Smokin Bones restaurant

34 Dame St, Dame Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 8

Dublin 8

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
BBQ

Price Range:


10 reviews
4 stars - based on 10 reviews

Smokin Bones

Submit a review
Smokin Bones

VoodooChild
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2016 (visited 15 October 2016)

Good menu, but I wasn't crazy about the food. I found it overly greasy and very heavy. I had a burger and the meat was nice, but it was so greasy it kept sliding out of the bun. Chips were nice but the rest of the sides were strangely sweet and (again) thick with oil and grease. Wouldn’t rush back.

Smokin Bones

elainemcgloughlin2

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 18th June 2016 (visited 17 June 2016)

Very good food and reasonably priced. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered - smoked chicken, ribs and pulled pork. The sides, especially the beans and macaroni cheese also went down very well.

Smokin Bones

cookie mixer
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2015 (visited 14 November 2015)

A piece of America in Dublin! The food was delicious and the menu was vast. The pulled pork nachos were a great start and the mac and cheese was a very nice compliment. I wasn't crazy about the slaw but that is about personal preference. The one thing I wasn't overly thrilled with was the price of a small bottle of beer is €6. That was the only thing I thought was poor value because otherwise my friend and I rolled out of the restaurant because we were so happily stuffed!

Smokin Bones

Cluckers
Dublin
97 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2015 (visited 4 July 2015)

Went here on a voucher we got and it was excellent! Proper authentic bbq place - rough and ready as these places tend to be but friendly service, great food, and in a nice location. Only downfall was there was only one toilet and it could have done with a bit of a clean (not dirty, just untidy/floor needed sweeping!) but food was great...a meat feast.

Smokin Bones

moiradefalco
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th June 2015 (visited 26 May 2015)

Went there with my friend before heading to the aiport. Had a voucher so thats how i found this restaurant. Great great food, nice presentation, nice young staff, friendly and lovely owner. Such a cool place...reminded me of italian osterie...so different from anything i ve seen in dublin. Hope it does well ... Full stars

Smokin Bones

sianshere80969183
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th June 2015 (visited 25 June 2015)

Food was just delicious. We had the platter between 3. There was enough food for 5 :) Full of smokey delicious flavor all freshly cooked. Highly recommended

Smokin Bones

declan.wynne80790679
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st June 2015 (visited 29 May 2015)

9 of us went here last WednesdaynEveryone was delighted with the foodnVery tastynNot one complaintnGoing back soonnVery good value

Smokin Bones

GirlMeatsGin
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2015 (visited 25 March 2015)

I can't fault much about Smokin' Bones at all, I've eaten quite a lot of barbecue in Dublin and this is definitely the closest to real American barbecue that I've had here. My mam and I went here for lunch after a manicure to round off a midweek treat. The restaurant was very quiet, having eaten there previously I expected it to be more full! That said, it was lunchtime and it was midweek. I don't think this place is nearly as well known as it should be! The owner of the restaurant was nice enough to come down and talk to us for a bit while we were deciding what to order, I thought this was a really nice touch because it gave my mam (who is NOT a fan of spice) a chance to query how spicy the different menu options were. He was so nice and assured her the food could be as mild as she wanted it to be! We placed our orders of a Pulled Pork Bun with Skin-On Fries for me and a Pittmaster Burger with the fries for herself, with an accompanying coke and a tea respectively. The wait for the food was really short and in the meantime, my mam was very quick to comment to the owner that it wasn't "cheap" tea he was using, I don't know just how many other people have a cup of tea with their barbecue but there you go! The pulled pork was really lovely, it was well seasoned with just the right amount of fat to make it juicy during slow cooking! The fries were seasoned with their own "magic dust" and it really took it to the next level as a side. The Pittmaster burger made me have total diner's envy and my mam assured me that it was so good that she would definitely be back. The dinner came to around 25€ which, for their portion sizes, is very reasonable! I'd wager that we'll definitely be back!

Smokin Bones

Gayler
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2015 (visited 24 March 2015)

I visited Smokin Bones with a friend in the early evening using a voucher. The voucher was amazing value for money. €8 for 2 meats & 2 sides. I had the smoked chicken, brisket, chips & onion rings. The food was excellent! Generous portions, attentive and friendly staff and good tunes in the background. I'll definitely be going back.

Smokin Bones

Sameoin
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th March 2015 (visited 11 March 2015)

Went here on a voucher with the missus last night. The place looks pretty cool and had some excellent Americana music (Doors, Johnny Cash Simon &Garfunkel; etc) playing which was a nice touch. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful and were happy to accept the voucher code from the phone as i had forgot the printed Voucher. We had two BBQ plates. The results were generally good. With regard to the sides - the beans were fantastic - the best in Dublin - and the chips were very nice if a little small. The Mac and cheese however was dreadful -soooooooo over booked it was embarrassing. The Coleslaw was really cold - clearly straight of the fridge - and a bit boring. As for the meat, well the sausage was nice and flavourful and the chicken was tasty. I really like both the brisket and the pulled pork - both were full of flavour. However the accompanying sauces were disappointing. BBQ relies on the combination of tender smoky meat with the hit from the sauces. While the 'mustard' wasnt bad, the "spicy" was just bland, and the "BBQ" was strangely dull in flavour. This is a real shame as when the meat is this nice, it is disappointing for them to mess it up by relying on poor saucing. Overall i liked the place. There is nothing major wrong with the food, the meats and the beans are really good but they do really need to address the sauces as that is what Pitt Bros and especially Bison have over it.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4798 ]