Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro restaurant

Carlton Airport Hotel, Old Airport Road, Cloughran, Cloghran, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 9

Dublin 9

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

23 reviews
4 stars - based on 23 reviews

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Submit a review
Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

delboy333
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd January 2012 (visited 11 January 2012)

This is the bar/restaurant in the Carlton Hotel. It is quite nice & comfortable & the staff are very polite & professional. They do a carvery for lunch which is tasty enough. The evening menu is slightly limited and the food is a bit in & out, portions could be better & the string fries aren't great. However I recently had the steak here and it was excellent. The place is pricey enough but you are dealing with a hotel.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

sanctamaria
Meath
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 26th November 2011 (visited 15 October 2011)

Myself and my family ate lunch here as we stayed in the hotel for my sister’s wedding. We all had the carvery which was delicious! It was reasonably priced and I would recommend it if you are in the area. I will be returning tomorrow afternoon with a group of friends and look forward to it!

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

bondie
Meath
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2010 (visited 11 December 2010)

Clouds is now a function area, so food is now served in Kitty Hawks Bar/Bistro Good choice on menu, with fish, steak, pizzas etc available Our group had 8 people dining and we were served promptly Prices were OK and food serviing were large Also a good choice of wines Would recommend to anyone, and just those travelling to airport

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

suzo800
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 21st February 2010 (visited 18 February 2010)

We had a family lunch here and took full advantage of their cavery. For carvery food it was excellent - we had no complaints. I had the beef and asked chef for the end bit - dear lord he gave me half a cow!! Uusal choice of veg/potatoes - roasties/mash/salads. Desert, I had the cheesecake, which looked ordinary but tasted absolutely delious - surprise me. The apple pie was had by many - agina this looked boring - but family all said tasted fab. I would definitely recommend this for lunch/evening meals/group gatherings - but not a romantic night out, it's not that type of place.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Verity
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2010 (visited 24 January 2010)

This place has a good variety of wholesome food and plenty of it. I did feel though that eventhough nobody was in a hurry, the staff sometimes appeared needlessly under pressure, which occasionally made their work a little sloppy. Apart from that we enjoyed our meal there.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

claredln

23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2009 (visited 1 February 2009)

Ate here last Friday evening with a gang from work. The food was scrumptious...we were given two options - beef or salmon and both looked great. I had the salmon and it didn't disappoint. Desert was also delicious - a selection of bite sized cakes.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Neadi
Tipperary
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2008 (visited 18 December 2008)

ate here at a christmas party. Decor and staff were lovely. Food was average.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

trastevere
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2008 (visited 4 December 2008)

fab, fab, FAB. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. From start to finish it was perfect. Myself and a friend booked a table for a saturday night, with the idea of having the early bird....as we are watching our pennies but still felt we deserved a little treat! However, both of us being late as always, we arrived a little too late for the early bird, however having being seated in the gorgeous dining room, we were offered the early bird menu. Where most restaurants will refuse to give you the early bird menu if you are even 5 minutes past the time, we were nicely surprised. The decor throughout is fabulous, very opulent and you forget you are in an airport hotel in Dublin! Its the nice little touches, like the spacing of the tables.....none of them close enough to hear others conversations,white linen tableclothes, delicate lighting, attentive, friendly and accomodating staff who blend into the background yet are there should you need anything, and a great view over dublin airport and beyond. Our coats were taken and we were seated at a table for four, even though it was only the two of us.We both chose goats cheese for our starters, I had fish for the main course,my friend had fillet of beef and we decided to share a desert, creme brulee. We also ordered a bottle of white wine. While waiting for our starters we were treated to a complimentary sample of soup, leek and potato, which was presented in tiny little cups and was a lovely addition to what we had already ordered.Our starters arrived and were gorgeous, then the main courses which we both devoured. The courses were nicely spaced allowing us to catch up on some much needed gossip without feeling rushed. Desert was nice, but I have had better. The bill came to €80, very good value for such a great restaurant. We left promising to return, only to be told the restaurant will be closed for the next while.Highly reccommended.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

stirfry
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th June 2008 (visited 13 June 2008)

Ate here last Friday night. Only two other tables of two and one large, loud party. Despite plenty of space, we were pressed into one small area. My husband couldn't hear anything I said and I was mesmorised by a row going on at the next table! Prices high but we were expecting that. We weren't, however expecting the kind of food that you would get on a 3 star hotel buffet table. Starters - scallops for me, prawns for him were just okay. Main courses, duck and beef were bland and that's being kind. The duck tasted as if it had been semi-cooked earlier in the day and then finished off before serving. Staff were nice but not nice enough to make up for this overpriced disappointing evening. Don't go.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

WhyWasThatFor

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2008 (visited 8 March 2008)

I've eaten in Clouds 3-4 times in the last year and I fear that its standards are slipping of late. Ate here 2 weeks ago with 4 others (who have all been here before as well). All dishes were fine without being remotely remarkable (except for the fact that they were on the warm side of tepid). The staff (senior staff at least) appear to have changed since the last time. The sommelier (a French gentleman) has left as has one of the head waiters (the elaborate making of excellent Irish coffee was his forte). I'm not sure if the head chef is still there (he used to be head chef in Bon Appetite by all accounts) but based on our collective experience he's either left or lost interest. Shame!!!

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

spiceyricey

13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd December 2007 (visited 1 December 2007)

We have just come back from what was an absolutely evening in Clouds. We arrived to the restaurant and were greeted by friendly staff. We decided to wait in the bar area of the restaurant before dining. They brought our menus and we placed our orders. In the meantime, the head chef came out to mingle amongst us and our fellow diners and wished us an enjoyable meal..something your don't see very often. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. After our starters we were offered an amuse bouche of a lime sorbet compliments of the chef, which I thought was a lovely gesture. I would highly recommend this restaurant for couples or small groups. The ambiance was really nice, with a man playing gentle background music on the piano, plus there was a lovely view of the airport. It was a busy Saturday night but we could not fault a thing! Highly recommended!

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

stevie

9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2007 (visited 29 September 2007)

Visited Clouds restaurant last Saturday night and I have to say I was very impressed. The restaurant is on the 3rd floor. As we made our way into the restaurant we were made welcome by a member of staff, we sat down to have a drink at the bar where we got the menus and then order our meals and wine while listening to a women playing a piano. Just before our starters were ready to be served we were taken to our table. Service and the food was top class. Would recommend the sea bass for a main course. Plenty of space between tables which is nice. Just before the bill was paid the head chef arrived over to the table to see if everything was fine with the meal, this is something that you don't often see. Will be back again .

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

CaMarche

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2007 (visited 19 September 2007)

The worst dining experience I have ever had, we went for a special occasion on a Wednesday night and from start to finish the whole thing was a shambles from service to food the manager was lost for words when we explained our grievances and agreed with us then gave us two complimentary sambucca as if this was going to change anything, I think the chef should hang up his apron and get his head out of the CLOUDS!!!!!!

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

derac

46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th September 2007 (visited 13 September 2007)

Had a beautiful meal here last week. Food. Atmosphere and service top class highly recommended.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Foodie100
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2007 (visited 5 September 2007)

I took my wife to Clouds for her birthday and we weren't disappointed. The surroundings are simple but quiet with lots of space between tables giving you plenty of privacy. The staff were helpful and attentive. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. we'll be back to sample the new menu that is launching on Thursday.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4648 ]