Shack Restaurant

24 East Essex Street, Dublin 2 , City Centre, Temple Bar, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

68 reviews
4 stars - based on 68 reviews

Shack Restaurant

Submit a review
Shack Restaurant

Bro-do
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st May 2015 (visited 30 May 2015)

Most unfriendly reception I have ever received in a restaurant. The greeter looked us up and down for having a small child in a buggy. When asked for a highchair he was rude and we were told they didn't have one and no one told him a child was coming. The food was cool and the veg was raw when we told him this he made a smart comment under his breath as he walked off. Another couple joined us with their well behave daughter and before they even sat down they were told to keep the child under control. This is not good enough for a meal at 6 pm this is family eating time. The only saving grace was the waiter Daniel who very friendly and entertaining.

Shack Restaurant

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st August 2014 (visited 21 August 2014)

Hadn't been in years so decided to give it a go. The food was excellent tasty and very good in portion size. My dining companion echoed this. The lady who took our order and the guy who showed me to the table were very nice as was a guy who brought the desert to the table. The good service was however let down by two other servers who never smiled once when they dealt with us and in addition stood next to us one leaning on my friends chair and gave out incessantly about people only ordering coffees and tipping poorly. This took from the overall atmosphere. The restaurant was a little cold too. Overall however despite the negatives I would recommend this eatery as the food is great and very good value. I do hope the 10% tip I gave for the nice servers was to your liking.

Shack Restaurant

Frenchette
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2013 (visited 21 December 2013)

Very Chrismasth-like atmosphere with decoration and songs. Staff is quite nice and very available. Quantity of food is a bit light as I took the "big" portion of mussels (which only took half the pot) and I was hungry 4h later.

Shack Restaurant

sunflowerrox
Wicklow
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2013 (visited 14 September 2013)

Very busy place,had to wait for a table for 10-15 minutes,finally got one really nice,the service is excellent,they are so helpfull,food came quite after a long waiting,nice food,presentable plates,however small portions.would go back anytime!!

Shack Restaurant

seum59
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 29 April 2012)

Got deal for this restaurant €50 food and drink for €25 really great deal but menu prices expensive. Staff very friendly and efficent. Food well presented and as described in menu portions small. Loved the brown bread but was disappointed with dessert, chocloate and brandy cake turned out to be what I would discribe as biscuit cake. Would go back if I got another deal.

Shack Restaurant

honestviewpoint
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

I must say, I read reviews and wonder do people think they are professionals at this. Do they get a special buzz out of causing Restaurants problems. I am not a Professional at this, I just eat out a lot with my work. I am a customer. No more, No less. I waited for 45 minutes for a table here last night, there was a que out the door, I have not seen that is a long time. The lady on the desk was exceptional, a full restaurant, buzzing and hopping, and she was polite, calm and very friendly, "talk a walk to the pub or go for a stroll for about 40 minutes and Ill have a lovely table for you" she said. We did just that and when we returned, YES she have a lovely table. The Restaurant was hopping, Irish music on in the background, beautiful old wooden walls, interesting bric-a-brac on the shelves. Amazing!! The service was friendly, but genuinely friendly, no false smiles, staff seem to be happy to work here. The food, well, I had Chicken Wings and they were to die for, crisp, well cooked in a beautiful bbq sauce, my partner had pate and was wowwed. I had the Blackened Cajun Chicken which was tasty, moist and cooked to perfection, and my partner had the Beef Ireland which I was told was the best ever tasted. The dressing on my side salad was truely great. The brown bread is amazing, and I was allowed to buy a loaf for a mere 3.50. Here in the middle of Temple Bar is a restaurant I seemed to have missed all this time. Well worth a visit. Great Job.

Shack Restaurant

thedubs
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 23rd March 2011 (visited 22 March 2011)

Got the 15e special 3 course it was grand for he price especially in the temple bar.Great Service

Shack Restaurant

Fame
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2010 (visited 17 October 2010)

Randomly walked in with my friend on a Sunday, greeted at the door and seated immediately. The atmosphere is very cozy and the staff are efficient. We went with the fried brie and veg spring roll...bit pricey but quite tasty. I had the monkfish which was devine...served with mash, veg and mustard sauce...yum. My friend had the sirloin but she said it was rather tough...but still ate it. All in all, very nice place, good size portions and will definetely be back!

Shack Restaurant

Eating all
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th July 2010 (visited 23 July 2010)

Ate here friday night with a party of four.Opted for the early bird menu which was good value.The service was a tad slow but it was busy inside(I always think it is a positive indication of the restaurants reputation when full with customers)

Shack Restaurant

eiz
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2010 (visited 26 May 2010)

We went there for a late lunch one Wednesday. There seemed to have a good value lunch at 15euros for 3 courses. We had soup for starters which was nice and the bread too but the rest of the dinner was appalling! The chicken that followed was tasteless and watery and the dessert didnt prove better even though it was just profiterolles! The service was not much better, the waiter ignored us totally and the service was very slow! Will not be going there anytime soon. The only good thing about the place is the toilets, which are spoitless!

Shack Restaurant

DubDude
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th May 2010 (visited 16 May 2010)

Attention all non tourists. What a little gem this is in Temple Bar. It advertises itself as a traditional Irish restaurant and it was fairly quiet for a Sunday afternoon. The service is prompt and polite. Importantly, toilets were spotless. The menu has a good variety of fare from steak to seafood to beef & guinness pie. Wines come by the bottle, half bottle and glass. The lager available is draft Carlsberg. At 4pm we were still in time for the lunch menu which runs til 5pm. I had the open chicken sandwich and my partner had the all day breakfast. Both were delicious. The sandwich was a full breast of grilled chicken with pesto dressing on a thick slice of walnut and raisin brown bread and side salad. Really tasty. I would've been happy with the bread alone. The breakfast was two fried eggs and grilled sausages, bacon, black & white pudding, tomatoes, toast & tea, All this with a side order of chips and a glass of Carlsberg for €22.00. They also do an early bird - 3 courses for €14.95 which we'll definitely be returning to try.

Shack Restaurant

mstacey
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2010 (visited 13 May 2010)

Very impressed with this little gem of a restaurant. Enjoyed a wonderful meal on a bustling Thursday night, served by the most attentive and efficient staff. Started with the smoked salmon which was fresh and flavoured delicately with capers and a delicious salad dressing and came with a generous portion of brown bread. The bread was so good that it was almost like cake! For main course I had the salmon fillet - unfortunately the monkfish was off - and I was able to request that this come without butter. The fact that my specific dietary requirements could be met is the sign of a good eatery where the food is freshly prepared. The house red - a Chilean Cabernet Sauvugnon was very good; warm, rich and with good body. To finish I shared an apple and mixed berry pie; again, the slice was very generous and finished off with some very good coffee to which the waiter very happily added lots of extra marshmallows! It's the little touches like this that make an evening that bit special. Altogether a delightful night. Will be back - if we can get in the door!

Shack Restaurant

GMURRAY
Kildare
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2010 (visited 14 May 2010)

Went for lunch today with lads from work, food was ok. Had the steak, small & not very filling. Rest of my friends thought it was ok as well. It will be a big him with all the tourists, irish music etc but i wont be going back.

Shack Restaurant

gilchrist
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2010 (visited 13 February 2010)

Went here the Saturday night of the Valentine's weekend with my partner. We both ordered chicken wings which were the worst I've ever tasted. The sauce was horrible and the chicken wings were wet and slimy and just tasted bad. I couldnt eat mine and it was taken off the bill. I had chicken for mains which was very good. My partner had steak and asked for it medium and it was served rare but he just ate it anyway. The waiting staff werent very friendly and there was no real atmosphere in the place. Overall not very impressed and won't be returning

Shack Restaurant

rocky
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th February 2010 (visited 9 January 2010)

Very good food here, would recommend the pate and the brie really very good. My husband had the stew which was a lot nicer then the guinness stew, I will go for the stew next time i'm their. Overall we were impressed and would recommend the Shack

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6099 ]