Cumiskey's restaurant

Blackhorse Avenue, Blackhorse, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 7

Dublin 7

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:


23 reviews
3 stars - based on 23 reviews

Cumiskey's

Submit a review
Cumiskey's

Patricia Broderick
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 03rd July 2016 (visited 3 July 2016)

How can my review come up with 3 stars when I gave it '0' for everything?.

Cumiskey's

Patricia Broderick
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 03rd July 2016 (visited 3 July 2016)

4 people went for lunch including an Australian guest. Three of us had roast beef. I opted for a half portion. This was put on a tiny plate and when I requested a large plate I was told I would be charged for a full portion. Thus everything was piled high on the small plate and looked anything but appetizing. The Australian is vegetarian. Would someone please tell your chef that 'salmon' is not vegetarian as this is what he offered her . When I was paying for the food I mentioned this to the girl and her reply was 'let her take a plate of vegetables' . My regret is that we didn't just leave the 3 dinners on the counter and walk out. The food was cold and soggy even though we were there at 12.30. Our Australian guest had a banana which she had in her bag which kept her going till we went elsewhere. We certainly wont be calling again.

Cumiskey's

Patricia Broderick
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 03rd July 2016 (visited 3 July 2016)

4 people went for lunch including an Australian guest. Three of us had roast beef. I opted for a half portion. This was put on a tiny plate and when I requested a large plate I was told I would be charged for a full portion. Thus everything was piled high on the small plate and looked anything but appetizing. The Australian is vegetarian. Would someone please tell your chef that 'salmon' is not vegetarian as this is what he offered her . When I was paying for the food I mentioned this to the girl and her reply was 'let her take a plate of vegetables' . My regret is that we didn't just leave the 3 dinners on the counter and walk out. The food was cold and soggy even though we were there at 12.30. Our Australian guest had a banana which she had in her bag which kept her going till we went elsewhere. We certainly wont be calling again.

Cumiskey's

susan.dunne8686
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 14th February 2016 (visited 13 February 2016)

We visited Cumiskeys with An Gaisce for lunch.nnService was quick, staff were friendly, seating comfy and food was amazing (great portion sizes) as always. I'll definitely be back.

Cumiskey's

susan.dunne8686
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 02nd February 2016 (visited 31 January 2016)

Great food, great portion size, nice atmosphere and fantastic value for money!

Cumiskey's

mb30
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 19 July 2015)

I "was" a longtime regular customer at Cumiskey's. To be honest Ive always enjoyed the place and the food is nice both from the menu and the carvery, however on a recent visit I had a negative experience, I was getting food from the carvery for myself and my 3yr old who like most kids is a picky eater. I asked for a beef dinner, that was fine no problem I got a beef dinner, now for my child I asked for a baby bowl and 1 slice of turkey on a small plate (to cut up for the child) most places have no issue with this. However on this occasion the cook/server was very agitated and very rudely told me they do not give out a slice of turkey, and a baby bowl does not include a slice of meat etc. I told him ok relax I just want a slice of turkey for the child I'll pay whatever it costs I wasnt looking for anything for free. He then angrily slaps a slice of turkey on a plate and signals over to the girl on the till to charge me for 1 full dinner and 1 half dinner so for the babys food I was charged €9.50. Moving on I hope €9.50 charge was worth losing a good customer, as neither I or any of my family will ever eat there again.

Cumiskey's

lovestodineout
Dublin
69 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2013 (visited 14 April 2013)

Went for a carvery in Cumiskeys pub last sunday and here you get good food which is very good value. Its only €12 euro for either beef, turkey and ham or salmon with all the trimmings so it caters for all tastes. You also get a large portion which is really good value, my only criticism was it was a warm sunny Sunday but they had a large fire in the middle of the pub which made the place uncomfortably hot but I would go back and hopefully the fire wouldnt be on.

Cumiskey's

Irene R
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

Visited here with a friend last night. We were in time for the early bird menu which was brilliant value at €13.99 for 2 courses. I'm a regular visitor here so obviously I love it. Highly recommended. Great food, service and atmosphere

Cumiskey's

pamela somers
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2010 (visited 18 March 2010)

lovely pub,lovely service,portions were hugh,neither 2 of us could finish,hence a little bit dearer than your average pub grub. Def going back again with someone that has very big appetite.

Cumiskey's

finglasgal
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th March 2010 (visited 14 March 2010)

all i have to say is YUM!! We eat here at least twice a week! from carvery, soup and sandwich or barfood!! Its delicious! Service is great, quick. They do THE nicest garlic potatoes I have ever tasted! Its not too far from me in Finglas bout 10 mins in car right beside Phoneix Park so after a nice meal go for nice walk in park! Anyone who goes here will not be disappointed!

Cumiskey's

Davinia
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2009 (visited 11 October 2009)

Had the carvery here one Sunday. I had the southern fried chicken, veg and chips. However, the chicken was just breaded chicken, not southern fried. As it was a cavery, there was not much to say on the service. When I went to pay though I asked for ketchup as the baskets were empty. The girl at the till shouted across the bar to people to get some. They filled the basket without even walking a few steps more to bring some up to the till for me. The portions were very big though so it was good value for money.

Cumiskey's

likesgoodgrub
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2009 (visited 26 May 2009)

Been here twice to eat, the first time i found a stone in my veg, which to be fair was handled very well by the staff at the time, so I came back for a second chance... different staff this time and I won't go back. We were out walking the new lab puppy (andrex ad type) and stopped for food. We didn't bring the dog inside (although many pubs would have no problem I would never assume) so we ate outside on the decking in the car park that's now the smoking area. The puppy was on a lead and passed out asleep under the table at the edge of the decking. After the meal, when we'd just gotten some tea a staff member came out and told us we'd have to tie the dog up at the railing by the road. We were alone in the beer garden, and inside was nearly empty...the puppy was bothering nobody but he told us we couldn't have a dog lying outside the pub where food is served. Now correct me if I'm wrong but can't any stray dog, cat, mouse or rat run around wherever they want on that decking anytime of day? Or does this staff member stay on the decking after hours to ensure no other animal spends time there?? We left our tea, unwilling to leave a new puppy tied to a rail out of sight. I just thought it was a big deal made out of nothing and plain bad manners. Food was average pub grub a little on the expensive side, but hey, this is dublin afterall!

Cumiskey's

caggy123
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 27 February 2009)

popped in here last Friday for a bite - wasnt bad but wasnt amazing either! staff were lovely but a wee bit pricey for what you get! my friend got the fajitas - not very nice but i got the burrito and it was lovely! maybe a little too much sauce! One thing - the place is like an oven, wayyyyy too much heat!

Cumiskey's

ac87
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2008 (visited 5 October 2008)

Great local to pop to on a lazy sunday afternoon

Cumiskey's

thatisatastyburger!

21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th June 2008 (visited 16 June 2008)

I think its hit and miss with this place, depends on the night. Went last Thurday, I had lasagne and chips. It was quite but was just a bit mean with the meat in the lasagne. The boyfriend had plaice and potatoes, it was lovely and the portion was huge, ditto with mine. But last night (Monday) we went again and the experience was not so good. I had chicken stirfry and it was just far too saucey, not how a stirfry should be, the menu said spicy but it to me it was like sweet and sour, not a fave of mine. The boyfriend had the mixed grill, everything was burnt and looked like it had been sitting in the kitchen, ready to go, for a while. The cheese cake was good though! I think it may have been the fact that it was a Monday night and very quiet. It it great value for money and the staff are friendly and efficient. I won't write this place off just yet!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4962 ]