An Poitin Stil restaurant

Naas Road, Rathcoole, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

76 reviews
4 stars - based on 76 reviews

An Poitin Stil

Submit a review
An Poitin Stil

paul.carroll76158562
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 29th July 2017 (visited 29 July 2017)

Great place, really can't complain! Great food and fantastic value. Staff are very nice too and very accommodating.

An Poitin Stil

martin1keane60742122
Carlow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 08th December 2015 (visited 6 December 2015)

Rude waitress and poor management,. Will never return nor recommend, worst experience I have ever had in any establishment. An absolute disgrace not a good example of Ireland or the tourism industry.

An Poitin Stil

martin1keane60742122
Carlow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 08th December 2015 (visited 7 December 2015)

Will never go to this establishment ever again, nor recommend it. My wife and I stopped in for a meal after a long day of tests on my wife at the Hospital. The waitress read out the specials so fast that we couldn't understand or even remember what was said. I called her over and asked her what they were. She retorted " I ALREADY TOLD YOU " and with the same nasty tone blurted out the menu which neither the wife nor I could understand. My wife dismissed her by saying don't bother I'll go look myself. I called this arrogant girl over to explain that we had had a bad day in the hospital and that she spoke too fast. She shouted back at me "so she takes her bad day out on me " well I couldn't believe my ears. I asked her to please get the manager. I went to the bar and asked for him, I explained to him how rude this waitress was, my wife had already walked out. He was very apologetic and escorted me to the door. The waitress in question walked past and I pointed her out,that's her now I said. She paused, looked back and commented yes it was me. I pointed out to the manager, there that's the attitude your dealing with. He apologies yet again and said he would deals with it. On hindsight the manager should have called her back to apologise for her rude unfriendly attitude. My conclusion is obviously there is no management nor code of conduct within this establishment. We would have spent at least €80.00. We stopped at the green apple service station and were greeted by a very pleasant young lady serving burgers. To the director I would say in all my life I have never seen the like this girl acted as if she was the owners daughter, maybe she was????

An Poitin Stil

Madge
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2015 (visited 15 August 2015)

Wasn't a pleasant experience with the Manager she was quite rude. It let down the whole place. Food was nice steak on the stone. We sent back a pint as it was flat and Manager came back said there's no way I'm giving the money back you should have said it earlier spending a lot of money and a genuine complaint it was handled disgracefully.

An Poitin Stil

dbourke
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2015 (visited 25 March 2015)

A bit slow to take our drinks order. Had to look for our waitress but overall a very nice experience for my foreign guests. Keep up the good work!

An Poitin Stil

Maggycronin57008365
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2014 (visited 11 July 2014)

Really excellent! My mother was there as part of a Cuilcagh Tour group (Annmarie Carolan) and was sooooo impressed at how she was fed and looked after. Particular thanks to Conor Tiernan for his kindness and compliments to the chef Brian Cahill. Louis you have great staff and provide a great stopping off place! Thank you all.

An Poitin Stil

MJMIreland
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2014 (visited 27 June 2014)

Am a regular diner in the restaurant and found last week that the menu has recently changed to a much less varied and more restricted range. Manager confirmed it was still in process of changing but was disappointed in new reduced options and variety. Quality and value were as always excellent and my partner and I will revisit in about 3 week to see if any further menu changes have occurred.

An Poitin Stil

Yummy Mummy 2014
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2014 (visited 18 May 2014)

Ah You cant really fault this place at all!!. As a vegan there is plenty to go around. My partner LOVES the carvery here and we come every sunday. My wee lad is starting to like it too and we always get a small bowl for him which we don't get charged for. That's nice. And being called honeybunch by the head chef just makes my day!! Thanks Chef Honeybunch x

An Poitin Stil

trayloua
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 2 March 2014)

Came here for dinner (carvery) with my partner. Had been before when the bar menu was on and was impressed with the food! This time around however was a completely different story! We went to the counter and I asked (my usual as a vegetarian) what the veggie option was. They said I can make you up a stirfry... I was happy with this and went to the table with my partner (and his food as always I have to wait!) When the food finally arrived it was a bowl of watery oil with onions and a scattered few peppers (that was it!) not another veg in sight. I didnt want to kick up a fuss as it was date day and I just wanted to enjoy our day out but as soon as my other half excused himself to go to the bar I put my bowl aside and asked the waitress to take it away that I was finished. I was disgusted with the level of food... Its a disgrace....

An Poitin Stil

Keozer
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2013 (visited 11 September 2013)

When I rang to book a table for 5:30pm I was told that the restaurant does not open on Wednesday but that same menu was available in lounge. Dined with two others and were served quite quickly at the start as it was busy but not packed but as other diners arrived the ONE waiter was run off his feet and didn't even have time to clear tables before new diners took them. We had to ask several times for glasses of water. I had the joint of the day, which was bacon and cabbage which was delicious. One other had the lamb shank and the third had the chicken caesar salad and both thoroughly enjoyed their faire. The portions were very generous - I had three slices of bacon. The dessert was a letdown however. We all ordered the Baileys cheesecake but could not taste anything never mind the Baileys. We felt that if you had been given it with a blindfold and asked to taste, you would be unable to tell what dessert it was meant to be. We did enjoy the night, but desserts need major overhaul and they need some more staff. Also couldn't understand why the restaurant itself was closed when it was so busy and waiter had to carry food a longer distance from the same kitchen.

An Poitin Stil

MJMIreland
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2013 (visited 30 July 2013)

A regular favorite haunt for both an excellent value and tasty buffet lunch with traditional lunch menu , or the restaurant with execllent fish specials to tempt the pallet. This visit was for a quick but tasty lunch .. very very busy place most of the time and thats a clear indication that they do most things well... they were entertaining a large funeral in main restaurant .. large car park nearly full .. none teh less excellent value buffet lunch efficiently dispensed .. we both had roasted chicken dishes .. all excellent value and very very tasty with nice dressing and sauces , followed by fresh tasty apply pie and two fresh piping hot coffees .. staff excellent throughout .. and then the power went in the whole village .. no panic from the well trained staff .. reassuring words ,,, candles everywhere within what seemed like seconds and they recommenced food when the power returned. All well handled .. will be back soon

An Poitin Stil

52phill
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2012 (visited 10 March 2012)

went for my uncles 80th party ,25 people for dinner in the function room on a saturday afternoon,,great service ,great staff,and great food ,i would highy recomend it ,

An Poitin Stil

jacqwee68
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th April 2012 (visited 8 January 2012)

As a london born lady living in Dublin the last 5 years, this is 3rd time I've been for carvery my entire life. Went for a meal with my boyfriend's family. Thoroughly enjoyed it..... Huge portions. Friendly staff, great atmosphere. Would go again!

An Poitin Stil

GarDemp
Kildare
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th November 2011 (visited 8 November 2011)

I frequent the Poitin stil every few weeks for lunch. Ambience is great. Ample parking. Easy access off the N7. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food is great. One slight criticism - a guest had a glass of wine - paid full price and only noticed then that it was one of the small 185 ml bottles and not the usual 250ml bottles. ATM onsite too which is handy.

An Poitin Stil

tracyon
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th November 2011 (visited 2 November 2011)

I went to the Poitin Still last week with a few friends on the way to Tipperary. We stopped in for some lunch and to my surprise it was a very pleasant meal. I am not a big fan of carvery but for the hungry men in your life its a marvel of quantity and quality and in this pub the portion size was bordering on the maternal feeding a favourite son. The staff were very friendly and efficient and as I was not as hungry as my fellow diners I opted for a cajun chickend salad that was delicious and not as intimidating as the carvery that my friend devoured with speed and delight. I will definitely be back again and next time might just go as destination meal and not as a pit stop on a road trip. Value for money and always a bonus easy parking !

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5028 ]