Mayfield Deli & Eatery restaurant

Terenure Road North, South Dublin, Terenure, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Cuisine:
Delicatessen

Price Range:


34 reviews
4 stars - based on 34 reviews

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Submit a review
Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Ripley8
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 19th August 2017 (visited 18 August 2017)

I'm almost afraid to recommend this place as I want to keep it a secret. Quirky interiors, small well-executed menu (always a good sign), friendly staff and BYOB. You can have an excellent dinner with the wine of your choice at a minimum price, highly recommend.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

mcurran
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2017 (visited 24 June 2017)

Lovely food . Nicest Chicken Green Thai Curry I have had. Friendly staff and quirky restaurant . Worth a visit.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

evoguy
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 29th April 2016 (visited 24 April 2016)

Unfortunately the start was not great, when I asked could they scramble my egg It was a very clear and definite NO, poached eggs or no eggs I think is the motto! That said I selected an egg free brunch/lunch Swiss beagle which was very good and of a prodigious size! It has a very quirky feel, good mix of hipsters and the like.... would I be back ? .... sometime.... if they would do eggs to the order of the clients ...yep Id be back.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Redrocket
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 21 July 2015)

I ate here for the first time & was hoping for good things for brunch. I was hungry. I went for the French toast. (Though I had hoped for a stack of pancakes.) I knew when I got it that it wouldn't fill me. The compote was a bit too bitter for me & there wasn't enough maple syrup to counteract it. It looked nice & tasted nice but it wasn't great value & I left hungry. I feel I paid lunch prices for less food? Coffee was good & the service & it had that nice hipster/eclectic decor going on. Won't be rushing back though.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

ann.oconnell0750634653
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2015 (visited 18 June 2015)

Always enjoy coming here, lovely surroundings good food etc. but this time I was disappointed as I ordered battered fish and chips and the batter on the fish was not crispy. Also they have on their website an all day Early Bird Menu but when you get there they know nothing about it!

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

jwjnolan
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 29th October 2014 (visited 29 October 2014)

Downton Abbey comes to mind when dining in this fine eatery. You will find yourself lounging in 18th Century themed décor. A cosy atmosphere with the background chatter of the local clientele. I had a curried cauliflower soup accompanied by a mayo tuna baguette and a side salad. All serverd on period porcelain and a old fashioned tin tea pot. The food was delicious and the service by one of the proprietors was excellent. All for under €12. Highly recommend a visit. The dining is novel and I will be surely returning

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

ls
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th August 2014 (visited 16 August 2014)

The worst attempt at french toast I have ever had the misfortune of ordering!I was expecting a stacked mound of golden brioche topped with seasonal berries and maple syrup.What I got was two halved, cold, soggy supermarket brioche rolls flattened and drowning in what was unmistakably thawed frozen berries.Appalling at €7.50...will not be returning.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Brady
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2014 (visited 20 June 2014)

Came here for brunch, food was pretty good,nice new layout that allows more people. Staff seems a little all over the place so couldnt really get attention for paying bill etc but was still a lovely visit and Ill be back

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Kiera
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 16th June 2014 (visited 15 June 2014)

My sister passed by this place on many occasions wanting to try it and yesterday we had the opportunity. Myself, my sister and my mother went for brunch. The sun was out and everyone was in good spirits. We were seating without a reservation. Although next time I may make one as its a very popular spot. The food was diverse and everything sounded so delicious. My mother and sister for the eggs benedict and I got the chili beans with black pudding. Everything tasted fabulous and their own home made chutney was delicious. They changed my poached eggs for me no problem as I forgot to ask for them cooked through. The wine was lovely and we are already planning our dinner date there. Very nice idea with the piano player. I found the staff quite pleasant and I can only presume it was the manager very accommodating. Looking forward to trying something different from the menu.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

DonnaDance13
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th April 2014 (visited 5 April 2014)

I go here every weekend for brunch (with or without a hangover) and it is AMAZING! I love the style, the vibe, the décor, the food and the staff as well as the reasonable prices. I always get the same thing, organic smoked salmon with poached eggs and a side of banana bread. I love my food and eat out in the South of Dublin a lot but I always end up back at the Mayfield. So glad the weather is getting nicer as last Summer we spent a lot of mornings sat outside in their Union Square area sipping a mocha so cannot wait for that again. Last week for the first ever time, they were quite busy when I rocked up for lunch but we were just asked to have a look around their shop selling small vintage pieces of funky jewellery and accessories and 4 minutes later were called and directed to a table. Love this place and so glad its on my doorstep, will be back there later today

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

GrubGrapeGrain
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2014 (visited 26 March 2014)

Had lunch here this week. Ordered the sandwich special of prawn and bacon bagel with a side of their French onion soup - delicious. Great local spot. Banana bread is also super. Scones are fine - could be better.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

dbreen2002
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th February 2014 (visited 18 January 2014)

A group of us went here for a 30th birthday. They were very accommodating and our group turned out to be a bit smaller than we had booked but this was not a problem. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and talked us through the menu making recommendations for food and drinks. We all opted for starters and mains, we had brought a cake which they were more than happy to serve to us when we were ready for it. It was unanimous that the food was amazing and the portions were very generous. The menu is fairly priced but you should opt for the set menu of two or three courses as this is very good value seeing as some of the mains cost over €20. The restaurant itself is cool shabby chic with class and I'm looking forward to returning and have recommended the place to all of my friends since my visit.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Frontwindow
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th December 2013 (visited 6 December 2013)

We enjoy going here midweek, but were very disappointed when we dropped in this Friday evening and although we are quite regular customers, we were turned away as the kitchen apparently closes at. 9.30 which seems odd on a Friday evening, and especially as the place was heaving. Not very good PR when you haven't been open that long...

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Grebe
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2013 (visited 5 October 2013)

I first ate here last year and was favourably impressed. More recently, I had morning coffee with a group of women a couple of Saturday mornings ago. Most recently, I ate here earlier this evening with the husband, a son, a sister and brother--in-law and a family friend. The menu is limited but that's a good thing (I would be worried about a small restaurant that offered a wide variety). The menu stated 2 courses for Eu22 and 3 courses for Eu26. We arrived at 8.30pm and all the special main courses had gone. A couple of us had the special starter (roast tomato and pepper soup), the son had nachos, the sister had the Basque stew and the husband and I had chilli prawns. No problems. Everyone loved their starters. Main courses: three duck legs, a Mexican burger, a lamb burger (mine), and a hake with a curry sauce. Again, everyone was very happy. Finally, the puddings. A chocolate tort, a panacotta with rosewater and figs, two crumbles, a cheese plate (an additional Eu3), and a date pudding with toffee sauce (more like a cake than a pudding). For the prices, the food couldn't be faulted. Everything was well presented and the staff seemed to be very efficient. The wine list is limited but well suited to the menu. We had a lovely evening and enjoyed the quirky lay-out and decor, including the features and furnishings in the general area of the loos! Well done to everyone at Mayfield.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Peppe
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd October 2013 (visited 25 September 2013)

I used to visit Mayfield when it was first opened. It had great customer service but I revisited a couple of weeks ago and will NEVER return. I second the previous negative feedback. Customer service is appalling and it seems they have zero interpersonal skills. My Basler jacket fell off the chair on to the floor as soon as I was shoved into a table. The jacket got badly stained. I pointed this out to one of the male waiter. He promised he would see to it. Never came near me after that. I since got it cleaned and the stains cannot come out. I am furious. But more annoyed that I paid for a meal that came with no customer service. My advice to the owner - customers will not return unless you change your attitude. You have lost what I first experienced. Your livelihood depends on customers - so treat us with respect

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4777 ]