The Oyster Grill Restaurant

Hotel Meyrick, Eyre Square, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:

Price Range:

€€€

18 reviews
4 stars - based on 18 reviews

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

Submit a review
The Oyster Grill Restaurant

MsFitzer
Offaly
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2011 (visited 26 April 2011)

As we were staying in the hotel we were initiled to a meall int his restaurant. The service was fantastic and the menu seemed very good - as it was a set menu. However, overall the food was not to the standard of a four star hotel. It was bland and I hate to say it - but a little boring.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

Yummy food
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2011 (visited 5 February 2011)

Myself and my boyfriend ate here on Saturday night, we had not made a reservation so we were hoping to get a table, after a lot of humming and flicking through the reservations list the front of house waitress told us to come back in 5 minutes so we went to the bar to get a drink. We returned to the restaurant and I noticed a good few tables that were empty. After looking at the menu for a few minutes the waitress came over to take our orders, I ordered the carrot & orange soup which was nice enough and my boyfriend had the tomato and mozzarella with mixed leaves which could have been better presented. The starters came out after about 3 minutes of us placing our order which I was very surprised about, when our starters were taken away our main courses came out very quickly which again I could not believe, we didn't even have time to relax. For our main course my boyfriend had Bacon with parsley sauce, the whole plate and bacon was covered in parsley sauce and I had the Salmon wrapped in pastry and my whole plate was covered with a sauce so we both felt both main courses were not very appealing at all as both dishes had way too much sauce on them, the main courses were served with mash and a bowl of vegetables so we only took a small bit of the vegetables as they were that great and left the rest. The desserts were well presented but that's all I can say about that. When we were finishing our desserts the front of house waitress came over with our bill which we had NOT even asked for yet as we were not finished and it was still early so I felt as if I could not even relax to finish off my glass of wine. We both thought the meals had already been pre-prepared even before we had ordered and were just heated up and not cooked on order which is very disappointing. This is a meal we had both been looking forward to and unfortunately after our experience here we shall certainly not been returning.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

missymoo00
Cork
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th November 2010 (visited 15 November 2010)

My partner and I visited on a Monday night in November so we weren't expecting great atmosphere or a bulging restaurant. It is a pleasant dining room and there were a few tables with diners and the staff were attentive enough. Not being from Galway we had looked up places to eat on menupages and selected this place based on two menu items, the Chateaubriand and the Oysters. I had the oysters to start which were wonderful, fresh and succulent and everything that I had hoped for. There was a small amount of grit in two of them but this is forgiveable with shellfish. I then had another starter, the crab-claws while my partner had the Chateaubriand for our mains. Crab-claws were pleasant enough, meaty, garlicky and tasty. The Chateaubriand had been ordered medium rare - it was grossly overcooked. Medium to well done at the outer slices and barely pink medium to medium rare in the center. We called the waiter over and he seemed quite uncomfortable as my partner wanted to send it back but the situation was so uncomfortable (the dish costs €59) that he relented and kept it. The waiter then went into the kitchen and came back with an excuse from the chef that "as it is a large piece of meat it is hard to get it cooked the same the whole way through". There was barely one slice in this dish that could be considered medium rare. The meat however was very tasty and had a good flavour - I could imagine that if it had been cooked properly, it would have been delectable. When it came to pay the bill, we mentioned this to the waiter again and he trotted out the same story from the chef (I wonder if he believed it as he seemed quite competent) with no offer of a free glass of wine or dessert or anything to compensate. All in all, thoroughly disappointing however I'm sure that this restaurant is capable of so much more.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

jillyjilly
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

I ate here with a few friends on a Saturday. The restaurant had football on every television and it was full. We found a nice quiet corner and ordered food and drinks. I have to say the service was excellent and so wasn the food. It was exactly what we were looking for on a Saturday afternoon. It was very reasonable too. Would definitely go again.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

Ceeve
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th April 2010 (visited 3 April 2010)

Ate at the Oyster Grill during a recent weekend in galway. We were very impressed. The atmosphere turned out to be better then what we expected. Not too many other diners, but we went in at 9pm, which might be a little late for some. Initally we had to wait for the table (no reservation) which I was puzzled about as ther were copious free tables, but we enjoyed a drink in the bar, so no worries. I started with delicious crab claws, came with some shell on, but a clever little piece fo cutlery to pick out any remaining meat, perfectly cooked in garlic butter, very good. My companion started with a chicken wrap which was great also. I had halibut for mains & He had monkfish. Both were amazing, beautiful flavours served with veg & choice of potatoes. The fish is also cooked as you like it, pan fried, roasted or grilled & comes with a choice of butter sauce. Couldn't fault it, delicious. with 2 coffees, 2 sambucas & 1 glass of wine, the bill came to E100 incl tip, not cheap, but well worth it, very good quality fresh food. Service is also faultless, Will be back.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

KieranTowey
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th November 2009 (visited 27 November 2009)

We love this hotel, got married there and have been back for the last 2 anniversaries, having a dinner there each night. Always a good atmosphere, great room and attentive service. I would always recommend an evening meal here

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

leemcgoo
Meath
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2009 (visited 18 September 2009)

I ate here at the weekend, The food was beautiful. Our Starters consisted of Chowder and the Fish Cakes-which were beautiful. For our mains we both opted for the surf n turf-which was beautiful, the Steak was perfectly cooked!!!! The atmosphere and service was excellent, Will be visiting again next time Im in Galway

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

*m*
Wexford
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2009 (visited 5 September 2009)

i ate here with a large party of friends. we chose from the a la carte menu which is reasonable value from money. i had the mixed root vegetable soup which was very tasty and of the perfect consistency. for main course i had the salmon with pee puree which was beautifully cooked. for dessert i shared a cheese board with a friend as we were quite full. the waiters were extremely friendly, the only fault i have an its a small one was that by the time our table was served the rest of the group had finished their meals. but this is understandable as it was quite a large group.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

desmondg
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2009 (visited 16 October 2008)

Very good food, excellent fish and vegetables. Good waiting staff. A little on the pricey side and the decor of the dining room is a little dark though romantic! Am already planning my next visit!

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

lexar1
Galway
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2009 (visited 17 January 2009)

This restaurant is nice the food is simple but well made and the service is good. The prices are a little high but over all not a good experience.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

MaryB
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2008 (visited 14 December 2008)

The food in this restaurant was very good. My fillet steak was cooked to perfection, however my boyfriends sirloin was a little overdone but still very tasty. The staff were very friendly and attentive from start to finish even though there were a few Christmas parties at the same time. Was not to keen on the decor but the food more than made up for it.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

foodman
Galway
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2008 (visited 29 October 2008)

Excellent food, cooked to perfection in a beautiful setting with oustanding service and reasonably prices. You won't be dissappointed.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

MsMoneypenny
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th October 2008 (visited 18 October 2008)

Last Saturday myself and a friend dined in this restaurant having made a booking through the menu pages website for 9pm. We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and asked could we be facilitated for an earlier sitting at 8.30pm. We spoke to the Restaurant Manageress who advised we could be facilitated straight away if we wished. The choice of food and wine available was excellent and we were given the option of using either the a la carte or the table d'hote menu. Having selected our choices the table was served and service was excellent. The menu was excellent value for money given that we are regular diners in Dublin. The restaurant was superb with an excellent ambiance. Afterwards we adjourned to the Oyster Bar where we had a few after dinner drinks whilst listening to the jazz musician. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Galway City for the ambiance, excellent value for money, and terrific service.

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

una2008
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2008 (visited 5 October 2008)

Loved the Oyster Restaurant. The dining room is so welcoming, staff professional yet attentive and the food was great.. great location for a nice Sunday Lunch, not over crowded or rushed service. never would i expect to get a full lunch on sunday for 25 euro in galway. Keep up the good work. Recommend the Seabass for Luncheon

The Oyster Grill Restaurant

marieb1980
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd October 2008 (visited 4 August 2008)

Absolutely Loved the Oyster Grill on my last visit to Galway. Staff are excellent. Waitress Anna made our Evening Most enjoyable and there was a great ambiance there. the food was top class and my only regret is that i never asked for the Recipe for the Sauce on my Caesar Salad. It was top class. A1 to the Meyrick hotel for having a wonderful restaurant on site as not many hotels have good restaurants

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6183 ]