Sweet Basil Thai restaurant

Lower Rathmines Road, South Dublin, Rathmines, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Thai

Price Range:

€€

49 reviews
4 stars - based on 49 reviews

Sweet Basil Thai

Submit a review
Sweet Basil Thai

irishguy

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th March 2011 (visited 12 March 2011)

Food is really good (try the green curry) and for €5 (including fried rice) its amazing. The exterior is a bit shabby, but the food more than makes up for it. You wont be disappointed.

Sweet Basil Thai

shell16
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2010 (visited 12 September 2010)

So cheap and really not bad. The atmosphere isn't great unfortunately but the food is pleasant enough, its fine for a casual meal. Had the spring rolls and Pad Thai and both were tasty and not too greasy. I'd come back...

Sweet Basil Thai

Grumpy

55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:25%

Reviewed 28th August 2010 (visited 27 August 2010)

My last visit was on a Friday night in 2007. As before the evening kicked off with 4 nice creamy pints in the Rathmines Inn across the road. The difference was that it, now called the Stout Bar, was nearly empty where before it was heaving. They have a special offer of burger,chicken or lasagne with chips and salad with any pint of your choice for €10. Must try it sometime, nobody did while we were there. Over the road I ordered a bottle of house red which turned out to be a Cono Sur Cab Sav at €16. The Cono Sur brand trumpets drinkability and at €16 is excellent value. We started with spare ribs for me and Chicken satay for my guest which were very tasty. My main of mild duck curry was unusual but good and the hot chicken curry was also good but not hot enough. Extra chillies were produced without demur. The bill came to a whopping (sic) €36.50 which we topped up to €40. Cant go wrong there !! The place was almost empty with only 2 other tables occupied and I noticed a steady stream of take aways. The friendly owner/waiter/barman told me that they are only surviving because it is family run and its the take away business that keeps them going. This place serves good food at low low prices and is great VFM. It deserves to survive.

Sweet Basil Thai

tbaby
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2010 (visited 22 August 2010)

Went for a late meal here last night, they do a curry and rice special for €5 so we thought we'd give it a go... Looks shabby from the outside but inside isn't so bad, albeit decorated in a very bizarre style. I shared the duck pancakes with a friend to start, which was lovely and at €7.50 for a half duck - very reasonably priced. Then I had the Paneang beef - the sauce was lovely but the meat was a bit tasteless and chewy, but for a fiver I didn't expect much more although I would prefer more chicken or pork choices on the €5 menu. The service was grand too but was a bit of a shame they only had Chang beer on the drinks menu as I'm not a fan. If they had singha and possibly did a bit of a re-decorate this place could be a real gem.

Sweet Basil Thai

gweilette
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2010 (visited 8 June 2010)

One of our favourite restaurants in Dublin; haven't had better Thai food anywhere in town! The restaurant looks dated, and you may have to try to catch a server's eye (odd, as you'll often be the only table in there), but the food is really fantastic and it comes out promptly. The starter + main for €12.50 deal is ongoing everyday and probably the best value food in town - the duck (in a variety of sauces - honey, tamarind, peanut, etc) is a particular favourite of mine. Though the service often seems a bit lacking, I can't criticise it too much - the first time I went there was just before Christmas, and my friend and I were given a free dessert!

Sweet Basil Thai

olideb
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2010 (visited 11 June 2010)

Walking past Sweet Basil Thai you would not think this place is so great. Even though the interior decoration is bit out of date the food and the service are so good that you won't notice it. Besides it is so good value. A must visit or take away!!

Sweet Basil Thai

foodie720
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2010 (visited 26 January 2010)

The food at Sweet Basil is Rathmines best kept secret – it’s probably the top Thai food in town. But alas, the décor is dated and basic, though clean. You can instantly see why Sweet Basil is churning out the deliveries and takeaway while its dining room remains vacant. Not the best place to go on a first date by any means, but totally acceptable if you are a foodie who just wants to get down to business. There really is no better deal in Dublin for food of this quality offered at such a reasonable price.

Sweet Basil Thai

MacAodh
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2009 (visited 1 December 2009)

Have been here a few times with my girlfriend for dinner. Each time it has been empty and I fail to see why. The food has always been fantastic, and it is great value - perfect to spoil yourself midweek. Admittedly the service is a little unpolished, but it is friendly and prompt. Both of the starters were fantastic (wontons and salt and pepper squid). My girlfriend had stir-fry chill beef which was five star. I had the week's special of beef curry. The sauce was one of the best I've eaten but the the meat, to be fair, was under par. None the less, fantastic value for a good meal.

Sweet Basil Thai

pickysarah
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th November 2009 (visited 30 October 2009)

I will try and break it down for you. If you live in the area, the food is great if you dont feel like going in to town, Not the best ambiance so if you like a take-away then that might be a better idea. I have had some horrible Asian food, so this place is a bit like a breath of fresh air in terms of quality. Both the noodle dishes and rice dishes are good, so no worries there. And dont be afraid to ask if there is somehing you would like to change. Though the staff seem very disinterested, they can be helpful.

Sweet Basil Thai

chineselouise
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th September 2009 (visited 1 July 2009)

LOVE this place and how cheap it is but my boyfriend keeps insisting on getting the carvery elsewhere on Sundays for pretty much the same price, which sucks. Seriously though, a proper dinner out for 12.50 is a steal. Not all starters are up to scratch but the main courses are unreal. Think I was a bit generous with my stars except for the value bit cos I felt the place deserved at least a 4 overall so tweaked the categories a few times. Also, the owner made me explain why I was getting a takeaway for one on Valentine's night, which was a bit embarrassing (it wasn't for me I swear!) Boyfriend, if you read this, take me here!

Sweet Basil Thai

oasis
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th July 2009 (visited 5 July 2009)

had the 12.50 deal here on Sunday. Food was tasty, portions little small but still worth the value. Service was friendly & we thought the decor was fine (previous reviews seemed a little hungup on decor!) Will defo be making this a regular outing.

Sweet Basil Thai

Aarongiz
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2009 (visited 25 June 2009)

Went here for the first time with a group of friends last week. The initial impression is underwhelming and the owner isn't particularly friendly. However, the food is excellent. We all ordered from the set menu - 2 courses for 12.50, which is exceptionally good value.A glass of the house wine will set you back 4.50 which is pretty good value and is literally filled to the brim The portions were generous and the food tasted delicious. I ordered the squid to start, which was tender and not overcooked, and the beef red curry for my main course which was really tasty. The rest of the group were happy with theirs aswell. Will definately be coming back

Sweet Basil Thai

anbl
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2009 (visited 11 April 2009)

My boyfriend and I have eaten here on several occasions and the food has always been lovely. I usually go for their thai curries (very tasty and authentic) and my bf usually orders their stir fries. I did order the pad thai on one occasion and was a little dissapointed, but everthing else we have had has been really nice. We brought some friends there recently, having heard us talking about the place and they really enjoyed it. The €12.50 set menu is excellent value for money and their wine list is great value, but maybe a bit limited. The service is ok and the decor is bit on the dark side but overall its a great place. I would definitely reccomend it if you want somewhere casual, cheap and cheerful to eat with good food.

Sweet Basil Thai

Cora1
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2009 (visited 9 May 2009)

This place is great! If you are thinking 'I'd love to head out for something to eat where there is no fuss and good value' this is the place for you. The owner cracks me up every time! He comes across grumpy but when you go a few times he warms up and is really lovely. The chicken satay is the best I have ever had and the red curry is lovely; the crinkle cut veg remind me of the 80's and I think its class! The restaurant looks like nothing but this place is not about the decor but the food and value - go back again and again!

Sweet Basil Thai

rob

20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2009 (visited 6 May 2009)

Nice enough place. We got take out, and the waiter was very friendly. Food was prompt, and smelled delicous. Unfortunately it didn't taste as nice. I had the mixed seafood, which was a tad bland, and contained something (lemongrass?) that was so tough it was inedible. My comrade's Pad Thai was apparently great. Tempura for starters was fairly poor too- seemed like pre-packaged frozen stuff. For the price, I suppose it wasn't too bad, and it did hit the spot. Won't be rushing back though...

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4911 ]