The Ivy House restaurant

114 Upper Drumcondra Road, Drumcondra, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 9

Dublin 9

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Casual Dining

Price Range:


44 reviews
4 stars - based on 44 reviews

The Ivy House

Submit a review
The Ivy House

fuzzy

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:17%

Reviewed 03rd August 2016 (visited 3 August 2016)

Lovely place, good food, great staff.

The Ivy House

dellpros
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2016 (visited 6 May 2016)

So disappointed to be writing this review. Having been a loyal customer of the Ivy House for many years (15 plus) and a regular visitor with my family (4 of us) and friends (family of 3), I am disappointed to say that we will not be returning. I will point out that it is not due to the food which has always been of a high standard but due to the rudeness and sheer arrogance of both of the supervisors on duty yesterday evening (Friday 6th May). When we arrived we were quite shocked to see that the menu had been changed (prices increased) and the complimentary drink had been removed which we felt always set The Ivy House aside from other establishments in the area. However we proceeded to order our food and enjoy our evening. However we did notice posters on the wall offering a free drink with the early bird menu (from which 2 of our group ordered) so we queried the final bill when it arrived. We requested to speak to the manager but told we couldn't as he was busy. When we pointed out the advertisement we were told that the free drink is tea/coffee/milk only!!! Not a free drink in my opinion!!!! The attitude of the supervisors we dealt with were appalling and their customer service skills certainly leave a lot to be desired....the "like it or lump it/tough s**t" attitude doesn't bode well for The Ivy House going forward. Both my husband and a our friends have been in the hospitality industry for 30+ years and we were stunned by the reactions and attitude of the supervisors.

The Ivy House

melissa.graves53046129
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 26th January 2016 (visited 23 January 2016)

We Had a Family Function in the ivy on saturday the 23.01.16 and there was 3 Bar Staff behind the bar and the Service was Awful. there was 3 Functions in total and it being a saturday night in General, the wait at the bar was near 20 - 30 Mins, the staff were Rude and ignored us on Many occasions, to have 3 bar staff on such a Busy night was a Joke. i would Not being going back there again,

The Ivy House

love food 1978
Donegal
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2015 (visited 16 January 2015)

Went here on the 2nd night of a trip to Dublin with my girlfriend. On the 1st night we had the dinner in a near by hotel and it was not good. But the meal we had here was excellent with good service! Unbeatable value!

The Ivy House

camoore
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2014 (visited 21 September 2014)

Had dinner in the Ivy house with my Husband and 2 children.we waited over an hour for food but it was the day of the All Ireland final. I ordered curry and the presentation was vvery poor. I was more annoyed over the condition of the ladies toilets. They were disgraceful and badly need to be redecorated. There was no toilet paper either. The toilets would turn me off visiting again.

The Ivy House

Sixx
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2013 (visited 11 June 2013)

Nice selection of food on the menu and reasonably priced. The atmosphere in this bar is nice and the staff are quite friendly and helpful. The portions are decently sized. It's a nice place to nip into for lunch or even some dinner after work, in a modern setting.

The Ivy House

cookie87
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2013 (visited 21 February 2013)

they do a lovely pub food they have a great value meal where you get a free drink with yous mains i got the goats cheese and veg pasta bake and the boyfriend got burger big portions and nice pub. the only thing that I could fault was lit bit of a wait for the food, though was very busy on the night. been here a couple of times and always had great food.

The Ivy House

ibarelycare
Meath
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th January 2013 (visited 9 December 2012)

The Ivy House a la carte menu is the best pub grub going, and great value when you factor in the free drink (alcoholic or soft drink) you get with the majority of main courses. A really varied menu, their chicken wings are particularly good, and a massive portion (I always make a pig of myself and order them, and end up bringing half the portion home with me for later!). Their hand-cut chips are gorgeous, with the potato skin still left on, very rustic. Presentation is always great, you can tell that good care is put into this cooking. Services is also always very friendly. One slight criticism I have is that in the chicken and pasta tagliatelle dish, I find the chicken a bit cheap and rubbery. Otherwise it's a very tasty dish though. My favourite place to come on a Sunday with a hangover, in need of a big feed and hair of the dog!

The Ivy House

thewizthewoz
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 09th December 2012 (visited 6 December 2012)

Absolutely fabulous meal! My husband and myself arrived after a shopping trip to Dublin city centre last Thursday. The menu is quite extensive and we found it pretty hard to decide.He had the Mexican burger with hand cut fries. It was delicious. I had to sample it as he said it was the best homemade burger he had ever tried. We have tried a few!!!!!There was chili beef on top of the meat-delicious. I had the chicken Thai curry with half rice and half hand cut fries. It was also very very tasty. You get a free drink with the majority of the meals, which was an added bonus. I have been here before and I have tried wings. They are extremely good and a decent size portion too. I will no doubt return here. Very satisfied customers in terms of food quality, value for money and atmosphere!

The Ivy House

food4all1
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2012 (visited 20 March 2012)

A hungover Sunday - grabbed two carvery lunch's (had not tried carvery in about 6 years, so don't know if that influenced my decision).....it was basic, ok. Probbaly tasted better then I rememeber how they tasted.

The Ivy House

weewoo
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th April 2012 (visited 22 April 2012)

We stopped in here looking for a hangover cure and we were delighted to see that most of the dishes on the main menu came with a free alcoholic beverage. I ordered a tagliatelle dish which came out in a large bowl and filled with bacon, chicken, mushrooms, spring onions with cream and topped with parmesan and black pepper..delish! it would have been nice if there was a bit of garlic bread served with it but apart from that it was yummy. My partner had the dish of the day which also came with a free drink. It was turkey with all the trimmings and he cleared his plate. Loved the laid back feel of this restaurant/pub and I liked the fact that you can sit at the back in the restaurant away from the bar and the hype. Will be going back for sure.

The Ivy House

oillean
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th November 2011 (visited 13 November 2011)

Ate at the Ivy House on Sunday November 13th went for lunch with a friend and their 8 year old child, Neither of us were interested in the carvry but instead chose to eat off the main menu. Menu is extensive I wasn't feeling incredibly hungry so chose a item off the starter menu and asked to have it slightly larger. The dish I selected was chili beef topped crispy fried potatoes, my friend had goats cheese pasta bake whilst the child who was dining with us had fish and chips. There are two great thing's about the IVY House Menu, 1. Almost every dish is available in a children's portion, 2. All mains come with a free drink a range of alcoholic beverages included. We didn't have too long to wait for the food both my friend and I had our food arrive in large bowls, whilst the child had oven cut chips with three large goujon style fish pieces. The flavors on my dish were just right there was a perfect amount of cheese and the food was not that spicy. My friends expressed that the pasta bake was lovely and contained a large amount of veg as well as goats cheese. The children's meal came with ice cream or fruit, needless to say the chocolate ice cream was the choice and two large scoops arrived, due to the portion quantities my friend and I declined deserts. Total bill three meals including drinks €30.. Would really recommend this place, staff are lovely very friendly and the food is scrumptous if you are Drumcondra check this place out!

The Ivy House

lav6891
Dublin
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

Nicest pub food I have had in ages! I had the Chicken Tagliatelle in a pesto sauce while my friend had the American burger and chips. Their chips were proper homemade chips and absolutely divine……so chunky and even had their skins left on some of them….delicious! The pasta was extremely tasty, especially the sauce. Really nice setting and a great spot to go for a casual bite to eat. My only one negative comment would be the prices….they’re a bit steep for pub grub and more similar to restaurant prices. I’d definitely go back here again though and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal.

The Ivy House

scaramouche
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2011 (visited 23 December 2010)

Came here with a few friends for some early dinning. Everyone was really happy with there meal and although there was a slight mistake with one of the dishes the staff couldn't do enough to rectify it. I got a wrap and was told that I couldn't change any of the fillings as they were all pre-made! Not sure if this means there ordered in!?! Would eat here again however.

The Ivy House

lime3
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th October 2010 (visited 23 September 2010)

This place has always been a favourite of mine. I like the fact that there is a dining area at the that is separate from the main pub part but not so distinct a separation as to make you feel cut off. So you can enjoy the atmosphere of the pub and still maintain a degree of separation. The whole layout of the place is nice. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I had the brie which was in filo pastry. I would rather the texture of breadcrumbs but this was still very nice. Following that I had the hearty salmon meal. It was very tasty.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6294 ]