Da Tang Noodle House restaurant

2 Middle Street Mews, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€

40 reviews
4 stars - based on 40 reviews

Da Tang Noodle House

Submit a review
Da Tang Noodle House

aoife201213963366
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 15th April 2016 (visited 15 April 2016)

Unbelievable slow

Da Tang Noodle House

Ayela
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

Sadly one of the worst meals I've had in a while! Came here with my boyfriend on a friday. Place was pretty quite & no one looked very happy. Staff were nice and attentive but the food was horrid. Both of us got dumplings (one pork, one veg) both were ok but I have made far better in my home kitchen. The side sauce was too vinegary so I justed used the soya sauce of the table. For mains my boyfriend had minced beef (looked like Quron beef!) and heated up tofu with noodles. I took tofu (very little amount) and veg with blackbean and steamed rice. Both awful!! The rice and noodles were flavourless and unseasoned, very very bland! Both our dishes came swimming in watered down sauces that tasted of very little. Mine was so full of bamboo I could have fed an army of pandas!!! I really do recommend to stay away from here, the food is not of good quality or have any kind of passion for cooking put into it at all! Thankfully we will never return but we are annoyed we had to spend €40 on it!

Da Tang Noodle House

podge76
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2011 (visited 22 October 2011)

Having promised myself I would eat here for a long time, I finally got my partner and son into town to visit Da Tang. I had heard so many great things about the place and I am a fan of noodles myself. Firstly my partner and I ordered dumplings. I had steamed pork ones and my partner had the pan fried lamb dumplings. We were definitely not disappointed and they were delicious. We then both had duck noodles for our main course. My son had stir fry pork. We all agreed that our mains were delicious apart from one common thing - The Noodles!!!! Yes, we all thought that the noodles were kinda bad, they were slimy and tasteless. I hope I'm not insulting the owners by saying that but I was very very let down by them. Also they went cold very quickly. But the other elements of the dish were fantastic. The waiter was very friendly and attentive, and could not fault him on that. It's not a great place if you have a buggy either as we found out. We had to lift it over people's heads when we were leaving! When it came to settle our bill, I thought it was very pricy at 70 euro. There are other restaurants close to Da Tang which offer similar food but would be under a tenner for a main course, so perhaps they need to look at their pricing as this would be a strong deterrant for me going back. To summarise, I think I'll sit on the fence on this one...

Da Tang Noodle House

shineytara
Galway
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

My aunt from New York was over and craving a good noodle house. Feeling the pressure I brought her to Da Tang where I hoped she would be impressed. The waitress was really friendly, asked my aunt "what's wrong with you", as she is 8 months pregnant...but chatted away in a very personable manner! We both had the sea food soup noodles. We were delighted to "fish" out crab claws, fresh muscles and big prawns. Although a tough audience she was really pleased with the food. Would highly recommend it and rate it!

Da Tang Noodle House

Joeydoesntsharefood
Galway
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th August 2010 (visited 8 July 2010)

One of the last few places in Galway that offer genuinely freshly prepared food at a reasonable price. My partner and I eat here frequently when we feel like a treat but don't want a blow to our wallet. The food is fresh, freshly prepared and if you know what you like, very tasty. The hotpot is a MUST! The service is so relaxed and friendly - always a smile and 'welcome back'. The food may not be the spiciest, but if you ask for extra zing, they are more than happy to oblige. In so many Galway restaurants I feel they charge exorbitant prices for sub-standard food - not so in the Noodle House, long may they last!

Da Tang Noodle House

arrow
Galway
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2010 (visited 3 August 2010)

I found the service friendly and food to be inexpensive. The food has a very authentic Chinese taste and the duck soup noodle was excellent. I was very excited to find steamed dumplings on the menu but while the filling was tasty I found the pastry a little thick. All in all I found the atmosphere food and service combined to make for a pleasant dining experience.

Da Tang Noodle House

sukiyaki
Dublin
86 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2010 (visited 14 July 2010)

Another cafe which carried the bridgestone emblem.I must state my observation on visiting Galwat is that most restaurants in the city are privileged to be awarded the bridgestone emblem.Moving on, my mate was keen on introducing this cafe which he frequents each time he visits Galway.The interior was extremely cosy.The walls are adorned with pictures and there was a buddha statue with a sunhat.The interior is charming and they do have a good selection of drinks with forte tea that appears like a tea leave that has sprouted.I was ecstatic and imagined the cafe would promise a good meal.I was most enthusiastic and ordered da hong soup with ravioli pork and stir fried noodles with chicken and prawn.To my disdain-the soup was tasteless and thickened with cornstarch.There were 'ravioli' which had no pork filling and was mainly flour.I couldnt stomach the starter and left it aside.Then came the mains-to my alarm the pan fried noodles werent pan fried.The noodles were plain noodles that were blanched accompanied with chicken and prawns that were stir fried.Still bland in taste.My other 2 mates had more decent meals with crispy duck and a sweet and sour sauce.It reminded me of food in China which was more bland in nature.I suppose I'm more accustomed to the South east Asia palate which emphasizes more on spice.Despite my reservations on this cafe-I must state there was a steady stream of customers-perhaps frequent diners.Of note the food is slightly healthier than the usual chinese takeaway.

Da Tang Noodle House

nesvibe
Galway
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2010 (visited 16 June 2010)

The best wonton noodle soup in Galway. By far!

Da Tang Noodle House

rpow
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th February 2010 (visited 10 January 2010)

Absolutely excellent little restaurant. Tasty reasonable authentic food.

Da Tang Noodle House

southernhemisphere
Galway
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th February 2010 (visited 6 February 2010)

A very disappointing meal. Bland food. Fried noodles are to be avoided. Staff smiled but were not very helpful. Cheap meal but not worth the trip at all. I will not be going back.

Da Tang Noodle House

Foodie 24
Galway
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2009 (visited 5 August 2009)

Qute little restaurant. Had a delightful lunch, sweet & sour chicken was very nice and the the place has a very authentic oriental feel to it. Service was great too!

Da Tang Noodle House

cesca
Galway
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2009 (visited 20 May 2009)

went there yesterday and used my menu points, was really good food, nice sized portions, the waitress was lovely as well, its well worth a visit!

Da Tang Noodle House

unanorris
Galway
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 21 April 2009)

I had the Take out Lunch Special today. I have to say I thought it was delicious. The food was cooked really well, and very fresh. The service was lovely. But just as important I felt I got value for money, at €6:50 a bargain lunch for Galway City Centre.

Da Tang Noodle House

mangetouts
Galway
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2009 (visited 8 April 2009)

I only eaten here once, for lunch, €6.50 for noodles, tofu and veg.. was really nice and worth the 6.50, was really filling.. and felt quite healthy.. would definitely recommend for lunch!

Da Tang Noodle House

superspice
Limerick
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2009 (visited 4 April 2009)

This is my favourite place in galway! I have returned many many times as the food is always consistently great. The best dish they serve is called "hot pot" it is not displayed on their menu as it was a special they offered some months back... they have never refused it to me when i come in though. A huge plate of raw fresh veg, tofu and the choice of un-cooked prawns, chicken or beef with the option of your hot pot being mild or spicy. The idea is to cook your own food at your leisure and the sesame dip provided is mind blowingly good- it is made in house and every time i visit i try to get the recipe out of them! Space is limited and is the only negative i can think of. If you want casual, honest great food then Da Tangs is for you!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4647 ]