Goyas Cafe & Bakery restaurant

2-3 Kirwins Lane, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bakery

Price Range:


7 reviews
4 stars - based on 7 reviews

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

Submit a review
Goyas Cafe & Bakery

Ivanappetite
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th November 2014 (visited 12 November 2014)

I visited this cafe yesterday as I had been her once before with a friend (although that time I didn't have any food only tea) as I was only on a day trip to Galway I wasn't sure of places to eat but had remembered where this cafe was so decided to go there. On first look this place looked quite nice and clean but as I was on my own I had time to look around when I was eating. I ordered the lasagne with salad which was palatable and had a slice of fudge cake with tea afterwards which was also quite tasty. On closer inspection the place looked quite grubby counter had a chunk gone out of it (perfect situation for bacteria to fester) the open shelves where the napkins were kept was on the dirty side. My fork had a badly bent prong so I asked for another the second one also had a bent prong doesn't seem like a major issue but all the same probably could do with replacing some of them. There was a sign up saying management take no responsibility for any lost articles but the sign was covered with old cellotape and very dirty. The whole place really could do with a fresh lick of paint. The staff were friendly and they very kindly charged my phone for me. Toilets were clean and looked like they had been spruced up recently. I wouldn't be rushing back here again to be honest. Prices were average but €4.80 for a slice of cake is a little steep.

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

Ayela
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

Came in here recently around lunch time with my boyfriend just to grab a coffee & sit for a few mins. The place was very busy but we got a seat (although probably one of the worst by the loos) and were quickly given our drinks. The tea was fine although the inside of the pit was black (might need a quick wash!) however my coffee was not great. I could see the barista was busy however she has no idea how to pour the milk (globs of milk anyone? - due to the way overheating the milk) and the coffee tasted like it was allowed oxidise slightly too long. It is very hard to find a barista who actually knows what they're doing with any kind of attention to detail or care. I appreciate she was busy but cafes should trains their baristas properly on how to heat and pour milk. No excuse really! The cakes, breads and tarts did all look beautiful.

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

jacktheladdaniels
Galway
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2011 (visited 2 September 2011)

Well worth a visit food is lovely a little gem in Galway

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

irishpeople
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th November 2011 (visited 10 November 2011)

A chara, I did like your homemade lasagne, . Your nonsencial profit driven price hike of 30cents per portion is not amusing in the slightest...Will avoid goyas in future .'Cheek' doesn't even come close to how I would describe this, 'gouging' would be more apt. Who you kiddin' ?, just because it got popular doesn't mean it was an invitation to take advantage of your used to be regular customers!

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

piggeen
Galway
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2011 (visited 8 December 2010)

A few og us went together for some dessert and hot chocolate after work one afternoon. ABSOLUTELY fabulous hot chocolate made with Belgian chocolate and sooooo divine! I had the chocolate fudge cake recommended by a friend- again fantastic! I would definitely go again even if it is a little pricey!

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

Niamhy G
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

We go here every Saturday as our treat. The scones are absolutely delicious, the brown, fruit and plain. Served with real butter and yummy strawberry jam. The hot chocolate is pricey at E4.50 for a cup but it is so worth it, made with real belgian chocolate, it is to die for!! The desserts are delicious as well. The potato and leek soup is really good when it's on the menu. They do lovely pancakes and french toast too but we usually just stick to our scones, yes they are that good!!!!

Restaurant response:
I agree Niamhy G the hot chocolate is SCRUM-DIDDLIE-UMPTIOUS!!!!

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

Niamhy G
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

We go here every Saturday as our treat. The scones are absolutely delicious, the brown, fruit and plain. Served with real butter and yummy strawberry jam. The hot chocolate is pricey at E4.50 for a cup but it is so worth it, made with real belgian chocolate, it is to die for!! The desserts are delicious as well. The potato and leek soup is really good when it's on the menu. They do lovely pancakes and french toast too but we usually just stick to our scones, yes they are that good!!!!

Restaurant response:
Thanks, niamhy g for the tip! Got the hot chocolate! YUM YUM YUM!!!

Goyas Cafe & Bakery

fozzieisit
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2010 (visited 3 September 2010)

Had lunch here. great portions and very tasty, nice atmophere. the day was sunny so we sat outside. Dessert portions are huge. Definitely would return.

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4746 ]