her a colouring page however which kept her quiet! I had bbq ribs which were nice, my aunt had the special which was salmon and was also nice. However, when we arrived first and ordered drinks, it took the staff around 15-20 minutes to bring us back our drinks! The restaurant was busy but definitely not packed, so I don't understand this. At the end of our meal I ordered a second drink instead of a coffee and this also took 15-20mins to come. The staff were nice but this was much too slow. Nice decor, nice views, nice pub grub, but unfortunately the service was just a bit too slow!!!

Lohans

piggeen
Galway
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th November 2010 (visited 15 October 2010)

I love going to Lohan's. I go there a fair bit and when I do I always leave talking about the service. They are very friendly and accommodating. The last time I was there they had an offer that you could get a bottle of wine from the off-licence and drink it in the restaurant and there was no charge for corkage. We got a really nice red that was recommended to us by the guy who worked there. The food is generally tasty. It is better than pub grub and not very fancy, what you might get at home! I had a vegetable shepherd's pie and my boyfriend had a steak. The pie was very tasty. We didn't get any dessert but I have had it there before and it's been lovely. I also joined their loyalty club and have received e-mails telling of upcoming events.My friend and I are thinking of having a small xmas party there! I will def go back again!

Lohans

lucy28
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2010 (visited 9 March 2010)

This place used to be lovely when it first opened but it has really gone down hill over time. The soup is very bland and the price has been increased. The main courses are quite expensive for lunch time all around €15. There is not much options for sandwiches and the baps are really overpriced and not even served with a side salad or coleslaw (which they used to be) but corners have been cut everywhere. The staff are not that friendly and will not go out of their way for you, they see customers as extra work so this is one of the reasons I have stopped going here because there are plenty other restaurants out there who are more attentive to paying customers!

Lohans

birchy
Westmeath
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2010 (visited 2 May 2010)

Ate breakfast here on the sunday morning. Was okay but plates cold. Was charged 6 euro for plain pancake for 2 year old, thought this was a bit expensive. Waitress was very nice.

Lohans

lennemcg
Dublin
77 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 01st February 2010 (visited 31 January 2010)

Went here for brunch while on a weekend away, the place was lively but i fwlt there wasn't much on the menu for a quick snack or late breakfast.... but only had main meals but they did look tasty if thats what you were looking for!!! had soup an brown bread was average. Would probably go again if we were wanting a bigger meal!!!

Lohans

TM
Cavan
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2010 (visited 3 January 2010)

I’ve been to Lohans a few times, normally on a Sunday whenever I’m in Salthill. Everytime I go I’ve been greeted by one of the bubbliest waitresses. The times I’ve been there, I’ve always been lucky to get a high table and the waitress drops down freshly made brown bread. It’s hard not to eat it all before ordering. I’m particularly fond of the fish cakes, I’ve had mussels, steak, fish and chip, apple tart & ice-cream! There’s something particularly homely about it and you don’t feel like you’re missing out on mum’s Sunday cooking!!

Lohans

Badger2009
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2010 (visited 10 October 2009)

Nice place for brunch on a Saturday morning. Service can be poor but food is very nice particularly if you're not in a hurry!

Lohans

ThereseW
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2010 (visited 3 January 2010)

This place is like a home from home. We went there early in the new year and the relaxed welcome we got just made it. Food was delicious, we were a table of eight including kids and everyone cleaned the plate, the fish dishes were amazing especially the sea bass. The guy in the off licence really knows his wines and he picked out a wine for us, it made the meal. Waitress was a sweetheart as well. Definately be back.

Lohans

fingerfoodie
Galway
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2009 (visited 25 October 2009)

Used to eat here quite regularly but stopped going due to the rude service. The food is fine but you don't pay your hard earned cash for ignorant and rude staff to treat you with absolutely no respect. On the plus side, they were doing a fillet steak with all the trimmings for €15.95. Make sure to tell the staff how you'd like your steak cooked as they won't ask. All the trimming I assumed to mean chips, onions and mushrooms. In fact it's mash, carrots and parsnips. The steak was cooked well but was a lone bright spot in an otherwise terrible meal. P.S. Don't ask them to change the TV channel...

Restaurant response:
You would think after numerous bad reviews they would do something about it eh?

Lohans

coyners25

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2009 (visited 27 September 2009)

Went for dinner a few months back on a very busy sunday evening and the service & food was excellent.

Lohans

babaduck

36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2009 (visited 2 October 2009)

We had lunch here on Friday based on a recommendation from my Aunt who was in Galway last week on holidays and for once, she was right! The staff were very friendly and helpful, constantly keeping an eye on new arrivals and giving out menus. I had Bacon & Cabbage and the Husband had Toulouse Sausages & Mash. They were absolutely gorgeous and there was no washing up required on either plate... The total cost including 2 Cokes came to just over €26.

Lohans

podge76
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2009 (visited 3 August 2009)

I eat here quite regularly, simply because it is a handly location for a bit of lunch on the way home. I do however have to agree with another reviewer when they say that lately the standards have become very poor. Their lunchtime menu is bordering on ok price wise, but the food is normally good quality. You can't go wrong with either their vegetable soup or the bacon and cabbage is also delicious. Their fish and chips is nothing really to shout about considering what you pay.. Their sandwich menu is good except I only noticed recently that they don't do just plain sandwiches!! They're either open or toasted which put me off as I wanted one with my soup on my last visit. Their staff are what let the place down, they ignore you for the first twenty minutes , they don't offer you a menu to look over until they get back to you. I recently asked a male waiter if I could get some chips and I got a snappy remark back which really put a sour note to my visit. None of the staff smile, they look so miserable and you wonder is this being filtered from the top down. I once complained about my food and although I received a voucher in the post as a token of apology, they vehemently denied any wrongdoing on their part. I think the only people that rate Lohan's as a top eatery are the owners themselves.

Lohans

zink
Galway
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th July 2009 (visited 22 July 2009)

Place itself is really nice but often not the cleanest, (i.e.tables not wiped properly) Food is good but prices are crazy, particularly the evening menu which on the day I visited quoted lamb cutlets for 23.95 and this is just pub-grub cos by no stretch of the imagination is it a restaurant. However of note in this pub is poor service and attitude of the staff, its pretty obvious that they lack training and are simply not customer minded. For example you have to wait to be handed a menu, another example is your plate is dropped on the table with a bang! Their appearance is sloppy and one staff member in particular is borderline hostile!

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4857 ]