McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Roganstown Golf & Country Club, North Co. Dublin, Swords, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

22 reviews
4 stars - based on 22 reviews

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Submit a review
McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

staff1960
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th March 2016 (visited 10 March 2016)

Visited for dinner with friends. Very quiet for a Thursday. The food is absolutely fantastic. The chef obviously has a great talent but the service was poor. The waiter didn't have the skills to match the food that was being served or possibly, the interest. One of our table was left waiting for their main course while he tried to describe the food on the rest of our plates. I would have thought that it was unnecessary to describe the food on an al a carte menu but only on a tasting menu. He also failed with a specific request made by one of our party that tea be served at the same time as a dessert resulting in the dessert being finished when the tea arrived. All in all, great food, reasonable price but uninterested waiter with no class.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Light and Tasty
Down
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st July 2012 (visited 30 July 2012)

Our friends wanted to meet us near the airport for a meal and I did some researching - finding reviews online very helpful in making a decision. Our American friends chose the Caesar salad and smoked salmon and I had a chicken and fois gras terrine. We were served warm bread rolls which were delicious. All of the starters were very good - mine was served with little pickled mushrooms which was a new item for this foodie! The choice was not very wide but my husband chose steak (and no starter) which was excellent and beautifully presented as was the salmon with crushed tomato potatoes served with asparagus. Our fourth was the vegetarian pasta which was also very good. Handcut chips with the steak and the skinny fries were both well cooked. Nice bottle of Chianti, declined dessert and the service was friendly and efficient. It was an excellent meal and left our friends with a good final taste of Irish cuisine. Thanks!

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

glutenfreelady
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th May 2011 (visited 29 May 2011)

I dined in McLaughlins restaurant last night. This website identifies them as coeliac friendly - they are not. We had two waiters and neither of them knew what the term meant. When asked, they said that all of the dishes were gluten free. Of course they were not! After a double check with the chef, for dessert, I was offered cheesecake without the base or a knickerbockerglory without the brown bread ice cream and the caramelised bananas. Not coeliac friendly at all at all. Very disappointing. So all coeliac and gluten allergy sufferers, take note. Apart from this, it was a nice restaurant with a lovely atmosphere and an enjoyable evening. But I have to note that they are not coeliac friendly at all.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

lennemcg
Dublin
77 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 26th October 2010 (visited 23 October 2010)

Myself an my boyfriend stayed in the hotel for the long weekend and went for dinner one of the evenings. I thought the staff were lovely and helpful an the restaurant was nice. The food was also good, my favourite part had to be the reaspberry and passionfruit eaton mess.. the only draw back would be i woulda liken if there was one or two slightly cheaper options as once it was past the early bird time the mains got rather pricey.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th September 2010 (visited 5 September 2010)

I had previously eaten in the bar here. Today we chose the restaurant but perhaps we would have been wiser going to the bar. We two along with three other people were the only patrons in the place. On arrival we were sternly asked if we had a reservation. Even though we did it was hardly important due to the emptiness of the place. I didn't find the service great here. It could have been more smiling, friendly and attentive. The people next to us were sorting out the final touches to their wedding reception which was going to be held in this establishment. Staff were fussing over their table much to the neglect of ours. On a more positive note the food was very good in taste, temperature and presentation. The lunch menu offered a fair enough choice of food. I found the atmosphere lacking in this eatery mostly due to the small number of patrons who were seated in a large empty dining room. In addition the butter which accompanied the tasty bread rolls came served in two chipped dishes which I find totally unacceptable. In relation to here I found relatively good value for money food tainted by poor service and lack of atmosphere. On todays visit I would not return to the restaurant but would perhaps opt for the bar food in future.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

ilovemenupages
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2010 (visited 6 February 2010)

My Girlfriend and I ate here a few weeks ago. Without a doubt the best meal out we have had in a long time, not only were the staff friendly but the food was amazing. best fillet steak ever! After we stuffed ourselves we kicked back in the cosy bar for a few. Definietly recommend staying the night, well worth it, great value. We will be back!

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

loriemartin09
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th February 2010 (visited 19 November 2009)

I got buffulo wings to start and they were the best ever the sauce that came with them was utterly gorgeous the best I have ever tasted and I dont usally like celery but the celery with them seemed to compliment them beautifully. The service was very great the waitress My boyfriend and I got was very nice she chatted with us a bit and made me feel comfortable it wasnt over bearing at all. Although there wasnt many people there I really liked the place as it had a homely touch to it with the fireplace. The value of the meal was reasonable as the food quality was so high.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Foodie100
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th October 2009 (visited 2 October 2009)

I had dinner here with 2 business colleagues on a Friday night. I had booked through menupages and received a confirmation of booking but they had no record of this when we arrived. It wasn't a problem however as the dining room was less than half full. The food and service were good but not exceptional. We had a pleasant evening but were really given no reason to rush back.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

edelcass
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2009 (visited 27 June 2009)

Have been here twice over last two months and have been impressed both times. Each time was in a lrg group, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Food was really lovely no complaints. Atmosphere was good too. Price seems a little steep to me but the food is really good so worth a try! The hotel are doing some great deals at minute that include dinner so well worth a look

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

olivehanley
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2009 (visited 3 July 2009)

i LIKE THIS PLACE A LOT, the quality of the food when you get it is great and the wedges and fries are fantastic and absolutely delicious, big chunky fries-my favourite. The service is ok, one may be left waiting a while and feel like they are being ignored, I think it may be the poor observation skills of staff to note when customers are ready to order. The food though is very good and the ambience is quintessentially great and relaxed. The value is fair, perhaps would benefit from a few well priced specials

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

Andrea

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2009 (visited 4 April 2009)

Came here with a large party, 14, and all I can say is that it never felt like were neglected extremely attentive without being annoying. One of our party is lactose intolerant so they made a dessert from scratch for him. The veggies were well catered for with a nice selection. Good wine menu and they allowed us to bring our own champagne in at a corkage charge. Overall the room is a perfect size tables are nicely spaced out so if there is a large group and table of 2 can still feel comfortable.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

shmod
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 27 February 2009)

I absolutely adore this restaurant. I have been twice in the past two weeks and cant wait to make it three! Both times the food has been delicious and the service is extremely efficient and friendly. The portions are very generous too. The room is quite big and rarely full but a roaring fire at the end of the room really makes up for this and provides a really cosy romantic atmosphere. I would strongly recommend.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

guinnessman
Dublin
81 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 28th January 2009 (visited 28 January 2009)

Great food and as there were 5 of us at the table we made our own atmosphere as there were only 2 other tables used. The food is a high standard and I've eaten here before and the food was of a similar high standard. It is a little over priced. We didn't drink wine so it kept the price down. It is worth a visit and the setting is first class. I'll be back but not on a regular basis.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

stirfry
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th June 2008 (visited 12 January 2008)

This is a stunning hotel in a wonderful location with the most gorgeous lounge. Sadly the restaurant doesn't measure up. It is enormous and in half a dozen visits, I've never seen more than 4 tables occupied. It's like being in a library - you're almost afraid to talk! Food is always good and staff lovely but it's a very expensive evening given the total lack of atmosphere. They do serve some food in the lounge, though not a great selection. But it's a nicer place to sit and socialise.

McLoughlins Restaurant @ Roganstown Hotel

aismul
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2008 (visited 11 February 2008)

I ate here last night. It was lovely. The staff were fairly attentive and the food was great. There was a bit of a delay between meals, but nothing crazy. It's the second time I've eaten here and both times have been good.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4747 ]