The Waterloo Bar restaurant

36 Upper Baggot Street, Dublin 4, D04 R6Y6, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

38 reviews
4 stars - based on 38 reviews

The Waterloo Bar

Submit a review
The Waterloo Bar

goldenpeter
Wicklow
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2015 (visited 3 May 2015)

Had a great Sunday brunch at the Waterloo. We both had the Super Moroccan chick pea salad to start, which was very tasty. For the main I had the Mixed Grill which would feed an army! Wonderful pork and leek sausages, smoked bacon, and beef brisket. My wife had the cod and chips which also looked great. Service was very quick and efficient and the pub had a nice atmosphere. We'll be back!

Restaurant response:
Thanks Peter, glad you both enjoyed! And we hope to see you back in The Waterloo soon enough!

The Waterloo Bar

Elizabeth5
Meath
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2015 (visited 6 May 2014)

One word..fantastic..

The Waterloo Bar

TheEEST
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2014 (visited 2 January 2014)

Dining for couples and small groups of people, food is great and price is adequate. Did not use the bar this time.

Restaurant response:
Thanks! Hope to see you in with us again soon!

The Waterloo Bar

franbailey
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2013 (visited 17 September 2013)

great night out . Food was excellent. staff very friendly . beautiful place to dine

The Waterloo Bar

foodfair
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2013 (visited 15 September 2013)

Excellent food, excellent interior. Never been there before..so was expecting your usual pub grub fare but this exceeded expectations

The Waterloo Bar

steveplambert
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2013 (visited 1 January 2008)

Wasn't expecting much and was very pleasantly surprised.

The Waterloo Bar

boleary
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th September 2013 (visited 9 September 2013)

Very good food and very good value. Would go again.

The Waterloo Bar

audfagan
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2013 (visited 8 September 2013)

Decor great .. Clean spacious but we were the only diners!

The Waterloo Bar

aileenmoon
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th August 2013 (visited 27 August 2013)

The food was lovely (particularly the Dar Chocolate and Hazlenut pyramid for dessert!) but it is quite pricey for a 'bar and grill' set-up. Staff were very professional.

The Waterloo Bar

foley.barry
Wexford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st August 2013 (visited 1 August 2013)

I've worked and socilised in Ballsbridge for over 30 years and frequent the Waterloo from time to time. As the pub is nearly, always empty on a week-night we didn't bother to call and just turned up on the Thursday evening (we never read the detail on the voucher -Sunday thru Wednesday - our fault) keeping in mind the pub had about 20 people in it! About 6pm we were shown to our table and we had a choice as all tables were unoccupied. After producing the voucher we were told it was not valid for that night etc: There was a bit of a scene so we decided to go elsewhere and use the voucher another time. Then, and only then, she decided she could take the voucher and risk getting into trouble!!! For an empty pub??? We also had to have desert as it could not be exchanged for a starter.... I will be back for drinks as its a lovely pub where you can relax and enjoy a drink and chat.

The Waterloo Bar

evilotree
Kildare
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2013 (visited 14 August 2013)

Ate here last night with 2 pals. We had an early booking and when we arrived the premises was fairly empty but even so it had a lovely warm feeling. There seemed to be 2 staff members on duty and both of them were very welcoming . On the recommendation of our waitress we had a lovely Tempranillo Rioja . Food wise we had Satay Chicken and the Salmon with side of the roasted veg. The flavours were just wonderful. One of the diners said it was one of the nicest satay dishes she ever had. The desserts caused a bit of a headache as they all sounded so wonderful -after much deliberation we opted for the Strawberries with the blackpepper and basil, the tarte tatin and the chocolate pyramid. They were all amazing desserts - the flavours and the presentation were A1 - so nice to finish a night on such a high note. This is a venue we'll definitely be back to - keep up the wonderful food and hold onto you're wonderful friendly efficient staff

The Waterloo Bar

LittleFish
Dublin
61 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2013 (visited 7 March 2013)

Good experience here. Went during the week for a quick lunch. Service was efficient, menu was well balanced - some reasonable options and some pricier ones too. We all went for soup and sandwich option - really delicious Celeriac, Walnut and Blue cheese soup - pretty heavy but incredibly nice - was a cold day too so was very much the right thing. I had the wine marinated beef baguette - bread was really good, nice salad leaves and nicely presented on a wooden chopping board with the soup. For 8.50 a man the standard was very high and we all left full and happy if a little lethargic for the office.

The Waterloo Bar

kid_143
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2012 (visited 23 August 2012)

Impromptu early dinner with my flatmate last Thursday, I opted for the marinated olives followed by the sea bass with safran risotto. The olives arrived in a small lake of brine and weren't great value at EUR 3, the sea bass was very nice but the risotto a bit underdone. The verdict from across the table was mixed (bread & dips starter, fish pie main), the fish pie did look very runny. Attentive service to the point of giving the impression of the table only being ours for half an hour (it wasn't to be fair.)

The Waterloo Bar

jg229e
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th July 2012 (visited 5 July 2012)

I ended up at the Waterloo on a Thursday night for an impromptu dinner with a friend. Her meal she said was lovely. I had the carrot and lemongrass soup which was delicious however my main which I took as Mozzarella and tomato salad was disappointing. Straight away it was clear the mozzarella was not fresh. I sent it back and they were very good and apologetic, and took it off the bill.

The Waterloo Bar

Andrea23
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 13 March 2012)

We bought a deal from menu pages to eat here and the food was excellent! We both enjoyed our food, I had the steak it was perfect. The waitress had not been informed of the deal and therefore let the whole experience down as she was not not very welcoming. I would go again though as the food was that good.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4598 ]