Kealys of Cloghran restaurant

Old Airport Road, (Off Airport Roundabout), North Dublin, Cloghran, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 9

Dublin 9

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


50 reviews
4 stars - based on 50 reviews

Kealys of Cloghran

Submit a review
Kealys of Cloghran

rob-mack90796158
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 04th June 2017 (visited 3 June 2017)

Greeted coldly by a woman who immediately stressed that we could only have the table for 1hour...this is a pub!!! The waitress was very unfriendly (didn't smile once) and gave the vibe that she would rather be elsewhere. I had the roast Rib beef...it looked like I got the scraps from the floor...very bitty and not well presented at all. For €15 you would expect a good slice of identifiable rib..hacked up chunks. The veg and potatoes where reheats and not done very well.. The reheating water must have not been changed all day...after taste..Roast potatoes soggy..I got 5 bitty pieces of watery baton carrots...gravy was good though. My companion had the "baked" salmon which was fried, overcooked and tasteless....same dreadful veg and pots as with the roast beef. Kids had chicken caesar salad which was fine but the cajun chicken wrap was a disaster of dry overcooked chicken bits with some sort of sauce from a jar...the dipping sauce was tainted with some musty dried herb...truly rank.....chips were fresh though. The bill came to about €65 with a €6 glass of white wine, two cokes and a pint if decent Guinness. Very over priced stuff for a pub charging restaurant prices. If you find yourself and have no choice but to eat out of starvation stick with the gravy, chips and guinness the rest of the menu is purely aspirational. Sorry..

Kealys of Cloghran

poppenv
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th December 2015 (visited 10 December 2015)

lovely staff good atmosphere my meal of Cajun salmon was overcooked it looked like a leftover reheated it was tasteless, steak my companion had was fine very disappointed

Kealys of Cloghran

sarak7
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2015 (visited 27 July 2015)

Great place for food near Dublin Airport. The food was v good great portions and the Seafood Chowder was AMAZING! Friendly staff, great choice of food and wines by the glass. I'll be back!

Kealys of Cloghran

Dag1
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2014 (visited 30 March 2014)

We dined here on Mother's Day and we were seated in a cramped corner that was too small for our party size. The menu and price (set menu with a price of €24.95 instead of €19.95) was different to the menu advertised as available that day and so a number of our party were disappointed. It seemed other patrons were also disappointed with the menu as quite a few looked at the menu and inquired as to the changes and left without ordering. The starters and main were tasty and portion size was good, however we all agreed that the mains were cold upon arrival. Some of us ordered the Berry & Apple Crumble for dessert and did not enjoy it. It wasn't a crumble, more of a tart with a crumb topping. I took one piece and found it overwhelmingly tart whilst the pastry was almost raw.

Kealys of Cloghran

Munch30
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2014 (visited 7 January 2014)

We had lunch here and found the chowder and fish and chips superb. Friendly service ensured a lovely experience.

Kealys of Cloghran

Munch30
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2014 (visited 7 January 2014)

We had lunch here and found the chowder and fish and chips excellent. Friendly staff and good value for money.

Kealys of Cloghran

angelgourmet
Dublin
105 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 28th September 2013 (visited 15 September 2013)

First off, have to agree with another reviewer, this is a pub, not a restaurant. The dining area is very small and there are some normal tables, but also high stools at high tables. Have never seen high stools in a restaurant before, so I rest my cause. We ended up sitting at the high stools because most of the tables that weren’t occupied had ‘Reserved’ cards on them. A high stool isn’t the most comfortable place to sit whilst having a meal but we were hungry so it suited us at the time. Meals here are pricey enough considering it is basically a pub, and it wouldn’t be a place we’d choose for an intimate meal. We had mains of Turkey and Stuffing with Vegetables and Chicken Madras with Rice and Chips. Both meals were very good and the portions generous enough. We paid €31 for the two mains plus two soft drinks. Service was good, and full marks the toilets, they were very clean. Will finish off by saying that there’s nothing wrong with dining in a pub, we have done it several times. It’s just a bit bold of Kealys to advertise themselves as a restaurant when it clearly isn’t, and they also charge restaurant prices.

Kealys of Cloghran

redmonr6
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 22 April 2012)

Went here for a family meal a few weeks ago. The atmosphere is just like a pub pretty much but its lively enough. Most of us did the three course menu that was only 20euro each. I had a salad to start which was alright but ended up eating my brothers chicken wings and they were great. I got the steak sandwich for mains which was kind of overcooked. They also do a special bottle of wine for twelve euro so it is great value for money!

Kealys of Cloghran

thewizthewoz
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 29th April 2012 (visited 22 April 2012)

We had the weekend menu, 3 courses for 19.99.Nice Sunday grub in a busy pub. Would return for sure :)

Kealys of Cloghran

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th March 2012 (visited 7 March 2012)

I hadn't been here for years but as my sister was working her last flight today we decided to meet her at the airport and go for lunch. From the moment we walked through the door we were all made feel special. Service was warm, friendly and smiling throughout. I had homemade scampi for mains whilst my sister and dad chose a burger mam opting for bacon and cabbage. For desert I had biscuit cake whilst my mother chose apple pie. Overall the food was excellent and very decent in portion size. This eatery offers excellent value for money for the high quality of food provided. The atmosphere was very good indeed. I booked a table in advance and was given a lovely table beside the fire. I would suggest you book as the place was packed. I would highly recommend Kealys and I will return again.

Kealys of Cloghran

cbee
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th October 2011 (visited 27 October 2011)

Visited here as part of the Dine in Dublin week.Had a 4 course meal for 15 Euro which was excellent value. There were 5 starters, 5 main courses and 3 desserts plus tea or coffee. A nice touch was the inclusion of a biscuit with our coffee.When we ordered the soup, we asked for it to be served really hot as we like it piping hot but we had to ask for it to be heated up. We also asked for the curry to be heated up. The waitress was very pleasant and obliging about this. We enquired about having half rice and half chips with the curry, as I had seen this on another review but there was an extra charge of 1 Euro as it was the Dine in Dublin menu!!! The food was delicious and the portions were very generous. The desserts were so tasty. Service was excellent- very quick and efficient and the staff we met were very friendly. Will return to Kealys and would recommend it.

Kealys of Cloghran

pollywoof
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th October 2011 (visited 12 October 2011)

i was here on the 12th of oct 2011. I was accompanied by my husband and my 3 cousins from canada and also my sister from canada. They had read about kealys online and wanted me to take them here. I am so happy i did because i cannot fault it. The food was fantastic i had soup to start and had chicken madras. i had a small plate with half chips and half rice was so tasty and i even fit in prfiteroles for dessert. The staff were great and very quick and friendly. highly reccomend Kealys and will be back.

Kealys of Cloghran

Justlovfood
Meath
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th October 2011 (visited 27 September 2011)

This is where we save our pennies to go for a special lunchtime treat during work, the girls and i torment ourselves between the curry half and half/ homemade burgers and the caeser salad. The atmosphere is buzzing during the lunchtime rush and it is hard to get a group table, best to book ahead, the staff are great, always keen to make you feel welcome. Service is super quick also...kealy's always a treat.

Kealys of Cloghran

hogbog
Meath
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 9 September 2011)

Have really enjoyed both trips here. Lovely cosy, atmosphere. The lunch menu is excellent value too. And even though I got the impression it's frequented mostly by couples and groups, I was there with my Sister and her 2-year old boy and they were very obliging and brought out some toddler-friendly food.

Kealys of Cloghran

bigtaster
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2011 (visited 9 August 2011)

This is one of my favourite restaurants. it's such a little gem and perfect for any special occasion. The decor and surroundings are lovely, really different. Service is first rate, you really feel taken care of. I came here last Friday and had such a lovely evening. all the added extras really contributed to the evening. Wine was lovely and well priced. i ordered beef stroganoff for mains which was really good. Can be pricey but I feel it's still value for money. Definatly somewhere I would reccomend to anyone I met and I would visit again and again.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6229 ]