Daniels restaurant

34a Glasthule Road, Sandycove, Dunlaoghaire, Sandycove, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

12 reviews
4 stars - based on 12 reviews

Daniels

Submit a review
Daniels

Pericles
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2015 (visited 27 June 2015)

We found the food great. We tried the whitebait and the crayfish starters, then the lobster thermidor and steak. All very well presented and delicious. we will return soon. Ambience is not great, with the entrance and stairs being somewhat 'distressed', while the dining room is old fashioned but the service was very friendly and the food delicious and well priced

Daniels

Niamh84
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2012 (visited 30 December 2011)

I had been meaning to try this place for a while now as my parents go there sometimes and they recommended it. We walked in and there was only one other table in use (and when they left, one more). It felt quite empty but the little partitions made for nice cosy little spaces. The waitress was very nice, if a little over the top maybe (she was over complimentary on everything, gushed about how yummy and amazing everything on the menu was and said "great choice" after every single dish was ordered. Obviously she was very very nice but being that over the top just made everything she said seem so insincere). I had the mushroom soup to start which was delicious and I had the scampi for my main. The scampi had a very good light batter but I felt they weren't worth the price. The entire menu is very expensive, and there's no early bird or any other deals. You have to pay extra for things like chips which I find a bit silly. It's obvious that noone is going to order the meat or scampi or anything without a side order of some sort of potato so why not add it in and include in the price? The food is good but I've had just as nice or nicer for a fraction of the cost. Also, the chef comes around to each individual table to talk to you after. I'm sure some people love this, I'm just not one of those people!

Daniels

ipodrocker
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2010 (visited 29 September 2010)

went here and some people think the atmosphere is not great, but all i can say it can be quiet at times and the deluxe makes up for it. The courses are super and portions are spots on and the fresh veg you get with a main are so great. We got fresh cut potato chips with the steak and was great. We were so full the deserts got missed this time!.

Daniels

Skylar Black
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2010 (visited 14 June 2010)

So pretentious it was hard to believe... the menu is complicated and unnecessary, there is nothing wrong with simple food, the décor was aged and boring as was the music and atmosphere, the sell was old and musty and when my girlfriend only wanted 3 of the sides to eat the owner couldn't believe his ears and was quite rude thereafter. it was no surprise then that the food followed in the same steps, old half assed and sloppy, there was not enough food and main courses don't come with fries or salad despite top prices.

Daniels

manonmir

7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2010 (visited 20 February 2010)

Is this place for real? They still had Valenties decorations in the place a week afterwards. The place is so dated and naff. Couldn't believe how average the food was. I had the breaded mushrooms for a starter, it consisted of about 6 button mushrooms chopped into quarters and rolled in a tiny bit of breadcrumbs for €9, awful. The main course was quite small and nothing special. The menu overall is very 70/80s, would never go back. The decor and resturaunt is also extremely dated.

Daniels

superscouse
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2009 (visited 23 May 2009)

My wife and I booked in advance and spoke to Daniel himself. After explaining my wife was coelic, he told us he would give us his personal attention. On arrival, we identified ourselves and the man himself came out of the kitchen and went through the entire menu with us. He really did look after us and where flour could be an ingredient, he used alternative cooking methods. Starting with prawn cocktails and following on with Lobster, the food was absolutely top class. Daniel himself came out to check on us and seemed to be particularly interested in our satisfaction. I finished off with the bread and butter pudding made with raisin bread. It was soaked in liquer and was quite rich and very tasty. Both my wife and I agreed it was the best dining experience we have had to date and look forward to our return.

Daniels

turlough
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th December 2008 (visited 16 December 2008)

Daniels is a Glasthule/Sandycove institution - one of the best-kept secrets of food lovers in that area. (just see how modest the entrance is, half-hidden around a corner!) Daniel cares not a whit for modern decor or faddish designer food - what you get is brilliant, solid plentiful well-cooked Irish ingredients, served in an atmosphere that is almost like a club; on any given night, half of the clientele seem to know the other half, and Daniel himself knows everybody. The steaks are legendary- they're huge - but my favourite is the Prawns Pernod. These are Dublin Bay Prawns, not your tasteless 'Tiger Prawns' or 'Indian ocean prawns' - they're soft, round and succulent, and they have that taste that made Dublin Bay world famous. Besides being a great chef and a great host, Daniel also does a huge amount of work with underpriveliged children in South Africa - but don't mention it to him, or he''ll enlist your help! This is a restaurant run by a real person (and his kids), with a real personality, a sense of humour, and a love for chat. You'll either love it or hate it, but it's worth a try - it's the kind of place that is fast becoming extinct!

Daniels

Noshman
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 17th November 2008 (visited 17 November 2008)

Had often meant to try here as it is local to me and pass it nearly day...but I never stopped. Heck...just for the change from my usual stomps I decided to have a nosebag. The arrival is a little disappointing...plain doorway with a steep flight of stairs. Why no plants at the door, no hanging baskets of flowers? Maybe a nice warm stairs with some bright paintings? The dining room seemed to me to have frozen in time a few years ago. It is deffo of the old school type. Anyway, never judge the book by the cover....I was here to eat and not for an interior decorating course. The waitress (Ok...I'm old fashioned too, and still prefer this to "your server tonight is") wasn't pressed as the only other diners occupied 2 tables. Prompt and friendly service throughout. I ordered, as recommende by our waitress, the Plaice goujons and prawns for the GF..a very modern woman with great taste (well, she did choose me!). The goujons were great...totally fres, delicate batter, and lots of them. Nothing mean in this restaurant. The prawns were also superb, big juicy and perfectly cooked. Very good value for such fresh well cooked fish. Desserts were excellent. Nice touch....the chef a lovely large rotund man (see? portions decided by him!) came to each table to ask how we were...very welcome indeed. And he is a good chef. In the words of General Patton......I will be back.

Daniels

suzyq

89 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2008 (visited 29 March 2008)

We ate here on Saturday, the early bird is good value at €24 for 2 courses but the a la carte is obviously more expensive. The food was very tasty and the chef came out for a chat which was a very nice personal touch.

Daniels

gcoz
Dublin
84 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 17th November 2008 (visited 18 October 2007)

I've eaten here many times, mainly with family. Though the decor is very out-dated and the chef insists on coming out to speak to everyone, the food is very good. This place has a loyal following and can be very busy at weekends - I love the tempura courgettes as a side order. UPDATE: Booked a table for 8:30 on Friday & was a little shocked that the place was so empty (only two other people when we arrived). Saying that the grub was up to scratch as usual - I'd a massive t-bone steak after a very good prawn cocktail - could only manage a coffee afterwards. I hope business picks up as this place is a favourite with locals.

Daniels

rego

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th May 2007 (visited 9 May 2007)

I did not know restaurants like this existed anymore. I felt caught in a time warp. The food was like the Ronseal advert "it does what it says on the tin". The steak was the size of a small country...the quality of mere good but a bit dry and tasteless, despite me trying to drown it in pepper sauce. The special of the day was monkfish, which was smothered in cream sauce (which was rather thick and gluey), thus losing all the subtlety of the fish. I could not for the life of me understand why every meal came garnished with strawberries. If you are in your middle years and like substance over form then this might be the restaurant for you. The best thing about the restaurant was the service.... which was impeccable.

Daniels

oisinz
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th February 2007 (visited 28 February 2007)

I've been in this restaurant about 4-5 times in past 2 years, the food is extremely tasty and is prepared and cooked by the chef himself based there, a Donegal man, who likes to come out and chat while you're digging into your main course or dessert. The wine list is quite extensive, the prices may seem a bit pricey, but for the food you're getting, its well worth it. The early bird is about €25, which is very reasonable for what you get. This is approx a 7 min walk from Sandycove Dart station and a 20 min walk from Dalkey. When you're finished, a few pints in the Eagle House are in proper order.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5617 ]