Bianconis Bistro restaurant

232 Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

49 reviews
4 stars - based on 49 reviews

Bianconis Bistro

Submit a review
Bianconis Bistro

fgoulding
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th May 2015 (visited 25 April 2015)

We made our second visit to Bianconis for dinner in just a few weeks, as we really enjoy this Italian Bistro. It looks like a cafe or deli from the outside but inside it's one of D4's little secrets. The Italian owner is really attentive (which you may or may not like) and the food is great. Whilst they do have International food (which truth be known is standard & boring), you really should stick to the Italian cuisine as it's wonderful. You can even pick up the ingredients from the deli when you leave. We prefer to eat late and this place is full of atmosphere up until closing time.

Bianconis Bistro

fgoulding
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th December 2014 (visited 12 December 2014)

Visited this restaurant last night on the spur of the moment and we were pleasantly surprised. The service is wonderful, great Italian hospitality and attention to detail. The food is a mixture of Irish fare and Italian specialities. You can even buy some of the products used for the cooking in their Deli. It's not the cheapest place but if you're in D4 and can't be bothered to visit the centre of town, it's worth a visit. By the way, it's more Italian than Dunne & Crescenzi. Highly recommended.

Bianconis Bistro

fmcauliffe
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2014 (visited 28 July 2014)

Lovely food - very friendly atmosphere

Bianconis Bistro

Sierra123
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2012 (visited 11 March 2012)

Went on one of those vouchers deals i.e. €60 worth of food & drink for 2 for €30. Since the 3 course set menu was €22 that left us with €16 for drinks including tea & coffee, plenty you would think since I'm a teetotaler. I asked could I also see the a la carte menu too as well as the specials set menu. The gentleman in charge explained there was a chowder & a parsnip soup. Both I & my companion interpreted that the chowder was available on the special set menu & we both went for it. It was to die for, full of delicious chunks of salmon & white fish though a tad underseasoned. It was served with 1 slice of stout bread, unusual but unlike the soup, limited. I'm a pepper freak & asked for a black pepper mill & then white pepper since both shakers on the table were salt, their mistake not mine. I sensed some audible irritation from the gentleman serving on my 2nd request for white pepper. The medallions of pork had been replaced by pork belly which I hate so I went for the lemon chicken from the limited menu. It had the taste of the Med alright but it was plain & only came with a light jus, nothing to rave about IMHO. My companion had salmon simply done & he loved it. His roast (more sauteed) & my mashed potatoes were to die for, the latter was lovely & creamy. There had been a run on the Tiramisu & there was none left for moi by 3pm which annoyed me. I went for warm lemon drizzle cake with amaretto ice cream which was gorgeous, my companion went for apple crumble with vanilla ice cream but got amaretto instead. He really enjoyed it despite the mistake in the order. On being presented with the bill it turned out we owed €9. I only had 1 mineral & tea, my companion had a glass of wine costing €6.50 with regular coffee. The voucher should have more than covered it. When I queried it the proprietor told us he had charged us from the a la carte menu as I requested. I had done nothing of the sort, I had just asked to see it & certainly wouldn't have chosen that chicken dish had I been ordering from it. Both of us w

Bianconis Bistro

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2012 (visited 8 March 2012)

Four of us had an early-bird at Bianconis early in the evening, so the restaurant was very quiet. I started with the Bruschetta, which was a bit too oily. My wife's Pate was perfect however. We shared the daily pizza special, caramelised onion and rocket, as recommended, and this was delicious. I'd also recommend the American Hot / Pepperoni pizza. I'd a glass of house red, from Abruzzo, and this was well above par. Service was attentive and helpful, and we all agreed that we would visit again, without hesitation.

Bianconis Bistro

bsbgirl
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2011 (visited 17 August 2011)

really enjoyed this restaurant, quite pleasant, with candles and all. We went there with a voucher we bought online so we didnt know what to expect, but we were surprise by the quality of the food, we had the fish of the day served with potatoes and the potatos was amazing taste. We also got two glasses of white wine. We didnt ordered dessert but got the delicious homemade italian icecream instead, which we ate on the way home. The icecream was perfect. Great experience, would definately go back to this place!

Bianconis Bistro

yummy84
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2011 (visited 12 August 2011)

Just went here for coffee and scone with friend and found it reasonable. Really nice coffee. Scone was good but nicer if it was warmer. Staff very friendly. Would like to try more of their food!

Bianconis Bistro

JESSE
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2011 (visited 3 June 2011)

Have been here quite a few times and really enjoy every time I go. Last time, I had a salad plate with three salads which were delicious and so fresh. Friendly staff. Great place to stop for a coffee and a browse of the paper or lunch. Close to RTE so you might even spot star or two!

Bianconis Bistro

davsheen
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th June 2011 (visited 8 June 2011)

Visited this well known Italian opposite Vincents Hospital on the Merrion Road. Food was excellent and very friendly staff, portions very generous and everything was great value. They have a good selection of wine as well def worth the visit out to them .

Bianconis Bistro

lateeater
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2011 (visited 26 May 2011)

Have a really enjoyed friend's bothday trips here. Lovely cosy, atmosphere. The early bird menu is excellent value too. And even though I got the impression it's frequented mostly by couples and groups, I was there with my sis and her 2-year old and they were very obliging and brought out some toddler-friendly food.

Bianconis Bistro

JCMCC99
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 11th June 2011 (visited 11 June 2011)

We visited Bianconis on a Saturday night at 7pm. The restaurant amounts to one very long corridor and is totally lacking in character. We had a meal voucher for €60 and was offered a set meal for €25 less the dessert and a glass of wine. The voucher value was clearly overstated by the management in view of the set menu pricing. The restrictions pertaining to the voucher were not highlighted properly when purchased. We have reviewed the meal as if we had paid the full prices. My wife had a cheese starter and I had the pate which were OK but nothing exceptional. Main courses - salad and fish dish. Again both were reasonable quality food but nothing exceptional. Service was extremely slow and quite poor and well below the standard one would expect. Ten to fifteen minute wait between courses. Red Sicilian wine at €29.50 was good quality wine. Overall very poor atmosphere, appalling service and just about OK food. Medicocre experience at best, not recommended. Definitely Will not be back.

Bianconis Bistro

Melendez
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2011 (visited 24 February 2011)

Called in for lunch. Quiche wasn't great but acceptable and came with three nice fresh salads. Half pizza and chips was excellent - being awkward I asked for a fresh pizza as we were late for lunch and the one waiting to be reheated looked a bit tired, it was worth the wait. Nice people and good value.

Bianconis Bistro

jalapenohead
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2011 (visited 1 January 2011)

Great service, great atmosphere, lovely choice of desserts. They will pack up your pizza to take away if you're not finished which is very nice. Top standard food. A great little place to have in this part of dublin!

Bianconis Bistro

DarkSideOfTheMoon
Kildare
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2010 (visited 27 November 2010)

We were members of a party of about 20 there for a Family reunion & we didn't pay, so cannot comment on the value. However I do have to say, the food was excellently prepared and tasted superb. I had the salmon for starters,, then the sirloin, and both tasted really good, with the steak done exactly as I wanted. Our 4 yo Daughter was also well looked after, and she loved the pasta. We will be back!

Bianconis Bistro

buttons

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2010 (visited 8 November 2010)

I went here for the second time this year. This time as a party of five and all had a wonderful meal. The food hot plates were very hot and the place was clean and warm. There was one waiter serviceing the whole place and he did a wonderful job advising us on the dishes of the day. Great night out we were all very happy. Will be back again.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4686 ]