The Old Stand restaurant

37 Exchequer Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:


11 reviews
3 stars - based on 11 reviews

The Old Stand

Submit a review
The Old Stand

conskee
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 30th June 2016 (visited 30 June 2016)

The atmosphere is really nice and it has a lovely pint, in a great location, but if I was to review just the food on its portion size and quality it would get a big fat ZERO rating. The portion sizes are of 'rip off Ireland' proportions, the chicken in the chicken curry is processed chicken for starters, with no veg like onion or pepper to balance it, and for €11.80 you would expect more. I have eaten there twice. Thinking I got a raw deal the first time I gave it a 2nd go really wanting it to be better, but sadIy soon I found the same result, small portions with process chicken. I wont be back, maybe just for a pint, you cant skimp on a pint The Old Stand. If you want value for money with food you aint gonna get it here.

The Old Stand

LukeH
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2014 (visited 12 October 2014)

4 people ate on the day. Food was average to good but was very good value. Service was excellent. For pub grub it is decent and of course the pub itself is a lovely piece of relaxation in the city

The Old Stand

koidl
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2011 (visited 21 December 2010)

Every now and then I meet family in different pubs around town. Just to meet up and this time it was the old stand and I have to say we were very surprised about the food and the service. Great selection and because it was the lunch menu the chef even offered to cook something from the dinner menu if we cant find what we are looking for. That pub wont be dying it understands that its not only about the drink anymore.

The Old Stand

Trix
Dublin
71 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2010 (visited 6 December 2010)

This pub was packed full & almost all the tables were eating. It was a freezing cold day, so we decided to join them! Gorgeous panni (I had chicken, tomato and cheese on mine) with a huge serving of huge chunky chips & a massive side salad - absolutely fab! Gorgeous spot!

The Old Stand

Swipple

33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th December 2009 (visited 23 December 2009)

Had a v late lunch with himself. I went for soup and smoked salmon salad. Hard to go wrong with those, but they were spot on. He had the T-Bone, and this is from a man who eats more meat than a bear, 'that's a cracking steak'. Lovely place to stop for a bite and a pint .

The Old Stand

bretty
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2009 (visited 20 July 2009)

Dropped ion for a quick lunch in d middle of afternoon and find it very enjoyable. Food is nice for a pub and with decent prices, and the barman was very entertaining, fisrt time here, probably not the last.

The Old Stand

sj77
Wicklow
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 17 April 2009)

Proper Dublin pub... homemade simple food, excellent service & all too easy to go in for lunch and stay the afternoon!

The Old Stand

zoobins
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2009 (visited 26 February 2009)

Perfect little pub, Perfect location, Great pub grub menu.. This place is suited if u are looking for a quick bite to eat. If u are alone or with friends, after shopping or before a night & are looking for cheap & cheerful, try here!

The Old Stand

franp
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2008 (visited 1 November 2008)

Poor food and poor value-I had the smoked salmon salad-At 10 euro's you would expect more than 2 slices of salmon, the lemon wasn't freshly cut and the salad dressing came out of a bottle. my partner had not even finished when the waitress tried to take the plate away! Not recommended and I won't be back

The Old Stand

whatsfordinner
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2008 (visited 12 August 2008)

Really love this place, proper pub food at its best.Great for a midweek evening or a Sunday lunch.

The Old Stand

Irishtweety
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th September 2007 (visited 7 September 2007)

Nice bar food & reasonably priced given its location. The Atlantic Prawn was both tasty & well presented. The steak sandwich was quite nice and good portions served of each.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4513 ]