The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

196 Whitehall Road, South Dublin, Terenure, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6W

Dublin 6W

View on Map

Cuisine:
Casual Dining

Price Range:


15 reviews
4 stars - based on 15 reviews

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Submit a review
The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Grub Lover
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2017 (visited 18 February 2017)

Disorganised chaos - having reserved tables and ordered platters two weeks ago to celebrate my birthday with family and friends last night I wrongly assumed that everything would be organised for our arrival at 8.00pm. When we arrived there were people sitting at the tables I had reserved, as we were a little bit early I said nothing thinking that they would be leaving soon, however when I asked one of the floor staff she told me that there were no tables reserved, I told her that I had made the booking with Dave the barman and again she said there was no booking. I was also told that there was no food ordered, at this stage I was starting to get stressed as my guests were due to arrive, including my elderly mother in a wheelchair. We had to sit squashed around a few tables for over an hour before somewhere suitable became available. Karen was the only staff member who did anything to help, she organised a table for us and also spoke to the chef and got the food sorted. When the food arrived we asked one of the lounge girls if we could have some cocktail sticks and we were told that they didn't have any and she gave us toothpicks to use instead. What I find hard to believe is that the manager on duty, Eric was aware of the problem and did absolutely nothing about it. When I went to pay for the food later in the evening I was expecting them to offer some sort of discount given the complete mess they had made of things but how wrong I was, Dave the guy I had originally made the booking with insisted that I pay full price, I said I didn't think this was fair but he insisted so I paid the price we had agreed initially and told him that was the last time we would be visiting The Pines, again Eric the bar manager stood there listening to this conversation and did nothing. Our group would have spent at a rough guess €400 - €500 there last night and this how you get treated. We would normally go to The Pines two or three times a month but I will be taking my business elsewhere from now on.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

patrick.marren13543152
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 16th December 2016 (visited 15 December 2016)

Christmas lunch was fabulous, had the three course menu - great selection, and all the party delighted with the quality of the food. One minor issue - the pate starter could have come with more toast. Excellent value.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Smiles33
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 15th August 2016 (visited 15 August 2016)

I'm just home from a family meal in The Pines. I can't stress enough what a waste of €90:70 it was. The starters came out; garlic bread covered in fluff from a tea towel or cloth, was sent back and returned with a little less fluff. Cured salmon would not fill a hole in your tooth and not a sign of dill to be seen anywhere. Goats cheese was nice with cracker type bread accompanied by fluff! The mains were inedible. Cod that left a horrible taste in my mouth, scampi that tasted the same as the chips no flavour just oil. Chorizo bake had hard pasta which left my daughter with a sick feeling. Kids burgers were just that and looks like they don't put any effort in kids meals as it's only for kids. We would normally stay for dessert when we go out but the amount of flysheet West unbelievable 3 surrounding tables mentioned it between ourselves and some covered their drinks with beer mats. Not once were asked if everything was ok. This is one family who will not return and advise family and friends the same.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

DarrenC
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd December 2014 (visited 29 November 2014)

Had a family meal there on Sat, went for the Christmas menu...it was 2 courses for 19 Euro...I had the Turkey and Ham and my gf had the venison sausages...we had the baked brie to start and the pear tart to finish (shared a starter and a desert)... food was yum and they brought me more gravy...2 small points....the venison sausage could be bigger...and the cauliflower does need a sauce...have some nice craft beers and the pub itself is lovely

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

DarrenC
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th January 2014 (visited 4 January 2014)

This bar is actually in Perrystown rather than Ternure imo...Ternure Garda station would be about 3km away. Having said that this place has super food, service and atmosphere, finally someone has got top quality pub grub right. It was really busy on Sat night but the quality of the food and service remains high, they normally have a set menu, which is 2 or 3 courses and its fantastic value....will be back here again :-)

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

sha
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd April 2011 (visited 21 April 2011)

After reading all the positive reviews decided to try this resturaunt. Have to say we were disappointed. Food was good but far too much fries/potatoes given. I had duck which was nice but for two of us the waitress brought FOUR plates of fries/potatoes/roast potatoes. My other half had hake which again was nice but a big plateful of it which would have served 2 people.I would have prefered less potatoes and a bit of veg. The deserts again were HUGE, far too much and off putting. The place was very busy and only one waitress on. She was very pleasant but rushed off her feet. Waiting time for food/desert far too long. Don't think I will be rushing back.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Diarmuidmurphy
Cork
71 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2011 (visited 11 April 2011)

Lovely pub for a bite of Lunch, excellent choices on the menu served by a very pleasent compliment of Staff. Also good value for money well worth a try. Parking can be at a premium.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

dubgirlracer2005
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2011 (visited 2 October 2010)

Have been here a few times on a friday or saturday evening. The menu is really good, there is a big variety and loads to choose from. The steak sandwich is lovely and the liver pate. The atmosphere is good and the staff are very nice. The prices are quite reasonable aswell so will return one day.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

jwjnolan
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 29th August 2010 (visited 28 August 2010)

Pretty good atmosphere in The Pines on the Saturday Evening. An extensive Menu available for every taste.Very good value for money and good portions too.We had 3 staters, 6 main courses,4 coffees, 2 large bottles of mineral water and a bottle of very nice wine which was discounted by €5 with two main courses.The wine list was also very good. The service was quite good and the staff helpful and efficient.Well recommended. Competes with any high street restaurant.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

arch1
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2010 (visited 25 July 2010)

Myself & my partner visited the Pines for dinner. A large reasonably priced menu plus a full blackboard to choose from of daily specials, big decisions! we had homemade pate & goats cheese salad for starters, both were very tasty and very well presented. For mains i ordered the grilled seabass special & my partner ordered the steak sandwich. As my partner is coeliac we asked for a gluten free alternative to the accompanying pepper sauce and were informed that all sauces etc are gluten free - this is a very big positive as it can be hard to find! the seabass was beautiful & fresh and the steak sandwich was way above average standard, huge prime steak and more sides than we could eat! unfortunately we had no room for dessert but the table next to me had a tempting looking cheesecake!! overall way above average,we had no complaints with the food or service and will definately be back.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

Soyer
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th July 2010 (visited 4 July 2010)

Despite a mix up with my lunch which was dealt with in an excellent manner by the waiting staff, the food at the Pines was good, the Beef and Guinness pie contained a generous portion of tender well flavoured beef, the lamb shank was cooked well with a decent selection of veg, overall the food is not bad for local pub food.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

PUMPKIN
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2010 (visited 22 May 2010)

The menu here is very good and the food is nice, good size portions and great desserts but I still feel its expensive for a day time eat in a pub. When most restaurants are offering value deals the menu here is essentially a la carte and it can be pricey. To say its in Terenure as well is a bit of a stretch as the area really is Perrystown/Manor Estate so for a local pub I think they should offer better value for money.

The Pines Cafe Bar and Restaurant

paulaoc_
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2010 (visited 17 December 2003)

Pleasantly suprised with the quality of food on offer in The Pines. They have an extensive luch and dinner menu. I had a tasty and very filling steak sandwich. Presentation and the flavour were both great. My companion had a chicken salad and was also impressed with her choice. However, I found the prices a little steep for what is essentially pub grub.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5868 ]