Merry Ploughboy Pub restaurant

Edmondstown Road, Rockbrook, Rathfarnham, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 16

Dublin 16

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

73 reviews
4 stars - based on 73 reviews

Merry Ploughboy Pub

Submit a review
Merry Ploughboy Pub

Clara6012
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 01st March 2015 (visited 2 February 2015)

Always enjoy eating here in the evening during the week. Nice and quiet but not too quiet. Friendly locals, a few families, happy waiting staff. I had the scampi. Always tasty and hubby had the burger, looked great and was filling. Looking forward to going back!

Merry Ploughboy Pub

daveboy90
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th December 2014 (visited 5 December 2014)

Nice location and great food at a good price

Merry Ploughboy Pub

HungryHolly
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2014 (visited 4 October 2014)

Worth a visit for late lunch or early dinner, nice food and great value, can get a bit noisy when alot of kids and familys eating in the area on the left as you come in the main door, service is always good and will definately be back

Merry Ploughboy Pub

Gilldemo
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2014 (visited 25 October 2014)

Service a bit slow,food quite tasty, homemade beef burger recommended, desserts best part of meal!!!

Merry Ploughboy Pub

pmmcpb
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 10th October 2014 (visited 8 October 2014)

The food is great the service is friendly and efficient with great value for money overall. We will be back again.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

johnmccoy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2014 (visited 4 October 2014)

Just returned from this gem of a place.food was excellent and staff were amazing. Will definitely be back again and highly highly recommend

Merry Ploughboy Pub

alamurphy37820722
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th April 2014 (visited 6 April 2014)

We were up in the Merry Ploughboys for a Birthday Celebration. The Service was very slow. When we did eventually order the food was slow to be served.. Some of our group got their orders but the food was cold and had to be returned to the kitchen. The rest of the group were left for well over an hour guests who arrived after us were served before us and we spof to staff and left. I found it very disappointing and frustrating that there were not enough staff on as we had called ahead to advise we would be coming. I will not be recommending this pub as I would not like any one to have to sit waiting for their food like we were.

Restaurant response:
In the interest of fairness and fact we defend this review. The very pleasant lady who made the booking for 15 people opted for the full Sunday a la carte menu rather than a set menu. It was explained at the time of the booking that as such they would not be served as a group but would be served table by table. This was accepted. When the group arrived, it was explained and accepted again. In addition, many members of the group were not always in their seats which slowed the taking of orders. All our food is freshly cooked and as such takes time. We do not keep any dishes "ready to go" - i.e.kept under hot lights or microwavable. We do not accept that food was cold when brought out. In fact what happened was that the particular customers said they wanted their food "piping hot ". Their requests were complied with and dishes were fixed by the kitchen. Food being served to other customers who arrived after your group is normal if they have ordered quick starters such as soup/chowder. The lady who made the booking remained on to finish her meal after some members decided to leave. She very kindly apologised to our staff for what happened. Meanwhile staff were left with unpaid bills and good food which had to be thrown out. Naturally we are disappointed to hear of any complaint which thankfully is rare in what is a very popular venue for food.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

foodie100
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2013 (visited 22 September 2013)

Really enjoyed our visits (2 times in the last month). First visit, we all enjoyed our meals. Thai chicken curry, steak baguette and burger, all excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The second visit was for traditional show. Fantastic entertainment and once again, the food was delicious. A great night was had by all. Would definitely recommend.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

Goggin
Waterford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2013 (visited 2 May 2013)

Called in here on the way back from hill-walking in Dublin Mountains and had a really nice dinner and a pint to finish off the day. Food and service were excellent. I had a Guinness to start, then the shank of lamb for main course and bread and butter pudding for dessert. My wife had fish and chips followed by chocolate fondue. Both courses delicious. Portion sizes were generous but we were famished so that was welcome. There's a holiday vibe here that you often pick up in pubs that are popular with tourists as well as locals. Highly recommended!

Merry Ploughboy Pub

davemccarrick

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th April 2013 (visited 16 April 2013)

Place was very busy for a Tuesday night, And we got the last table available when we arrive at 8pm. Service wasnt great but the food was decent.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

LUXOR5
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th March 2013 (visited 18 March 2013)

was told to try this place as id heard the food was supposed to be great what a mistake waited ages to be served by staff who wished they were somewhere else.As for the food it was below average at above average prices,will not be returning again.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

homecook
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2012 (visited 27 October 2012)

Had a lovely experience here with friends recently which I felt deserved a review. Its nice to go somewhere with people and have an enjoyable experience. To start, I had the Scallop and Prawn, exquisite! My friends opted for the Seafood Chowder and Soup with homemade Guinness bread which went down very well. Mains consisted of lamb shank, fillet steak and salmon, which were cooked beautifully ... we then shared the homemade brownie and bread & butter pudding (gorgeous) for dessert which finished the day on a high. 10/10 and will return

Merry Ploughboy Pub

masterchef1
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2012 (visited 26 October 2012)

Came here after many a friend recommended to go ... did not disappoint! Food was to die for ... all were very pleased with the quality of the food and attention to detail, you get a real sense of class here! atmosphere was great inside & the restaurant was busy which we could see is obviously testimony to the quality of food, the lamb tasting dish for mains in particular was fantastic, presentation was top class! Will definitely be back, highly recommend!

Merry Ploughboy Pub

PoshSpice
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th July 2012 (visited 14 July 2012)

Had heard great reviews of the food in the Merry Ploughboy so decided to bring American relatives here for dinner. The atmosphere is great and the food was delicious and excellently presented. The battered cod and chips was really tasty. I would definitely recommend the homemade burger! The service was good. Will be returning.

Merry Ploughboy Pub

Amandaalice09
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th May 2012 (visited 27 May 2012)

We went for lunch as a party of four expecting carvery style food and were astonished to find this gem of a restaurant on the side of the road. The girls on the floor were very eager to help us and catered for our every whim. The food was even more surprising. Out of the 12 meals eaten at the table not one plate was left with food on it from starter to desert. The food was fresh, perfectly cooked and it was apparent that this was no carvery. We all left thinking that what we paid was money well spent and are already planning a family trip to the merry ploughboy again. Many thanks x

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4655 ]