Gourmet Tart Company restaurant

Monksfield, Salthill, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bakery

Price Range:


14 reviews
4 stars - based on 14 reviews

Gourmet Tart Company

Submit a review
Gourmet Tart Company

SEfoodie
Waterford
76 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2013 (visited 3 November 2013)

Everything a good cafe should be. Fresh, attention to detail in the food (pomegranite seeds in the salad accompanying a quiche), make their own stuff for take away, very pleasant staff, great coffee. Do not pass this place by, queue for a table and enjoy.

Gourmet Tart Company

daman
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2013 (visited 5 October 2013)

Do not pass this place by when you are in Galway. I visited the restaurant twice in a space of a year (I don't live in the county) and the quality and variety of the menu was superb both times. This time I went for the pork terrine to start and lamb ragout to continue and my companion went for the parsnip and honey soup and half chicken with tarragon stuffing. Everything was delicious and very well presented. We topped it off with a raspberry and custard tart to share. Yum. Not to forget the friendly and efficient staff and relaxed atmosphere. Ticks all the boxes for me and my family.

Gourmet Tart Company

springer
Donegal
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 3 July 2013)

had lunch here and also sampled quite a few of there pastries/cakes. Would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the salthill area

Gourmet Tart Company

kearamurphy
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2013 (visited 6 April 2013)

We visited here on Saturday early evening, a group of eleven including two children, the place has a lovely fresh but cosy atmosphere and the lovely baked goodies we passed by on our way in really got our taste buds tingling. The staff were lovely, and very obliging. The food was exactly the kind of food I love, I had antipasti to start, and the beetroot and goats cheese dip was fantastic. The rib eye steak with Cafe de Paris butter so delicious, cooked exactly the way I like it, the butter was devine and the chunky chips and onion rings (with I think coriander) in the batter complimented the steak perfectly. We took away some macaroons which were lovely bite sized bits of heaven. Would go back to galway just to eat there!

Gourmet Tart Company

thedcman
Galway
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2013 (visited 3 January 2013)

Always busy but worth it when you get a seat. Great choice of coffee and pastries to compliment a good variety of main courses

Gourmet Tart Company

jacktheladdaniels
Galway
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2011 (visited 31 October 2011)

This place is busy busy busy the reason great coffee, food and cakes. I have dined here alot with family and friends. I have never had a disappointing experience in regards to food. The staff are not great and feel when place gets very busy can not handle the stress. As a customer the waiting staff would make you feel ignored and my order has come to me wrong from staff telling me it's there first day not knowing specials not writing down order getting order wrong etc. All teething problems. The cod in batter is a must so is their salads. If your a chocolate addicted Bumblebee cake is a must have. Great place to go for food if you can get around the staff problems

Gourmet Tart Company

ohmary
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2011 (visited 14 November 2011)

Restaurant looked nice. Only popped in for a chocolate tart to take away. It wasnt the nicest unfortunately. Would definitely pop back in to the restaurant part thou.

Gourmet Tart Company

healthyfoodie28
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2011 (visited 3 September 2011)

Called in here on a busy Saturday night. It was packed! We just wanted a quick bite to eat and the staff were really accommodating and found us a table despite us not having a booking. There was a really nice atmosphere in the place and there wasn't a rushed or frantic feel to it, despite it being so busy. Our food was lovely - we just had soups - and really nicely presented. The dessert cabinet is very enticing too - their stuff looks gorgeous! I thought it was great value and was impressed with the service. I'd go back!

Gourmet Tart Company

rmoore1
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2011 (visited 18 March 2011)

Great value, lovely food. The poached apple desert was one the nicest deserts I have eaten in years, well worth coming back there for that alone. One complaint I would have is the service, slow and forgetful. Had to remind waitress about glass of wine we ordered and sorbet that never came.

Gourmet Tart Company

Nicolamp
Galway
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2011 (visited 23 February 2011)

This restaurant is on my list of top 3 in Galway. I have dined here on 4 or 5 occasions, the last time Feb 23rd. The food was amazing, I had the 4 course menu starting with the crab, sourdough bread & brie. This was followed by the pear sorbet and then the lentil & chickpea dal. The dishes were very tasteful & fresh. But its the attention to detail that sets it apart. There was vegetable pakora, mango chutney & raita served with the curry... Service was excellent, staff were personable, informed & attentive without being too intrusive. The meal was excellent value for money. I was there for breakfast yesterday & there was a slight problem with something I was served (it was clearly a manufacturing problem), I quietly pointed it out to staff & again their attention was excellent. Well done all.

Gourmet Tart Company

foodoc
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2011 (visited 29 January 2011)

I had dinner here on January 29th 2011. I tried the 4 course meal for 25 euro. The duck starter was nice, but not amazing. I tried my wife's crab starter and that was very tasty. The sorbet afterwards was very refreshing. I had seabass for the main course and again it was nice, but not amazing. The desserts were fantastic. I had the chocolate pavé with peanut icecream. I don't usually order desserts but I'm glad I tried this one; Absolutely gorgeous. The service was great, no problems at all. I noticed a few people were turned away so it is wise to reserve a table on the weekend. The price was very reasonable. For a nice 4 course meal with wine and beers over the 2 hours we were there, the bill was approximately 40 euros each. We will definitely return to this place.

Restaurant response:
Dear Foodoc, Thank you for your honest review. Next time we'd like you to have a completely AMAZING experience and less NICE!!! It's people like you who keep us on our toes. We were there on the 29th also - service was great. Michelle, Gourmet Tart Co.

Gourmet Tart Company

orl
Dublin
74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2010 (visited 2 October 2010)

Thought the 4 courses for €25 was fantastic value. They don't just give cheap cuts of meat either. I had the beef croquette as a starter which was both unusual and delicous. Had the seabream as a main which was also lovely. I got the cheeseboard as dessert which was €2 extra but well worth it. Wine was reasonably priced also. Really enjoyed the atmospher as well - very New York bistro. The place certainly was not overstaffed so the service was a little slow at times but you are out on a Saturday night so not on a schedule. Recommended.

Restaurant response:
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant - it is much appreciated when people take the time to write something about us. We try to offer the best value possible and yet maintain the quality and it is great to see that people are recognising that...Michelle, Gourmet Tart Co.

Gourmet Tart Company

Sas

53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2010 (visited 30 August 2010)

Have to say, that was delighted that another cafe opened in Salthill as its such a lovely place for a chat coffee and then a stroll on the prom! The coffee and pastries are good here, and I believe the dinner menu is supposed to be very nice, but i agree that the waiting staff need a bit mre guidance! I noticed that both times the incorrect item was put on my bill and it was dearer that it should have been! Was rectified the first time, the second It was a only a few cents, so i left it!Will go back again, as the tarts etc are lovely and resonably priced, but hopethat the service is better next time!!

Gourmet Tart Company

Niamhy G
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2010 (visited 21 August 2010)

WOuld not go back to this resaturant for dinner until the waiting staff get some guidance as to how to wait on people properly and serve tables. They were all over the place. They didn't seem to have a clue when we asked them questions about the menu. I hope they can improve as we liked the food when it finally arrived. We ordered a main course only at 7 o'clock and it did not arrive until 8:15. Not the waiting staffs fault I know. When we looked around we could see that there were not many smiling faces about so we gathered they felt the same way we did. They have a value menu which is four courses for E24 which is great value except I would not order from it as we would probably be there all night!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4637 ]