Wongs of Castleknock restaurant

Ashleigh Centre, Main Street, Dublin 15, Castleknock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 15

Dublin 15

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€€

57 reviews
3 stars - based on 57 reviews

Wongs of Castleknock

Submit a review
Wongs of Castleknock

Fussy Jim
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 11th December 2017 (visited 9 December 2017)

This restaurant has new owners for about a year - since then the atmosphere service and food have really improved. There were five us at the table. We all had starters and main meals. All we could do was compliment everything. All the food was excellent. Staff were on hand if we needed anything but did not keep coming to the table. We were given plenty of time between courses. I would recommend this Chinese for a good night to everyone

Wongs of Castleknock

Bern
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 25th January 2016 (visited 31 December 2015)

We had a great night here on New Years Eve It was a great night and the Menu for the night was such good value. There was 4 people at our table and we were given a bottle of Prosecco at 12 O'Clock. Love this Restaurant. Bern

Wongs of Castleknock

Bern
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 25th January 2016 (visited 31 December 2015)

We had a great night here on New Years Eve It was a great night and the Menu for the night was such good value. There was 4 people at our table and we were given a bottle of Prosecco at 12 O'Clock. Love this Restaurant. Bern

Wongs of Castleknock

vivianduffy2
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th November 2014 (visited 29 November 2014)

Service a little slow at the start. We were only given 2 menus for a party of six. However once sorted rest of the evening went well. Food was good and very tasty.

Wongs of Castleknock

Card11
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th October 2014 (visited 26 September 2014)

Fab Fab Food.Meat Sung for starters with crisp cold lettuce along with some salted shredded chicken DELICOUS.Main Chicken in black bean sauce to die for with boiled rice and two servings of ice cream to cool it all down

Wongs of Castleknock

Cjmlondon
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th June 2014 (visited 25 June 2014)

Some of the worst service I have had in Dublin. And not even an apology despite 2 complaints. As another table leaving us muttered "that's as bad as it gets"

Wongs of Castleknock

Fussy Jim
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 23rd December 2013 (visited 14 December 2013)

We had a table for two at about 9.30pm. There were only three other table taken. The place was cold so thankfully we got to sit beside a heater. There was no atmosphere at all and the staff were not good at all. After a while we were asked what we would like to drink and we ordered wine. I had to go and look for a waiter to come and take our food order !. For an empty restaurant, the food took ages to come out to us. I will say that both the starts and the main dishes were very good and were totally finished. After we finished our main meals we were left with a table of dishes for at least 15 minutes. yet again I had to go and get someone to try and get the bill. When the waitress came back she just gave me the bill and still left the dishes!!. She then came back and took away the wind bucket - she never checked if we were finished the wine. When I called her to pay she then proceeded to take the dishes . This is a terrible restaurant for atmosphere and service from the staff. Do not eat here - spend your hard earned cash in a restaurant that will appreciate your custom !!!!!!!

Wongs of Castleknock

bjcleary

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2013 (visited 25 October 2013)

Food and service excellent

Wongs of Castleknock

paolokenn1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th August 2013 (visited 11 August 2013)

Must probably the worst Chinese restaurant food I've ever eaten in. The vegetable spring rolls were filled with cabbage and carrot and a shake of msg. The main course of vegetable curry consisted of cabbage,carrot,and some bamboo slices with a thin watery msg sauce. The steamed rice was edible. Two scopes of the cheapest vanilla icecream with a sprinkle of hundreds and thousands was plonked in front of me for dessert. My Chinese tea never arrived. The service was uncaring. The ambiance was flat. The light was low so one couldn't spot the cheapness of the food. Disgusting stale, dated ,over priced place that doesn't deserve to exist. Menu is like something from the 60s.How could anyone support such a rip off rotten place like wongs?

Wongs of Castleknock

fokie

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th August 2012 (visited 26 August 2012)

Made a dinner reservation at Wongs for our wedding anniversary last Sunday and was so looking forward to eating here. When we arrived it was very busy and we were waiting to be seated for a good while. After we got shown to our table and menu's given, no drinks order was offered. Then about 15-20 mins later a waiter came over to take our food order. We noticed loads of tables around us were anxiously waiting for their meal and they were getting restless. We asked the waiter how much roughly of a wait would there be and he just advised "very busy tonight" - we decided to leave it and left, as we would be waiting a long time by the looks of things. There were only 3 waiting staff among approx 100 diners, who were also preparing drinks, serving tables, clearing tables, etc. More staff should be waiting on, as quite clearly only 3 is not enough during the "offer" days (sun-fri). Awful shame as have visited a good few times and really liked everything about the place.

Wongs of Castleknock

Pjac1974
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2012 (visited 9 March 2012)

Wongs used to be one of the best local Chinese restaurants - NOT ANY MORE! Visited on Friday and found badly trained staff who just pointed me and my son to the table and then charged me full price even though I had ordered from the set price menu. The food fell well short of regular standards. It is a genuine shame to see the decline of Wongs as previously it was an institution in Chinese food in Dublin.

Wongs of Castleknock

clandonnagh
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2011 (visited 12 February 2011)

Had a lovely dinner here on Saturday. I wasn't overly hungry so just went for the stringy chicken - basically chicken strips covered in batter - it was yum!! A bit too much salt on them maybe but still tasted really good. My friend went for some sort of beef dish (can't remember what it was now) - he ate it all so that's usually a good sign. Stayed for a few drinks too. Staff were lovely and nice buzzy atmosphere about the place. I shall come again at some stage!

Wongs of Castleknock

sueelly
Wicklow
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 10 December 2010)

Love it! Specially Aromatic Duck! Good wines too!

Wongs of Castleknock

el27
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

Service was excellent here, we didn't even make a booking but managed to get a table on a busy Saturday night. Waiters were very efficient and polite. The food was delicious, one of the nicest chinese meals we've had in a while. We ordered veg spring roll for starters & chicken curry for main. There was plenty of it and it was very tasty. Only downside, it's a bit pricey but worth a visit.

Wongs of Castleknock

jp1979
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2010 (visited 30 October 2010)

This is a nice high-end Chinese restaurant in the center of Castleknock. The food is absolutely delicious and the quality is very high. I have been to this restaurant 4 or 5 times this year. The skewered satay chicken starter comes with an amazing bright yellow peanut sauce which is delicious. I normally go for the European pan-fried steak in here and it is always cooked to perfection. Crispy on the outside and tender in the middle. There has to be a catch however, and for me it is the price. For a Chinese restaurant, the price of the dishes are incredibly high and is the main reason why I have not visited this place more often this year. Definitely worth a visit though if you have something to celebrate.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4738 ]