Seagrass of Portobello Bridge restaurant

30 South Richmond Street, Dublin 8, Portobello, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 8

Dublin 8

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

152 reviews
4 stars - based on 152 reviews

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

Submit a review
Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

chriswalsh007
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2016 (visited 17 December 2016)

Party of 4 here for the Early Menu 5pm which is great- 2 courses for 27euro and BYO with no corkage- which you cannot beat. I can’t count the amount of times Ive been here however my last time was a little more than a year ago. Understandably it was busy and we were put downstairs- when we arrived at our table all the other tables obviously had an early lunch in as all the table were dirty and looked like the end of a night so was a little put off my this. I have to say ask me last year and I would give the food a 5 star but my lamb was full of fat, my mash was lumpy and cold. The seafood chowder tasted different from I had it previously, like the recipe had changed. My friends food was cold and two had to be returned - and the 2nd time the chicken was well over -done and dry, but the time both my friends food returned I was finished. Felt a little embarrassed as I raved about this place all the time to my friends and while they didn’t admit it I know they won’t return. Could be just the Xmas period (even though it wasn’t busy) but it’s put me off going back.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

SUSANJ
Dublin
176 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2016 (visited 6 March 2016)

Was back here last Sunday for lunch with my husband. Was delighted to see that they had put on a vegan option on the menu, Ive been nagging them for a while about that!!. We started with a delicious roast courgette soup, followed by grilled veg with bean casserole. We ordered some cajun chips on the side. The roast veg were lovely but I did feel it was a little nouvelle cuisine as the tiny pot of bean casserole could have been bigger, we really did need the chips on the side. Beautiful food, beautifully presented and BYOB with no corkage and 12 euro for two courses, excellent value and cuisine.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

bevin.herbert50281243
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 16th February 2016 (visited 14 February 2016)

Really disappointed with this place ordered risotto and pate to start pate was nice but risotto was tasteless no seasoning ! We both ordered lamb shanks for mains which were cold sent them back and then received mocrowave overheated versions which at least we're warm, accompanied by over cooked roast veg and a nice polenta mash. Unfortunately the sauce was very sticky and not very pleasant. Dessert was chocolate fudge cake and apple pie. Apple pie was nice , chocolate fudge cake was very dense and lumpy consistency really not tasty at all. Really overall a very unpleasant eating experience will definitely never go back !

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

Jemima124
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 14th December 2015 (visited 4 December 2015)

We went to Seagrass as part of our Christmas work night out. The food was excellent value and very good. However the service was a little slow but I think that had to do with the busy period so I think I would like to go back another evening after Christmas to try!

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

trish1osullivan
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th August 2015 (visited 21 June 2015)

Had a staff do here. After initial mix up over booking , the staff could not have been more attentive. The food was excellent and beautifully presented . They didn't rush us out at end of the evening and all in all were very relaxed. Everyone of group of over 20 staff, was very pleased. Phew- a relief for the organiser!

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

Sturgan
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 18th August 2015 (visited 7 July 2015)

I went to 'Seagrass' for a birthday meal and thoroughly enjoyed it.The menu was very eclectic,the dish which we all raved about was the risotto.I had a very unusual but delightful vegetarian main course while the forest berry tiramisu was a winner all round.Because it was a Tuesday evening there was a very good value menu on all night and we brought our own wine so all in all it was a gteat way to start a new year-I'll definitely be back before long.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

SUSANJ
Dublin
176 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 18 July 2015)

I was back in this amazing restaurant on Saturday. Seagrass agreed to do a vegan menu for myself and my friends. They are always so accommodating and myself and husband and other friends have had many meals there. However, on this occasion I was going with 8 friends, 9 of whom were vegan. They a choice of two starters, one nettle risotto and one aubergine and courgette dish. For mains we were offered veg stew or a mixed veg dish and a lemon sorbet for dessert. The food was amazing. We brought our own wine and enjoyed 3 courses for 14 euro. This is without doubt the classiest restaurant in town and the best value. Win win all around.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

nettlegreentea
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2015 (visited 30 June 2015)

lovely restaurant with an excellent hostess. great service. byob policy made it such an affordable night out and the risotto starters were really good. qould definitely go back

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

SUSANJ
Dublin
176 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th April 2015 (visited 3 April 2015)

Was back here last Friday with friends. They could not get over the prices, food and ambience of the place. Myself and my hubbie had vegan options, delicious carrot and chilli soup for starters and our mains were a mushroom, chestnut and pureed parsnip dish with a side order of grilled veg. At 12 e for 2 courses and 14 for 3, this is amazing food at unbelievable price. I'm going back again this Friday with more friends. This is the best place in Dublin by a longshot. It has become my latest addiction. With BYOB added in, its an affordable one. Well worth going to again and again.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

Iano
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th February 2015 (visited 21 February 2015)

Excellent food, but the service was very very slow. We were told they needed the table back by 9.30. We got our starters at 9.15, so that wasn't going to happen. Once the food courses were delivered we weren't visited by the waietrs until well after we had finished. So asking for things like water and bread was a struggle. I'd go back for the food though

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

SUSANJ
Dublin
176 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2015 (visited 19 February 2015)

I have said it before and I will say it again – You get more bang for your buck in Portobello. I have been to a few eateries in South Richmond Street over the last few months and I have been amazed at the price,quality of food and good service and many establishments offering BYOB with no corkage. I am tired of paying 25 quid for a bottle of mediocre wine when you can buy a nice wine for 8 euro and bring it with you. It makes a hell of a difference to the price of the meal. With this in mind. I set out with my two good friends Dorothy Murphy and Mary Shiel after a lunch time play in Powerscourt Townhouse for a nice relaxing lunch in Seagrass in Portobello. OK, it has to be said this is definitely the Jewel in Portobello’s crown. In fact, I would go so far as to say it is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. I looked up the menu online and it looked really interesting. I’m vegan but my friends are not. There were two very interesting vegetarian options on the menu and when I enquired about vegan options, I was told there was no problem creating same. We arrived in the restaurant and there was one large group and another few small groups in situ, which was not bad for 2.30 on a Thursday afternoon. The restaurant is lovely, very elegant and laidback with some nice art work on the walls. We were met by a lovely waitress who had a love smile and made us feel extremely welcome. We were handed the menus. As I said they sounded really interesting.The prices, however, were unbelievably reasonable. 5 euro for starters and 10 euro for main courses, BYOB with no corkage (we brought 2!) and incredibly, an offer for January and February of buy one get one free on starters AND mains. We had bought our own wine so I assumed this offer would not be on the table, so to speak, but still felt it was great value. We duly ordered. I ordered the soup which was a roast pepper soup. Absolutely delicious. Our main courses arrived with just the right time between courses. I had a gnocchi with aubergine, mushrooms, whole garlic and loads of herbs in a lovely sauce. It was fantastic. My friends loved their main courses and again raved about the presentation. No nouvelle cuisine portions here. The atmosphere was wonderful and the staff so attentive. We asked for our bill and unbelievably, they had taken off one starter and one main from the bill. This Is Michelin Star cooking at high street prices. When I think of what so many mediocre restaurants charge for a bland pizza or pasta dish in comparison. Our bill came to 38 euro. We were gobsmacked. Beautiful food at unbelievably low prices, presented by somebody who obviously enjoys the craft of cooking, a fabulous classy restaurant with wonderful staff. I will be back again very soon and so will my friends. In fact, they are telling everyone they know about this place. Get in there quick because this amazing offer for lunch finishes at the end of this month. I cannot wait to go back. Seagrass, South Richmond Street, Portobello (just up from Kelly’s corner). Grab a bottle of wine in the Spar on the corner and head in there. If they added a few vegan options to their menu, I might never leave the place! Absolutely amazing. Highly highly highly recommended.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

cheekychap
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:32%

Reviewed 09th February 2015 (visited 7 February 2015)

Lovely fod,great atmosphere and BYOW makes this place really good value!

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

acallanan
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 07th February 2015 (visited 6 February 2015)

Had a lovely meal here. We both had a risotto starter with pancetta. This was lovely. I was not as keen on the main course. I had braised beef with sweet potato mash ad courgettes. The mash was more like a puree but the rest was fine. My friend had the chicken dish which she liked. We shared choc cake for dessert which was really nice. The ice cream with it was refreshing. The bill came to 50 euros for 2 starters, 2 main courses and 1 dessert. As this is BYO, it was very reasonable price

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

sclarke0705
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2015 (visited 30 December 2014)

Thank you so much for a beautiful meal! For a Vegetarian with special dietary requirements, there was no hassle catering for me. Food and service was amazing.

Seagrass of Portobello Bridge

mariahennessy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2014 (visited 19 December 2014)

Really nice food...I had crab risotto, the duck and the most amazing dessert...an orange and chocolate half baked cake!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5128 ]