The Lord Edward restaurant

23 Christchurch Place, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 8

Dublin 8

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:

€€

34 reviews
4 stars - based on 34 reviews

The Lord Edward

Submit a review
The Lord Edward

Wicklow
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2014 (visited 17 October 2014)

My recent experience of The Lord Edward confirms a view I've maintained for years - that the restaurant is consistently fine, very reliably the best classic French-style fish restaurant in Dublin. The fact that the menu rarely changes is itself a tribute to the reliability of the place - you can always count on superb meals with outstanding service, at a reasonable price. I meet friends there regularly, and have never been disappointed in the least. It is a Dublin institution, and long may it retain that distinct honour.

The Lord Edward

bellamm
Kildare
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 6 January 2011)

Food was sublime! Went for the early bird menu as we liked everything on it so did not need to order from full menu. The food was absolutely gorgeous - cannot find fault. This restaurant was recommended to me by a colleague who knows every restaurant in Dublin and when I asked her to recommend a restaurant near Vicar Street, she asked if I liked seafood and if so, recommended the Lord Edward. I have to say that I wasn't expecting the food to be so perfect - cannot understand why it hasn't been recommended to me before now! I have to say that the atmosphere was slightly lacking; found the same when we went back there for a drink after our show - just something missing. But all in all, I will DEFINITELY be back!

The Lord Edward

Gills
Dublin
57 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 30th July 2010 (visited 19 May 2010)

It was a pity to see the two not so good reviews here for the Lord Edward although some points were true. It is an institution and would probably appeal more to the older generation in relation to style and service. My family (parents, sisters and myself ) and friends of my dad have mostly had the lunch menus at the Lord Edward but actually lunch can extend to early evening as there is never a rush to push you out...and of course you can always retire to the lounge downstairs and have a drink with the locals. The lunch menu is much better value than the a la carte dinner menu (I think there is an early bird as well). The seafood chowder or prawn cocktail are safe starters and quite nice. Mains offer several choices of fish and although it may not be served in a modern way...you are guaranteed fresh fish. All mains are served with an abundant amount of vegs, potatoes, chips, whatever you fancy. You wont leave hungry. Im not a dessert person but Ive been told their are very nice. The staff are extremely friendly (especially if you are friendly to them)...I know a couple of the guys have been there over 30 years and are very welcoming. As I said its not really for the young....but you could bring your folks or aul aunty and she'll love it! Be aware though, there are two short flights of stairs up to the restaurant.

The Lord Edward

helena1984
Cork
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th January 2010 (visited 18 January 2010)

Went there last night, wasnt my choice of a restaurant..It is slightly overpirced, food is okay and plenty of seafood to chose from. 10% charge is already included weather service was good or bad...Ours was all right I guess...Wouldnt go back there, purely for that reason and there high prices, but if somebody else is paying give this place a go as its kinda nice and quiet..and believe me you wont bump into anybody you know there! Perfect place for a blind date almost!

The Lord Edward

BigKahuna
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2009 (visited 16 October 2009)

Had heard a lot about the Lord Edward - more about it being an old-fashioned institution than anything about the food really- now I realise why - while it did have some charm the food was very poor overall. Extremely pricey too. staff were friendly- we were overcharged too but i'll give them the benefit of the doubt on that. overall-very disappointing and I won't be back.

The Lord Edward

fiona shannon
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2009 (visited 18 July 2009)

My husband and i were in dublin for a weekend and our friends told us to try the lord edward and may i say the food and atmosphere in their old restaurant was brilliant we started our meal with onion soup which was beautiful then i had grilled turbot and veg and saute potatoes the turbot melted in my mouth and the flavour was out of this world my husband had fried plaice and french fries and was smiling all the way through eating it we had no room for sweets but their house wine was lovely and the waiters really look after you and make you special i,ll be back anytime we are in dublin and i,ll be telling people in galway thanks lord edward

The Lord Edward

Sophisticated
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2009 (visited 25 June 2009)

As a regular visitor to the Lord Edward it was a natural choce to go there for a celebration meal. from the moment we were greeted by the friendly & debonair waiter I knew I had made the right choice. He ensured we were comfortable and left us to peruse the menu. On his recommendation we chose smoked salmon pate & prawn cocktail for starters with grilled sole & poached turbot as main accompanied by a bottle and half of fruity zesty chablis. Both meals had a balance of flavour & texture. We were made to feel special throughout the meal & the waiters light banter & attention added to our celebration. We indulged in the famous creme brulee and stilton & port to finish - Aah truely a memorable night. Thank you Lord Edward and staff!!

The Lord Edward

fragilerock
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2009 (visited 11 July 2009)

I LOVE this restaurant! I have gone numerous times and it never fails to impress. When you walk into the restaurant it’s got a real wow factor - it feels like stepping back in time to a by-gone era – almost like walking into your Granny’s ‘good’ dining room with a spectacular view of Christchurch Cathedral as the backdrop. My husband took me for my birthday treat last Saturday, I ordered the avocado pear with crab and prawns for starters and my husband had the seafood chowder. Both left us licking our lips for more. I had the Scallops and Prawn Newberg which I’ve had before and couldn’t wait to try again and it is consistently great – my mouth just waters thinking of it! My husband had the Lord Edward Fish Pie and he loved it. We couldn’t fit in dessert so had an Irish coffee each to top off a lovely romantic meal. It has to be said also, that the waiters really add to the sense of timelessness of this restaurant – they are dressed in smart white shirts and bowties with crisp white aprons and their charm and attentiveness makes the whole experience of visiting this restaurant really enjoyable. Only drawback is its a tad pricey but worth it for a treat and they do a early bird menu now so will definitely make the most of that..this restaurant is a hidden gem.

The Lord Edward

Elgluton
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th July 2009 (visited 9 July 2009)

Avoid this "restaurant"! How on earth do the have the guts to call this a restaurant. We visited this establishment last Thursday evening, we will never go back again everything was wrong: my fish was drenched in a white tasteless sauce, my wife ordered turbot but was served ray wings, their wine is for sale in the supermarket for 10 euros: in Lord Edwards it is for sale at a whopping 44 euros. We have eaten in good fish restaurants in France, Portugal, Spain so we know what fish should taste like. I advise people to avoid the Lord Edwards.They do serve bad food, very overpriced. They ruined my night.

The Lord Edward

hotfoodie
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2009 (visited 13 June 2009)

I went here to try the Lobster and found it to be quite nice. The only problem was the inadequate size and exhorbitant cost. At 50 euro you would expect to get a lobster that would fill you up and leave little room for dessert. I will return but not for the lobster.

The Lord Edward

paddy oneil
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2009 (visited 22 May 2009)

my wife and i went to the lord edward cos it was recommended to us for there fresh fish on friday we went in to a busy restaurant it was amazing the waiters would do anything for u my wife had melon , i had smoked salmon pate it was lovely for the main course we had scallops and prawns newburg rice , veg and potatoes lovely and the sweet was amazing the bread and butter pudding that will bring me back the waiters are magic 100% thanks

The Lord Edward

Eagerdiner

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2009 (visited 5 February 2009)

I found the waiters in this restaurant very helpful. The fish portions were generous, however I would expect that for the prices charged. Had the Salmon Pate to start, this was garnished with a small side salad, which was on its last legs to be honest. If I had salad at home in that condition I wouldnt dream of serving it up on a plate, it would go straight in the bin. Its disappointing to pay 10 euro for a starter that is served in such a condition. Even the lemon on the plate looked dry and unappealing. Overall, its too pricey, there are many good meal deals available in places that serve food as good if not better. This place needs to look at its price list or it will lose out. Dont think Id go back.

The Lord Edward

SkaZZaTo
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th February 2009 (visited 5 February 2009)

I've been there on a Thursday night with some colleagues and we were the only customers. The place is really old-fashion with a beautiful fireplace. We were a bit disappointed with the food, you can definitely find better seafood in Dublin. Portions were way too small especially compared with the prices. Wine list was terrible. Looks like they took all the cheapest bottles they could find at Tesco.

The Lord Edward

khushi01
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th December 2008 (visited 24 November 2008)

very tasty food.

The Lord Edward

Grebe
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th December 2008 (visited 23 December 2008)

I was at the Lord Edward again last night (have been going since the early 1980s). The service was as attentive as ever, the fish was delicious and there were a couple of nice touches added. There aren't many places like this left in Dublin.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4825 ]