Matz at the g restaurant

Wellpark Road, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

6 reviews
3 stars - based on 6 reviews

Matz at the g

Submit a review
Matz at the g

lennemcg
Dublin
77 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 09th August 2013 (visited 27 July 2013)

Stayed at the G an had breakfast here both mornings. THe decor was fab and sets it apart from other hotel dining rooms. Our order was forgotten the first morning but after a half hour we brought it to a waiters attention an they couldnt apologise enough.. The food was delicious and there was plenty of choice.

Matz at the g

G Dog
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd August 2010 (visited 16 July 2010)

We stayed in the G for our anniversary and had a meal included as part of our package. We had very high expectations and we were not disappointed. The decor is trendy and classy. The staff were exceptionally good and the food was to die for! The quality and attention to detail made it a wonderful experience and we would definitely treat ourselves for another special occasion.

Matz at the g

basketmon
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2010 (visited 9 April 2010)

decided to try here for dinner as we were staying in the G for a special occasion. the restaurant is alot smaller than it looks on pictures. while the decor is nice - its not overly attractive. chairs are quite low - knees were pratically squashd under the table. staff were very attentive and was definitely a five star service. lovely warm bread. had scallops to start with - and fillet steak for main - nicest steak ive ever had including the mash. .... but in saying that when paying that money for a steak you would expect a decent quality restaurant was nice - food was good - and service very good. but the price tag does not represent what your getting style over substance it would appear.

Matz at the g

scoob
Galway
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th April 2010 (visited 14 March 2010)

Went for mothers day, which happened to be our wedding anniversary aswell. What a dissappointment! The only good thing about our meal was the staff, first class. Shame your food didnt shine like your staff. Definately over rated. Sorry but I would never go back

Matz at the g

oliverm27
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2010 (visited 2 January 2010)

Food is definitely not of 5 star standard, nor is the layout, furnishings or service in this restaurant, unfortunately its closer to 4 star. Its just a pity as our general experience of the hotel itself always has us booking weekends away. If only there could be slight changes to the Matz, the weekend 'away' experience would be absolutely 100% perfect!!

Matz at the g

fooddude57
Galway
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2009 (visited 23 September 2009)

Iv'e eaten here a few times and to be honest its ok. The last time though im not sure i'll be back. We went to the cinema early show and went to the g for a drink and got a look at the menu while we were in the lounge area. We decided to stay and eat. The restaurant matches the rest of the hotel in colours and style. Nice plates,cutlery and glassware. Service a little forced but I've heard a lot about the new head chef so i was willing to let the food alone win me over. I ordered the prawn tails and my partner had the soup. ( exiting i know ) Prawns were beautifully presented but i got a smell from them. You know the fishy smell!!! I called the waitress and informed her that they were not the freshest and could she inform the chef. I had no problem up to this point but she came back form the kitchen and to my utter surprise started to defend the prawns stating that the prawns came in fresh this morning and they have to be fresh. Why did she have to do that??? Fresh seafood dose not smell but obviously she felt the need to lie to me. Im not that guy that says the customer is always right, in fact iv'e seen that customers are mostly wrong but however she said no way, not OUR PRAWNS!!! The rest of the meal was ok. steak sent back. I ordered rare but a medium came. At this stage i was not enjoying myself as the waitress thought I was just being difficult. Very disappointing. My partner enjoyed her meal by the way.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4409 ]