Sandbar restaurant

193 Clontarf Road, North Dublin, Clontarf, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 3

Dublin 3

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:

€€

86 reviews
3 stars - based on 86 reviews

Sandbar

Submit a review
Sandbar

Chickpea
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2016 (visited 21 May 2016)

What a mistake! I had visitors staying and we were going to the Viking Theatre so decided to have dinner in the Sandbar before the play but never again! The waiter who attended us was abrupt, even to the point of being rude arguing with me, when I asked if he had wine that hadn't been filtered with animal byproducts.He looked at me with incredulity and insisted that wine was just made from grapes and said that no insects got into the bottle! He hadn't a clue about the filtering agents used, which I didn't mind but It was his belligerence and arrogance that left us all speechless. It was not a good introduction to Ireland for our Canadian guests. We all agreed - do not waste your money and time here. There are lots of other worthwhile restaurants nearby where you will valued and treated with respect.

Sandbar

Luvfood591
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 03rd May 2016 (visited 15 April 2016)

Avoid! Ate here a couple of weeks ago as part of a family get together. All I can say is that it has to be the worst meal ever put in front of me. The service was very bad and they could not cater for the numbers. I ordered a mushroom bruschetta which appeared on half a baguette cut in half not even as much as toasted with a few mushrooms, lots of rocket & a slice of parma ham, this was followed by duck with was smothered in some sort of a gravy - extremely poor - both were sent back to kitchen - will not be back & would not recommend.

Sandbar

celine.costello65431554
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2015 (visited 14 June 2015)

What can I say?nThe food is exquisite, the waiters and waitresses are very polite / friendly and the prices are very reasonable for what you are getting. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for just a take away pizza or a delicious leg of lamb with a glass of presco. It is a 5 star (10 /10) from me. Also it is suitable for all ages, if you are a child or an old age pensioner! They have the best coffee around and they also have live music on a Friday and Saturday night! It is my favourite Italian restraunt in Dublin.nTastefinder L

Sandbar

orlaghm
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 01st December 2014 (visited 19 November 2014)

First time to visit Sandbar with some friends for an early dinner. Food good but service could have been better. Might just have been an off night.

Sandbar

Annie O Brien
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2014 (visited 16 July 2014)

The other evening myself and three of my friends were in sandbar. We are locals and eat in Sandbar quite often, unfortunately this particular evening was very poor. The service was appalling, and our waiter was nothing but rude and ignorant. Aswell as the poor service, the toilets were also out of order which was another inconvenience. Following the poor service, the waiter had told us they were " out of Parmesan cheese" which was odd because exactly 5 minutes after he said that, another waiter walked by with a full bowl of Parmesan cheese. Finally, when we had asked for two glasses of water we were left waiting 20 minutes for them. I will never go to Sandbar nor recommend Sandbar to anyone again.

Sandbar

Flambe
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th June 2014 (visited 26 June 2014)

The food here is always excellent. The service is always the worst in Dublin, and has been for years. Dour, unfriendly, disinterested staff. Wait an age to order, then wait 45 mins for a party of 4 to have food delivered in stages without apology as waiter dumps it onto table while looking at ceiling or something more interesting than his customers. I have given this place to many second chances, never going back. Avoid.

Sandbar

musicsec
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th May 2014 (visited 11 May 2014)

Visited after the Giro d'Italia bike race passed through Clontarf for coffee, sitting outside. 8 of us in the party, 4 adults and 4 children (10 - 15). Ordered tea/coffee and half the order delivered - waiter explained that the coffee/tea was finished, no more cups or coffee. the service has been poor the food nothing to write home about, and the staff have treated customers with rudeness that is hard to believe. I won't ever return there, but will be advising others not to eat there either.

Sandbar

resurrection79
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2014 (visited 7 February 2014)

The food is very nice, especially the pizzas and they are massive. The staff can be hit and miss, they are often really slow and not the most attentive. Friendly enough though. As with most restaurants in Clontarf it's not the cheapest... not a bad spot for a bite, especially for the breakfast menu or a pizza (get the Bismarck!)

Sandbar

Sidob
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 07th October 2013 (visited 4 October 2013)

Have visited Sandbar several times in past for pizzas & pasta with the family. last Friday 10 of us visited and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were seated upstairs at a very comfortable table, there was a fabulous singer/pianist playing in the corner. The food was amazing, ordered off the specials and had mushroom/pancetta bruschetta followed by the monkfish which was cooked to perfection. 3 large plates of broccoli/carrots and lovely sautéed potatoes were served. The service was excellent, the food arrived promptly and the water jugs were continuously filled. Would definitely recommend for a group at night and indeed for a casual family dinner.

Sandbar

Chickpea
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2013 (visited 14 August 2013)

Who wants bad language and poor manners with their pizza? I've always enjoyed the pizzas here. The quality of the food has always made up for the slow service. We were late arriving on the 14th of August as we had been touring with a relative who had recently arrived from Canada. We were tired but hungry so ordered pizzas all round. The pizzas here are very generous so both myself and our visitor didn't finish ours. Before we could ask to have them boxed as take away, the owner, walking by,paused at our table and said to the waiter who was just about to clear it - "They've eaten .............at this table." (expletives omitted at request of Menu Pages) I was absolutely shocked. His rudeness was inexcusable. I was also upset that the very young lad serving had to work in such an environment. I live in the locality but will not be going back again. What type of person speaks like this so openly in a public restaurant about customers who will be paying for the food regardless of whether they eat it all there or finish it at home? Manners cost nothing but I guess you are well aware of what is proper behavior. Unfortunately, you have lost another two local customers.

Sandbar

AshG
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2013 (visited 30 June 2013)

First of all, i would like to say that this restaurant is an absolute Gem and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I have lived in Clontarf for 4 years and cannot believe I have never eaten in the Sandbar until tonight. I ended up in the Sandbar after another Clontarf restaurant was full and I will DEFINITELY be back again soon. Myself and my boyfriend shared the Chicken Wings to start. The portion was very big and easily enough for 2 people. The wings were very meaty and tasty compared to some of the Chicken Wings I have had in other Dublin restaurants, and for €8.95, were excellent value for money. However, the star of the show tonight was my main course. I had the Carbonara, and it was by far the best Carbonara I have ever eaten outside of Italy. I enquired with the lovely waitress at the end of my meal and she confirmed that the owner of this restaurant and many of the Chefs were in fact Italian, and this is plain to see from the quality of the food this restaurant provides. Looking around, I have to say that all of the food being served looked very appetising. My boyfriend has the Spaghetti and meatballs which was also very tasty. For €10.95 the Carbonara in the Sandbar has to be the tastiest and most value for money meal available in Dublin today. Thank you Sandbar!

Sandbar

dollymountgirl
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th April 2013 (visited 6 February 2013)

We had lunch here, the menu is good. my choice was a sandwich with pesto unfortunately there was too much pesto on the sandwich for my liking but that was my fault for not reading the menu properly. there was a nice crowd of people there and the ambiance was warm on a cold day. I have also eaten here at night time up stairs which most people don't seem to know about and the food is off a higher standard than a sandwich bar. I remember they had music laid on and the food was really nice. It was great for a group night out and a good surprise as most people think of the sandbar as a coffee shop.

Sandbar

thelmawatters
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2013 (visited 1 March 2013)

Booked the function room for a large party and we were not disappointed. I arranged a set menu but we were allowed to use their full menu for anyone who wanted. The house wines were lovely. Food was fab, nobody complained and we had few with us who would have!! Chicken wings are divine here. I had chicken barilotto for main which did not disappoint, desserts re the business also!! Lemon sole was lovely and although the medallions of veal didnt look like my cup of tea i was told it was tasty! Wine was reasonably priced and again didn't disappoint. Pizzas are fab. I have eaten here before and it's a lovely spot with great atmosphere. I would recommend here for group/party as the upstairs function room is lovely. Also it's a great find for a bistro meal. Nicest I have eaten in around the area.

Sandbar

Fiona111
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th July 2012 (visited 7 July 2012)

Me and my boyfriend went for a saturday lunch at sandbar. I was surprised how much it has been changed since we were their last time. A blonde waitress who was very friendly recommended the prawns for starter which was absolutly amazing. Thanks for her I would afraid to order seafood in a pizza-pasta place but she was too nice to say no for her. For my main I ordered the Sand bar Foccaccia pizza ( nice Parma ham with fresh rocket Jammy) and my boyfriend had a pork which was very tasty. We definitely will go back as we are happy to found a good place where not just the food but also the service is brilliant is well. We will recommend this restaurants for all my friends and family.

Sandbar

sullyschoice
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2012 (visited 19 March 2012)

Went in for a casual lunch with friend, ordered chicken caesar salad, friend the salad nicoise. Service was good, they arrived promptly and both salads were plentiful. Coffees afterward were strong, just what was needed. Bill came to €20. Good value.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4969 ]