The Boathouse Cafe restaurant

Farmleigh, Phoenix Park, Castleknock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 15

Dublin 15

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:


15 reviews
4 stars - based on 15 reviews

The Boathouse Cafe

Submit a review
The Boathouse Cafe

E27
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 11 July 2015)

Lovely cafe beside a pond, in the middle of parkland in Farmleigh. Ready to eat and made to order mains available. Good coffee. Very pleasant staff, who were remarkably helpful when one of our party lost their keys

The Boathouse Cafe

PJB
Dublin
90 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 26th April 2015 (visited 21 April 2015)

Came here on a sunny lunchtime and was blown away by the setting. Sat ouside in the sun and enjoyed lovely sandwiches and salad. The staff were helpful and there were pleanty of places to sit. Ducks waddled over to say hello and we finished off with an ice cream and a stroll around the lake and beautiful gardens. Delightful.

The Boathouse Cafe

perfectpalet
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd August 2014 (visited 15 August 2014)

Was here last weekend and my god what a revelation! The food and setting is stunning!! It seems to have been taken over by new management. Gorgeous salad and their lemonade!!!!! TO DIE FOR!

The Boathouse Cafe

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2013 (visited 12 October 2013)

Stopped by for a quick afternoon snack with a friend. We both chose a very tasty mushroom soup accompanied by home made brown bread. Service was smiling throughout. A good management presence oversaw the flow of service. Tables were speedily kept clear when needed and the overall cleanliness was very good. The atmosphere was very nice in this bright airy establishment which offers lakeview seating both inside and out. A well appointed menu offers a good choice of eats suitable for all palates. I would recommend a visit.

The Boathouse Cafe

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2011 (visited 1 May 2011)

Beautiful location, when the sun is shining, but the service is extremely slow. They desperately need to organise themselves. The prices are high, eg all cakes around 5 euro. The kitchen staff were not wearing gloves while preparing the food and watching one of them stuffing grated cheese into his mouth while making a sandwich for a paying customer was rather off putting to say the least. The jury is out on whether I would go back.

The Boathouse Cafe

joannecooper
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st April 2011 (visited 19 March 2011)

This lovely cafe overlooks the pond at Farmleigh, and is an ideal spot for families and children. Baby changing facilities and friendly staff. Good menu variety. However at busy times the cafe can be over-run and grubby under the tables and in the toilets. This is not a cafe for haute cuisine or a romantic lunch for two, but certainly is a great spot to bring a family.

The Boathouse Cafe

Frances930

33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2011 (visited 12 March 2011)

Went to the Boathouse for lunch with my sister after a lovely walk around the Farmleigh Gardens - great way to spend a sunny saturday morning. We were very impressed with the food here, I had a Goats Cheese salad, and sis had homemade soup and sandwich , all delicious and presented very nicely. Price was ok, service was good and the setting was beautiful. I would highly reccommend it.

The Boathouse Cafe

healthyfoodie28's hubs
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th December 2010 (visited 10 December 2010)

Stunning location both in terms of the lake view and near farmleigh. Good food but too expensive... It'd be nice to have a cheap option...

The Boathouse Cafe

Kiwi D
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

Visited the Boat House on a weekend afternoon and was pleasantly surprised by the value given it’s location. We both had sandwiches which were very good, as was the coffee. We were looking for a place to relax with the papers though and found the atmosphere a bit lacking – more cafeteria than cafe. Would come back with visitors to Dublin or if already in the park, but not for a lazy Sunday afternoon with the hubby.

The Boathouse Cafe

healthyfoodie28
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th August 2010 (visited 21 August 2010)

This is definitely THE place to bring non-Dublin visitors to show them a great side of Dublin! Wonderful cafe, wonderful location. The surroundings of Farmleigh are second to none in Dublin city in my opinion. There's a large duck pond with water lilies etc which the restaurant is built looking over. The perfect place to spend a sunny afternoon - loads of tables outside, and an ice-cream shop next door. The food is great. Lots of gluten-free options, and fabulous looking sweet things. I had a baked potato and it was gorgeous and a generous portion size! A walk around the Farmleigh grounds after being in the cafe adds so much to the whole experience. Beautiful gardens, lots of animals, and so peaceful. Can't recommend this place enough.

The Boathouse Cafe

littlepace
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

This is one of my favorite cafes in the city. The location is brilliant! There is a little lake just beside the café where you have birds and fish. And afterwards you can have a nice walk around the park. The food is good value and tasty and they do nice cappuccinos. If you have visitors from outside the city this a place to bring them for lunch.

The Boathouse Cafe

graheland
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2009 (visited 13 April 2009)

As we live in Castleknock, we visit the Boathouse regulary. Since the management changed, I am totally hooked! During the week I usually come with our little 15mth old daughter and enjoy a cup of coffee and one piece of their lovely cakes. I enjoy the whole place very much. The staff is very very nice, the place is very clean (not like before ...) and the prices are reasonable. I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

The Boathouse Cafe

JohnFahy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2009 (visited 12 April 2009)

A friend of mine home from the states suggested i visit here when the farmers market was on. What a wonderful place in the middle of the city. Dublins best kept secret why didnt i know about this till now. All of the stalls selling their wares created a wonderful buzz around the courtyard area. Then we ventured down to the Boathouse cafe which we were informed by a very nice lady at the counter that it was under new management.What a wonderful job they are doing. A beautiful bright space over looking the lake with nice art on the walls.A nicely balanced menu from the kitchen with great with hot sandwiches and tasty salads. I had the Goats Cheese Salad ...Delicious. of course we had to have a dessert so we opted for the Chocolate Brownies....Divine..Id recommend you visit here. fantastic location,Great Food wonderful Service ..Keep up the good work . Ill be Back

The Boathouse Cafe

Redbean

31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2008 (visited 7 June 2007)

Dropped in here for coffee while in Phoenix park. Saw their menu - serve soups, sandwiches, desserts (cakes)nothing too fancy. Saw the food portion on next table and thought it was small for the price they charge. However, it's a nice & relaxing place if u sit outside the terrace on/next to the lake.

The Boathouse Cafe

JAKELEBLU

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2007 (visited 8 August 2007)

It is hard to believe that this place can get away with charging the price they do. Food very bland, cold and not very fresh. The place needs a good clean and the outside table’s look like they could get up and walk they are so dirty. Would not be in a hurry back.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4796 ]