O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

135 Morehampton Road, Donnybrook, D04 HX46, Donnybrook, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

87 reviews
4 stars - based on 87 reviews

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

Submit a review
O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

jsac122855202320
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 26th July 2017 (visited 26 July 2017)

I brought my 2 teenage sons for dinner on our 1st night in Ireland and we were graciously received without a reservation by friendly, well presented staff. Cathy cared for us and was very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive to our needs. I am happy we found such a classy restaurant to begin our adventures in Ireland! Well done O'Connells, you have our recommendation.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

deirdreemacdonnell57350886
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 28th April 2017 (visited 26 April 2017)

tasteless food, fabulous staff. nondescript tasteless fish. overcooked burger.good coffee. very disappointing.This was a birthday treat, poor value .

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

joannef136808438
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 01st February 2016 (visited 30 January 2016)

Very disappointing. Nicely dressed tables with white linen and silver service and a nice waiter. The menu was completely uninspiring and there just didn't seem to be any love, imagination or creativity in the menu options. So much so that I only had a starter and dessert. I've never gone to a restaurant and not ordered a main course. I had the fish cake for starter. It was bland and on a bed of rocket that had no dressing. A small little asian type of salad might have been a nicer accompaniment. One of the group ordered 'plums' for desert and what came out was half a plum! When I brought this to the attention of the waiter he did bring out another bowl with 1 plum. Just not up to scratch. I have no problem paying good money for good food but I do have a problem paying good money for food thats bland and uninspiring.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

unclefreddie
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2016 (visited 6 January 2016)

Starters and puds were excellent. Unfortunately the rib-eye steak was disappointing. Service was good and would go there again.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

unclefreddie
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2016 (visited 6 January 2016)

Starters and puds were first class. Alas, the rib-eye steak was not of the same quality.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

chezwam
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2015 (visited 26 May 2015)

The food is ok, but nothing exceptionnal>overpriced and not a big choice in the menu

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

Jasmin55
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2015 (visited 29 May 2015)

We had a very disappointing meal in O’Connell’s in Donnybrook last weekend. We live in Donnybrook and had visitors home from the U.S. so we decided to treat them to dinner in what we would always have considered -up till now- the best of our neighbourhood restaurants. We went early to avail of the early-bird menu and before the restaurant got too busy as it can get quite noisy. While everyone was happy enough with the starters: soup, black pudding, mozzarella salad, etc., we found the choice of main course extremely limited and as one of the guests said afterwards ‘very mean’ for a restaurant of its reputation. The meat eaters were confined to a pork chop unless they wanted to pay an extra €5 for the steak. Another guest prefers fish to meat – river trout was the only fish offering, again more suitable for a starter. We also had a couple of vegetarians whose only choice for main course was a dish of mushrooms baked in the oven with an egg in the centre! While this might have passed for a starter, it was served as a main course with no side dishes! We had 2 choices for dessert, trifle and panna cotta, both fairly non-descript. This was not the dining experience we were expecting. While the service was attentive, it certainly could not compensate for the poor range of food on offer. Overall, a very disappointing and poor value dining experience. O’Connells has started catering for a lot of coach tours so perhaps that is their main focus now. We will certainly think twice before returning.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

Claret
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd February 2015 (visited 20 February 2015)

Very welcoming staff- and they were very accommodating to my elderly mother with us for dinner. Huge menu to choose from , our whole group (6) each had something different and everybody was very pleased. Will definitely be back .

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

unclefreddie
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2015 (visited 6 January 2015)

First class food, service and great value (with voucher!!). Nothing bad to say about our visit. Coeliac support second to none. Would revisit tomorrow.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

kinnear1853292547
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd October 2014 (visited 3 October 2014)

My family and I dined here this evening for the first time. We had heard great reviews about the friendly service and warm atmosphere. We had also heard that the menu is suitable for coeliacs and had a range of options to choose from for my sister. When we first arrived we were welcomed in by a team of friendly staff who showed us to our table. The ambiance was inviting and cosy, idea for families who would like to have a quality but relaxed dining experience. The menu was in some ways limited, however after tasting a range of dishes that we collectively ordered I was greatly impressed by the overall quality of the food. I decided to go for a smoked salmon starter, followed by the fillet steak and chips for my main. My fellow dinners chose the duck along with fish and vegetarian dishes which were simple but extremely tasty. There was a beautiful serving of potato gratin which was left at the table to accompany all of our dishes and this was absolutely divine! My steak was cooked to perfection and I was extremely happy with it. For dessert, I decided to go for the tasting menu including chocolate pudding and rasberry panacotta. I would have preferred if the pudding was more moist in the middle but the panacotta was delicious. It would have been better if there was more choice on the dessert menu as chocolate lovers are limited to only one option. Overall O'Connells was a brilliant dinning experience with excellent service and a relaxed family atomsphere. I would definately reccomend it for family meal. We all had a fantastic time and everyone was really happy with their food.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

SGM
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2014 (visited 28 August 2014)

Second visit to this restaurant in the past year. Love the ambiance of the place. Value rating is based on using a deal voucher. We dined on a Thursday, the restaurant wasn't particularly busy but the service was poor. There was plenty of staff, but appeared to be disorganised. Both our starters were very nice. Main's were disappointing; streak was ordered med-rare but arrived very well done. However, there was no problem having it replaced. Monkfish risotto was lovely, and plentiful but very small pieces of fish. Veg was almost non-existent on both mains. Overall the portions for all courses (risotto aside) were small. We were disappointed but we will give it another try.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

ebhlin1
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th September 2014 (visited 13 September 2014)

Fabulous meal. Have been several times and never disappointed. The best restaurant in Dublin. Can't wait for next deal.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

macflyer
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th September 2014 (visited 30 August 2014)

Warm welcome,good food ...will dine there again!

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

natnif

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2014 (visited 3 September 2014)

Very quiet for a Thursday lunch. Lamb's kidneys and cod very good. Small portion of potato dauphinoise between two. Asked for more and charged extra. Charged 50c for bottle of what I believe was filtered tap water in a fancy bottle.

O'Connells Restaurant Donnybrook

shayaroche
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2014 (visited 29 August 2014)

Service slow at start...then improved Could do with more Irish staff!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4847 ]